North Mock Street District Listed on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, June 27, 2018

The North Mock Street Historic District at Prairie Grove in Washington County has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant properties.

The North Mock Street Historic District features a pair of turn-of-the-century commercial buildings.

“The earliest commercial building within the district was constructed in 1903,” according to the National Register nomination. “It is assumed that local builders constructed these early twentieth-century buildings with regionally quarried stone and manufactured brick. Only one reference to the Terpening Brick and Drain Tile Factory was discovered during research and conversation with residents. Local vernacular interpretations of the Twentieth Century Standard Commercial style were incorporated in the construction of Prairie Grove’s commercial blocks. Most distinguishable are the Mesker Brothers Company pressed-metal building facades on both buildings.”

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880, send e-mail to [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Forrest City Cemetery National Historic Landmark Ozark Farming Arkansas religious history Arkansas Design Network Polk County Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Bogg Springs Hotel Marked Tree Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Cumberland Presbyterian Church free teacher resources "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Camden to Washington Road St. Francis County Historical Society Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Louisiana Main Street program Morrilton Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Pike County Courthouse Clarendon Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council National Register of Historic Erbie Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture News Release Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops downtown economic development Booneville Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Forrest City Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Tolbert Gill National Register of Historic Places Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Historic Preservation Alliance Rosenwald Schools Duck Hunting Naturalistic Architecture Flood Control Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut most endangered historic places Prairie County Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Arkansas History Lesson Plans Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Mid-Century Modern Architecture cemetery preservsation Booneville Historical Preservation Society Huntsville Arkansas Houston Arkansas Sandwiching in History Montgomery County Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Fayetteville Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Walks Through History Arkansas State University Heritage Sites North Little Rock Arkansas International-Style Architecture Main Street Searcy Arkansas Railroad History Elias Camp Morris Free Lesson Plan Delta Cultural Center Camden Public Library Camden Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Abolition of Slavery Montgomery County Courthouse Arkansas African American Civil War History historic architecture Three States Lumber Company Burdette Arkansas African American education Free Courthouse Poster Barney Elias House slipcover removal grants White County Courthouse Main Street Siloam Springs Gothic Revival architecture Civil Works Administration Arkansas Register of Historic Places cemetery preservation steel window restoration workshop Roe Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas Preservation Awards Evelyn Gill Walker House Phillips County Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Huntsville Commercial Historic District Doddridge Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Arkansas History Main Street Ozark Paris Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Monsanto Chemical Corporation Helena Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Pike County Arkansas Skillern House Dionicio Rodriguez downtown revitalization Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Downtown Revitalization Grants historic Arkansas properties Freedmen's Bureau Real Estate Transfer Tax Leake-Ingham Building Monroe County Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Dr. Ruth Hawkins Poinsett County Arkansas Kiblah School Renaissance Revival Architecture Arkansas Humanities Council Marked Tree Lock and Siphons historic resort communities Burdette Plantation Rosston Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association New Century Club of Camden Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Benton Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Bogg Springs Arkansas Rustic Architecture Arkansas Business History Craftsman style architecture Main Street Arkansas American Legion Sunken Lands Monroe County Courthouse Freedom Park Henry Koen Office Building Ouachita County Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Nevada County Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Saline County Arkansas historic telephone booth free history tours Civilian Conservation Corps Main Street Dumas Destination Downtown Conference Art Deco Architecture Trail of Tears in Arkansas 13th Amendment Main Street Batesville Let Freedom Ring Miller County Conway County Library Newton County Arkansas Wingmead Centennial Baptist Church Main Street Texarkana Arkansas Historic Preservation Turner Restoration Mississippi County Arkansas Buffalo National River Tudor Revival Architecture