Main Street Arkansas to Hold El Dorado Retail Workshop

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, August 04, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—Mark Miller, Main Street Arkansas small business consultant, will present “Be a Top Dog!: Take Your Fair Share from the ‘Big Box’ Pack” beginning at 6:15 p.m. on Thursday, August 24, at the El Dorado Chamber of Commerce at 111 West Main Street. Main Street Arkansas is a program area of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program.

Miller’s presentation will include information on what attracts people to shop downtown instead of at “big box” retailers, factors that help small stores survive, and thinking outside of the traditional retail “box.” His presentation will be preceded by a “Mingle and Snack” from 5:45 to 6:15 p.m. For additional information about the free workshop, contact Beth Brumley at (870) 862-4747.

Main Street Arkansas provides technical assistance and design services to help create economic development in the state’s downtown areas. The Main Street approach to downtown revitalization focuses on four areas: design, economic restructuring, organization and promotion.

Cities currently involved in Main Street Arkansas are Batesville, Blytheville, Conway, Dumas, El Dorado, Eureka Springs, Helena, Jonesboro, Little Rock’s South Main Street (SoMa), Downtown Little Rock Partnership, Osceola, Ozark, Paragould, Rogers, Russellville, Searcy, Siloam Springs, Texarkana and West Memphis. Members of Main Street’s Arkansas Downtown Network are Pine Bluff, Heber Springs, Fort Smith, Morrilton, Rector, Monticello, Arkadelphia, Clarksville, Warren, Wynne, Forrest City, Malvern, Pocahontas, Paris, Newport and Hardy. Other sponsors of the Main Street Arkansas program are the Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas and the Arkansas Economic Development Commission. To learn more about Main Street Arkansas, visit

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage responsible for the identification, evaluation, registration and preservation of the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies in the department are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Cemetery Preservation Library Mississippi County Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Monsanto Chemical Corporation Marked Tree Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Dr. Ruth Hawkins Pope County Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Turner Restoration Prairie County Arkansas News Release Doddridge Arkansas Pike County Courthouse historic resort communities Real Estate Transfer Tax Perry County Arkansas Barney Elias House historic architecture Benton Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Sunken Lands Arkansas Register of Historic Places Mid-Century Modern Architecture International-Style Architecture U.S. Army Corps of Engineers White County Courthouse Historic Preservation Alliance Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Russellville Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Huntsville Commercial Historic District Erbie Arkansas Main Street Ozark Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House American Legion Main Street Searcy Roe Arkansas Wingmead Clarendon Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Bogg Springs Hotel Phillips County Arkansas Art Deco Architecture downtown revitalization Naturalistic Architecture Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Main Street Texarkana Civilian Conservation Corps St. Francis County Historical Society Skillern House Flood Control Arkansas Design Network Gothic Revival architecture Arkansas History Lesson Plans Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Tolbert Gill Little Rock Central High School Rustic Architecture "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Arkansas State University Heritage Sites National Historic Landmark Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Montgomery County Courthouse Main Street Siloam Springs Free Lesson Plan Main Street Dumas Downtown Revitalization Grants slipcover removal grants Paris Arkansas Main Street Batesville historic telephone booth Nevada County Arkansas Houston Arkansas Miller County Duck Hunting Craftsman style architecture Booneville Historical Preservation Society Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Forrest City Arkansas Camden Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Conway County Library Freedmen's Bureau Main Street Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Sandwiching in History Mississippi Main Street Association Dionicio Rodriguez Destination Downtown Conference Civil Works Administration Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Centennial Baptist Church Arkansas African American Civil War History National Register of Historic Poinsett County Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Tudor Revival Architecture Cumberland Presbyterian Church 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Folk Victorian Architecture cemetery preservation New Century Club of Camden free teacher resources Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 cemetery preservsation Walks Through History Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Arkansas religious history Arkansas Humanities Council Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Delta Cultural Center Louisiana Main Street program Burdette Plantation Freedom Park Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery North Little Rock Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District U.S. Forest Service Arkansas Business History Ouachita County Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Monroe County Courthouse Arkansas Railroad History Saline County Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Kiblah School Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Abolition of Slavery Monroe County Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Ozark Farming Fayetteville Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Camden Public Library Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Forrest City Cemetery Booneville Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster African American education Three States Lumber Company Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Arkansas History Buffalo National River 13th Amendment most endangered historic places 19th Century Road Construction Helena Arkansas Elias Camp Morris free history tours Leake-Ingham Building Historic County Courthouses County courthouse Restoration Grants Arkansas Historic Preservation downtown economic development Edgar Monsanto Queeny National Register of Historic Places Evelyn Gill Walker House