Main Street Design Program Set for Paris

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, June 11, 2018

Susan Shaddox, interior design consultant, will make a presentation on design in downtown areas beginning at 8:30 a.m. on Thursday, June 28, in the Grapevine Restaurant at 105 East Walnut Street in Paris. Main Street Arkansas is a program area of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program.

Shaddox will present “#24/7DowntownDesign” in which she will discuss how downtown business and property owners can implement good design principals that will stimulate retail sales. Shaddox will show examples of eye-catching window displays and give instructions on implementing creative design principles in merchants’ storefront windows. She will also instruct retailers on improving product placement and developing business brand identity/positive image for their business.

For more information, contact Tonya Baumgartner at (479) 963-224 or Shaddox at [email protected] or (501) 324-9880.

Main Street Arkansas provides technical assistance and design services to help create economic development in the state’s downtown areas. The Main Street approach to downtown revitalization focuses on four areas: design, economic vitality, organization and promotion.

Cities currently involved in Main Street Arkansas are the Argenta Downtown Council, Batesville, Blytheville, Conway, the Downtown Little Rock Partnership, Dumas, El Dorado, Eureka Springs, Helena-West Helena, Jonesboro, Little Rock’s South Main Street (SoMa), Osceola, Ozark, Paragould, Pine Bluff, Rogers, Russellville, Searcy, Siloam Springs, Texarkana and West Memphis. Members of Main Street’s Arkansas Downtown Network are Heber Springs, Fort Smith, Hardy, Morrilton, Rector, Monticello, Arkadelphia, Clarksville, Warren, Wynne, Newport, Paris, Forrest City, Malvern, Pocahontas, Hope, Mena and Prairie Grove. Other sponsors of the Main Street Arkansas program are Preserve Arkansas and the Arkansas Economic Development Commission. To learn more about Main Street Arkansas, visit

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the division of the Department of Arkansas Heritage responsible for the identification, evaluation, registration and preservation of the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Polk County Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Cemetery Preservation Library Historic Preservation Alliance Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Sunken Lands Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot downtown revitalization Helena Arkansas slipcover removal grants Walks Through History Ozark Farming Miller County Marked Tree Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Clarendon Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Edgar Monsanto Queeny Wingmead Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Main Street Searcy Barney Elias House Dionicio Rodriguez Madison County Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building St. Francis County Historical Society Cumberland Presbyterian Church historic telephone booth Monsanto Chemical Corporation Benton Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Pulaski County Courthouse Skillern House Monroe County Arkansas Rustic Architecture Turner Restoration Ouachita County Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery North Little Rock Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas Register of Historic Places downtown economic development historic resort communities Morrilton Arkansas free history tours Gothic Revival architecture Bogg Springs Arkansas Three States Lumber Company National Historic Landmark Destination Downtown Conference Freedom Park Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Arkansas Preservation Awards Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Montgomery County Courthouse Renaissance Revival Architecture cemetery preservation Evelyn Gill Walker House Pike County Courthouse Perry County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Trail of Tears in Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Tolbert Gill most endangered historic places historic architecture National Register of Historic Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Conway County Library Roe Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Newton County Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Civilian Conservation Corps Craftsman style architecture Rosenwald Schools Arkansas Humanities Council Camden to Washington Road Dr. Ruth Hawkins Little Rock Central High School Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola free teacher resources Centennial Baptist Church Arkansas History Huntsville Commercial Historic District Delta Cultural Center 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Kiblah School Pike County Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Arkansas Design Network International-Style Architecture American Legion Phillips County Arkansas Camden Public Library Mississippi County Arkansas Camden Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Arkansas religious history Rosston Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Poinsett County Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Main Street Texarkana Bogg Springs Hotel Montgomery County Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Historic County Courthouses Naturalistic Architecture County courthouse Restoration Grants Mississippi Main Street Association Arkansas African American Civil War History Free Courthouse Poster Abolition of Slavery Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Main Street Batesville Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Arkansas Business History Buffalo National River Forrest City Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Main Street Ozark Booneville Historical Preservation Society Louisiana Main Street program Paris Arkansas Main Street Dumas Art Deco Architecture Duck Hunting Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Mid-Century Modern Architecture Erbie Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Saline County Arkansas Burdette Plantation Arkansas Railroad History Elias Camp Morris Booneville Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Houston Arkansas News Release Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Arkansas Historic Preservation Pope County Arkansas 13th Amendment African American education U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Main Street Siloam Springs Sandwiching in History National Register of Historic Places cemetery preservsation New Century Club of Camden Flood Control Huntsville Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax steel window restoration workshop Main Street Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery White County Courthouse Civil Works Administration Fayetteville Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Burdette Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants