Nine Arkansas Properties to be Considered for National Register

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, July 19, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—The State Review Board of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will consider nine Arkansas properties in six counties for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places when it meets at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, August 2, at the Department of Arkansas Heritage Building at 1100 North Street in Little Rock.

Properties to be considered for National Register nomination are:

* Darragh Building and Governor’s Mansion Historic District Boundary Expansion at Little Rock, Dr. Charles H. Kennedy House in North Little Rock and West-Blazer House near Jacksonville in Pulaski County

* Scull Historic District at Conway in Faulkner County

* Jewell Bain House #4 at Pine Bluff in Jefferson County

* Arkansas Research Test Station near Caddo Gap in Montgomery County

* Johnson-Portis House at West Memphis in Crittenden County

* Pernot House at Van Buren in Crawford County

The board will also consider the Bush House at Hot Springs in Garland County, Linwood Cemetery at Paragould in Greene County, and the YWCA Building, Memorial Stadium and American Legion Building-TAC House at El Dorado in Union County for listing on the Arkansas Register of Historic Places. The Arkansas Register recognizes historically significant properties that do not meet National Register requirements.

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1100 North St., Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880, send e-mail to [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency that identifies, evaluates, registers and preserves the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Delta Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Freedmen's Bureau Free Lesson Plan Main Street Texarkana Camden Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Erbie Arkansas 13th Amendment Saline County Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Fayetteville Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Historic Preservation Alliance Polk County Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Dr. Ruth Hawkins Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops historic resort communities Abolition of Slavery Skillern House Bogg Springs Hotel Sandwiching in History News Release White County Courthouse National Register of Historic U.S. Army Corps of Engineers historic architecture Three States Lumber Company Pike County Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House 19th Century Road Construction Ozark Farming Marked Tree Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Louisiana Main Street program Civilian Conservation Corps National Historic Landmark Arkansas Register of Historic Places Camden Public Library Sunken Lands Cumberland Presbyterian Church Arkansas Design Network Duck Hunting Benton Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Rosston Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District steel window restoration workshop Nevada County Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Doddridge Arkansas Walks Through History Main Street Searcy Roe Arkansas Arkansas Business History Main Street Dumas Historic County Courthouses 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Flood Control Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Arkansas History Lesson Plans Edgar Monsanto Queeny downtown economic development National Register of Historic Places Dionicio Rodriguez Henry Koen Office Building historic Arkansas properties Gothic Revival architecture Pike County Courthouse Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Booneville Arkansas Buffalo National River Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Montgomery County Courthouse Poinsett County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture American Legion Perry County Arkansas most endangered historic places Forrest City Cemetery Burdette Plantation Craftsman style architecture Bogg Springs Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Main Street Siloam Springs Turner Restoration Helena Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History downtown revitalization Forrest City Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference cemetery preservation Arkansas African American Civil War History Mississippi Main Street Association Art Deco Architecture Trail of Tears in Arkansas Wingmead Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Tolbert Gill Evelyn Gill Walker House Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Elias Camp Morris Kiblah School Civil Works Administration Prairie County Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Arkansas History Cemetery Preservation Library Booneville Historical Preservation Society slipcover removal grants Arkansas Preservation Awards Rustic Architecture free historic preservation workshop "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Conway County Library Freedom Park Free Courthouse Poster Pope County Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Miller County Pulaski County Courthouse Renaissance Revival Architecture Centennial Baptist Church Paris Arkansas historic telephone booth Main Street Batesville Main Street Ozark Morrilton Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Madison County Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Huntsville Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas free teacher resources Pope County Courthouse Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Arkansas Humanities Council Barney Elias House African American education Mid-Century Modern Architecture Monsanto Chemical Corporation Main Street Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Naturalistic Architecture Tudor Revival Architecture Rosenwald Schools Montgomery County Arkansas Delta Cultural Center New Century Club of Camden Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Arkansas Historic Preservation U.S. Forest Service Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Let Freedom Ring Arkansas religious history International-Style Architecture Burdette Arkansas cemetery preservsation St. Francis County Historical Society free history tours Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Houston Arkansas