Mid-Century Modern Architecture Lecture Set for UA Monticello

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, August 18, 2017

Mason Toms, exterior design consultant and architectural historian for Main Street Arkansas, will present “Mid-Century Modern and Why it Matters” at 6:30 p.m. on Tuesday, September 5, at the School of Forestry and Natural Resources Conference Room at the University of Arkansas at Monticello.

The program will discuss the ways that the social and technological changes of the 1950s and 1960s affected American architecture and are now reflected in Arkansas’s built environment. It is part of the Tunican Chapter of the Arkansas Archeological Society and Drew County Historical Society Fall Speaker Series and is free and open to the public. It is sponsored by the UAM School of Social and Behavioral Sciences and the Arkansas Archeological Survey’s UAM Research Station.

For more information, contact [email protected] or [email protected].

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Arkansas religious history Ozark Farming cemetery preservsation Rosston Arkansas Kiblah School Arkansas Railroad History Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Forrest City Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Saline County Arkansas Burdette Plantation Tudor Revival Architecture News Release Wingmead Flood Control Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Free Courthouse Poster Newton County Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Arkansas Business History free history tours Nevada County Arkansas Art Deco Architecture historic resort communities Free Lesson Plan Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Barney Elias House Civilian Conservation Corps Downtown Revitalization Grants Main Street Ozark Marked Tree Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Roe Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Fayetteville Arkansas Conway County Library free teacher resources free historic preservation workshop Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Booneville Historical Preservation Society African American education Arkansas History Lesson Plans Camden Public Library Main Street Searcy Elias Camp Morris Main Street Dumas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South National Register of Historic Places Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Skillern House Montgomery County Courthouse Monroe County Courthouse Real Estate Transfer Tax Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Dr. Ruth Hawkins Main Street Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Perry County Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Freedmen's Bureau Cemetery Preservation Library downtown revitalization Rustic Architecture New Century Club of Camden Historic Preservation Alliance North Little Rock Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Civil Works Administration downtown economic development Forrest City Cemetery Arkansas African American Civil War History Cumberland Presbyterian Church Pope County Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Mississippi County Arkansas most endangered historic places Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Monsanto Chemical Corporation Main Street Siloam Springs Morrilton Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Buffalo National River Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Arkansas History International-Style Architecture Let Freedom Ring Arkansas Design Network Abolition of Slavery Montgomery County Arkansas historic architecture Monroe County Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Poinsett County Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture National Historic Landmark Dionicio Rodriguez Three States Lumber Company Arkansas Humanities Council County courthouse Restoration Grants Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Leake-Ingham Building Bogg Springs Hotel Henry Koen Office Building Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Mid-Century Modern Architecture Delta Cultural Center Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Turner Restoration Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Clarendon Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Huntsville Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Polk County Arkansas slipcover removal grants Louisiana Main Street program Walks Through History Camden Arkansas Main Street Batesville Doddridge Arkansas Russellville Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Helena Arkansas National Register of Historic Folk Victorian Architecture steel window restoration workshop Craftsman style architecture Huntsville Commercial Historic District Houston Arkansas Benton Arkansas Freedom Park Rosenwald Schools Burdette Arkansas Paris Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Edgar Monsanto Queeny Mississippi Main Street Association Arkansas Preservation Awards Duck Hunting Main Street Texarkana Naturalistic Architecture cemetery preservation Arkansas Register of Historic Places Little Rock Central High School Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Trail of Tears in Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers St. Francis County Historical Society Booneville Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Tolbert Gill American Legion Madison County Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Sunken Lands White County Courthouse Centennial Baptist Church Pope County Courthouse Historic County Courthouses Sandwiching in History historic Arkansas properties 13th Amendment Miller County Camden to Washington Road Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas historic telephone booth Ouachita County Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas