Most-Endangered List Announcement Set for May 4

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, April 23, 2018

Preserve Arkansas will hold a press conference to announce its 2018 list of Arkansas’s Most Endangered Historic Places at 10 a.m. on Friday, May 4, at Curran Hall at 615 East Capitol Avenue in Little Rock.

Each May during Arkansas Heritage Month and National Preservation Month, Preserve Arkansas announces a list of historic properties threatened by deterioration, neglect, insufficient resources, insensitive public policy, or inappropriate development. The Most Endangered Places list includes properties from all over Arkansas and helps to raise awareness of their significance and the need for preservation. The goal of the list is that inclusion will generate interest, discussions, and proposals on how to save these important resources.

The announcement of this year's list will take place at Curran Hall at 615 East Capitol Avenue in Little Rock. Curran Hall was rescued from demolition in 1996 and rehabilitated to become the Little Rock Visitor Information Center, managed by the Quapaw Quarter Association.

Recent Posts


Destination Downtown Conference Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Doddridge Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Burdette Arkansas Abolition of Slavery News Release Roe Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Arkansas Business History 19th Century Road Construction Free Lesson Plan Nevada County Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Newton County Arkansas African American education Huntsville Arkansas Sunken Lands Pike County Courthouse Marked Tree Arkansas Main Street Batesville Rosenwald Schools Booneville Arkansas Craftsman style architecture International-Style Architecture Pulaski County Courthouse Camden to Washington Road Flood Control downtown economic development free teacher resources Freedmen's Bureau 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Ouachita County Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Main Street Siloam Springs Perry County Arkansas White County Courthouse Naturalistic Architecture Erbie Arkansas historic telephone booth Walks Through History cemetery preservation St. Francis County Historical Society Sandwiching in History Civil Works Administration Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Conway County Library Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Monroe County Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops free historic preservation workshop Folk Victorian Architecture Tudor Revival Architecture Mississippi Main Street Association Saline County Arkansas Burdette Plantation Phillips County Arkansas Camden Public Library Huntsville Commercial Historic District historic architecture Camden Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Elias Camp Morris Prairie County Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Main Street Texarkana Skillern House National Register of Historic Three States Lumber Company Main Street Ozark historic resort communities Buffalo National River Mid-Century Modern Architecture Main Street Searcy Rosston Arkansas Duck Hunting Kiblah School Pope County Courthouse Arkansas Register of Historic Places Cumberland Presbyterian Church Louisiana Main Street program U.S. Forest Service Arkansas Railroad History Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola cemetery preservsation Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Pike County Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Rustic Architecture Wingmead U.S. Army Corps of Engineers American Legion Pope County Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Main Street Dumas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Leake-Ingham Building Barney Elias House steel window restoration workshop Arkansas History Lesson Plans slipcover removal grants Arkansas religious history Montgomery County Arkansas Let Freedom Ring National Historic Landmark Madison County Arkansas Tolbert Gill Montgomery County Courthouse Arkansas Design Network Russellville Arkansas Houston Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Civilian Conservation Corps Downtown Revitalization Grants Forrest City Cemetery Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Helena Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Arkansas Humanities Council Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Arkansas History Main Street Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Evelyn Gill Walker House Renaissance Revival Architecture Benton Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District most endangered historic places Arkansas African American Civil War History Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Monroe County Courthouse New Century Club of Camden Miller County Fayetteville Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Marked Tree Lock and Siphons 13th Amendment Mississippi County Arkansas Paris Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Ozark Farming Freedom Park Gothic Revival architecture Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Clarendon Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez County courthouse Restoration Grants Little Rock Central High School Centennial Baptist Church Henry Koen Office Building Arkansas Historic Preservation Historic Preservation Alliance North Little Rock Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Forrest City Arkansas downtown revitalization Cemetery Preservation Library Arkansas Preservation Awards National Register of Historic Places Monsanto Chemical Corporation free history tours Dr. Ruth Hawkins Turner Restoration