Mills Hired for Section 106 Program

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, March 04, 2019


Mills Hired for Section 106 Program

Wants to make program more efficient and effective.


LITTLE ROCK— The Department of Arkansas Heritage Historic Preservation Program is pleased to announce the hiring of Eric R. Mills as Section 106 Program Manager. Mills will oversee the implementation of Section 106 reviews for the Arkansas SHPO Office. These reviews are a key component of the National Historic Preservation Act.


“In my new role here at the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, I want to maintain an efficient and effective program to assist federal agencies,” explains Mills. “And act on behalf of the people of Arkansas in considering effects to our valuable historical resources.”


Mills, a native Arkansan, was most recently with Flat Earth Archeology LLC, of Cabot, where he served as Vice President of Operations. Prior to that he was the Statewide Cultural Resources Manager and Archeologist for the Arkansas Military Department, overseeing many aspects of the National Guard’s interactions with historical sites.


“We are delighted to have Eric join us,” said Scott Kaufman, Division Director of AHPP. “He brings with him renewed energy to move the Section 106 program forward and the skills to work with both private and government agencies.”


Recent Posts


Ouachita County Arkansas Main Street Searcy Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Arkansas religious history Main Street Arkansas Roe Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Mississippi Main Street Association Phillips County Arkansas historic telephone booth Historic Preservation Alliance Walks Through History Henry Koen Office Building Miller County Edgar Monsanto Queeny Fayetteville Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax most endangered historic places Main Street Dumas Poinsett County Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Centennial Baptist Church Downtown Revitalization Grants Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Arkansas Design Network Monroe County Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Arkansas Register of Historic Places Flood Control Pope County Arkansas Arkansas History 19th Century Road Construction Marked Tree Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Conway County Library Benton Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Newton County Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Pope County Courthouse Paris Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Forrest City Cemetery Arkansas History Lesson Plans Mid-Century Modern Architecture Ozark Farming cemetery preservsation County courthouse Restoration Grants Gothic Revival architecture free teacher resources African American education 13th Amendment Tolbert Gill Freedom Park U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Nevada County Arkansas Helena Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Bogg Springs Hotel St. Francis County Historical Society Doddridge Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Freedmen's Bureau Free Lesson Plan Let Freedom Ring National Historic Landmark Burdette Plantation National Register of Historic Main Street Ozark American Legion Duck Hunting Huntsville Arkansas Arkansas Business History Art Deco Architecture Elias Camp Morris historic resort communities Civilian Conservation Corps Civil Works Administration Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Main Street Siloam Springs Free Courthouse Poster downtown revitalization historic Arkansas properties Houston Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Saline County Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library U.S. Forest Service Wingmead Arkansas Historic Preservation Monroe County Courthouse Bogg Springs Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Polk County Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Skillern House Madison County Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Barney Elias House Craftsman style architecture Evelyn Gill Walker House Folk Victorian Architecture Rustic Architecture Abolition of Slavery Burdette Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture downtown economic development Historic County Courthouses Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot steel window restoration workshop Sandwiching in History Sunken Lands Main Street Texarkana Leake-Ingham Building free historic preservation workshop Rosenwald Schools slipcover removal grants Booneville Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Tudor Revival Architecture historic architecture Renaissance Revival Architecture Morrilton Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Pulaski County Courthouse Camden to Washington Road free history tours Erbie Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Camden Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Main Street Batesville Cumberland Presbyterian Church Dionicio Rodriguez Arkansas African American Civil War History Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Turner Restoration Buffalo National River Trail of Tears in Arkansas International-Style Architecture Three States Lumber Company Montgomery County Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Arkansas Preservation Awards National Register of Historic Places Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Mississippi County Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 White County Courthouse Camden Public Library Real Estate Transfer Tax cemetery preservation 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Kiblah School North Little Rock Arkansas News Release Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South