Main Street Arkansas to Hold Application Workshop

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, September 26, 2017

Main Street Arkansas will hold an application workshop for cities interested in joining the Arkansas Downtown Network program from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Thursday, October 26, at the Department of Arkansas Heritage Building at 1100 North Street in Little Rock. Main Street Arkansas is a program area of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program.

The workshop will be led by Main Street Arkansas Director Greg Phillips and Kathy LaPlante, senior program officer and director of coordinating program services for the National Main Street Center. Attendance at the workshop is required for any communities interested in submitting an application to join the Arkansas Downtown Network in 2018. Lunch will be provided, and interested parties can register at The deadline to register is Friday, October 20.

Main Street Arkansas provides technical assistance and design services to help create economic development in the state’s downtown areas. The Main Street approach to downtown revitalization focuses on four areas: design, economic restructuring, organization and promotion.

Among the services and benefits ADN cities receive are access to Main Street Arkansas’s quarterly trainings, organizational assistance, limited technical assistance from Main Street staff members, and access to the Main Street resource center.

Cities currently involved in Main Street Arkansas are Batesville, Blytheville, Conway, Dumas, El Dorado, Eureka Springs, Helena, Jonesboro, Little Rock’s South Main Street (SoMa), Downtown Little Rock Partnership, Osceola, Ozark, Paragould, Rogers, Russellville, Searcy, Siloam Springs, Texarkana and West Memphis. Members of Main Street’s Arkansas Downtown Network are Pine Bluff, Heber Springs, Fort Smith, Morrilton, Rector, Monticello, Arkadelphia, Clarksville, Warren, Wynne, Forrest City, Malvern, Pocahontas, Paris, Newport and Hardy. Other sponsors of the Main Street Arkansas program are Preserve Arkansas and the Arkansas Economic Development Commission. To learn more about Main Street Arkansas, visit

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage responsible for the identification, evaluation, registration and preservation of the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies in the department are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Huntsville Commercial Historic District Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Mississippi Main Street Association Main Street Ozark free teacher resources White County Courthouse Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas History Lesson Plans Arkansas Design Network Art Deco Architecture Main Street Dumas slipcover removal grants Edgar Monsanto Queeny Doddridge Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Monroe County Courthouse Free Courthouse Poster Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Conway County Library Rosston Arkansas Arkansas religious history U.S. Forest Service Destination Downtown Conference Arkansas Preservation Awards Poinsett County Arkansas News Release Arkansas Register of Historic Places Downtown Revitalization Grants Wingmead Forrest City Cemetery Camden Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut St. Francis County Historical Society Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Dionicio Rodriguez Three States Lumber Company Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Dr. Ruth Hawkins "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Bogg Springs Arkansas historic resort communities steel window restoration workshop downtown revitalization free historic preservation workshop Trail of Tears in Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Turner Restoration International-Style Architecture Main Street Arkansas Flood Control Kiblah School Arkansas Historic Preservation Program 19th Century Road Construction Buffalo National River Pope County Arkansas Burdette Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Mississippi County Arkansas Paris Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Roe Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Henry Koen Office Building Booneville Historical Preservation Society Civilian Conservation Corps Ouachita County Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture historic Arkansas properties Arkansas Humanities Council Camden Public Library Arkansas Historic Preservation National Register of Historic Places Benton Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Duck Hunting Freedom Park Leake-Ingham Building Booneville Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Rustic Architecture cemetery preservsation Civil Works Administration Arkansas Railroad History Free Lesson Plan Pike County Courthouse Louisiana Main Street program Marked Tree Lock and Siphons National Historic Landmark Russellville Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Main Street Searcy Polk County Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse African American education Delta Cultural Center Tudor Revival Architecture Tolbert Gill Erbie Arkansas Miller County Monsanto Chemical Corporation Perry County Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Houston Arkansas Burdette Plantation National Register of Historic Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Skillern House 13th Amendment Centennial Baptist Church Saline County Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Newton County Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Let Freedom Ring Evelyn Gill Walker House Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Ozark Farming Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Main Street Texarkana Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Mid-Century Modern Architecture Morrilton Arkansas Sunken Lands Phillips County Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Prairie County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road most endangered historic places Helena Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas cemetery preservation American Legion Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Arkansas History free history tours Madison County Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House downtown economic development Montgomery County Arkansas historic architecture historic telephone booth Monroe County Arkansas Main Street Batesville Rosenwald Schools Cemetery Preservation Library County courthouse Restoration Grants Montgomery County Courthouse Walks Through History Barney Elias House North Little Rock Arkansas Sandwiching in History Arkansas Business History Historic Preservation Alliance Bogg Springs Hotel Naturalistic Architecture Abolition of Slavery Main Street Siloam Springs Little Rock Central High School Pope County Courthouse Clarendon Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Forrest City Arkansas