Pine Bluff Building Listed on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, November 28, 2017

The Dellmon and McGregor Hardware Building at 220 West Barraque in the Pine Bluff Commercial Historic District at Pine Bluff in Jefferson County has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant properties.

The Dellmon and McGregor Hardware Building was built in 1883 and updated around 1931.

“In the original nomination for the Pine Bluff Commercial Historic District, the Dellmon & McGregor Hardware Building at 220 West Barraque was inadvertently omitted from the property list, even though it is within the district’s boundary,” according to the National Register nomination. “The building was initially built in 1883 and then renovated c.1931 with modifications to the first floor of the building and the application of stucco to the second floor. Architecturally and historically, the Dellmon & McGregor Hardware Building reflects the district’s period of significance and those qualities that make the district significant.”

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


County courthouse Restoration Grants Leake-Ingham Building Sandwiching in History Three States Lumber Company Main Street Siloam Springs Freedmen's Bureau Bogg Springs Arkansas historic resort communities Mosaic Templars Cultural Center cemetery preservation Camden Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Elias Camp Morris free history tours Mississippi County Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Forrest City Cemetery Main Street Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Saline County Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Naturalistic Architecture Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District historic architecture Turner Restoration Evelyn Gill Walker House Arkansas Register of Historic Places Pope County Courthouse Wingmead Flood Control Downtown Revitalization Grants Abolition of Slavery Edgar Monsanto Queeny Camden Public Library Historic County Courthouses International-Style Architecture Craftsman style architecture free historic preservation workshop Montgomery County Courthouse News Release Camden to Washington Road Folk Victorian Architecture Pulaski County Courthouse Doddridge Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Arkansas Railroad History Roe Arkansas downtown revitalization Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Clarendon Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Walks Through History Booneville Historical Preservation Society American Legion Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Booneville Arkansas Arkansas Business History cemetery preservsation Cumberland Presbyterian Church Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Mid-Century Modern Architecture Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Cemetery Preservation Library historic telephone booth Arkansas religious history Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez most endangered historic places 13th Amendment U.S. Forest Service Arkansas History Lesson Plans Tolbert Gill Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Conway County Library Kiblah School Arkansas Design Network Mississippi Main Street Association Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Perry County Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Arkansas Historic Preservation Program 19th Century Road Construction Main Street Texarkana Rustic Architecture "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Polk County Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Free Lesson Plan African American education historic Arkansas properties Duck Hunting Pike County Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Benton Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Ouachita County Arkansas Arkansas History free teacher resources National Historic Landmark Barney Elias House Let Freedom Ring Rosenwald Schools Arkansas Preservation Awards Buffalo National River Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Historic Preservation Alliance National Register of Historic 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Morrilton Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Montgomery County Arkansas Main Street Searcy U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Arkansas Historic Preservation Art Deco Architecture Miller County steel window restoration workshop Destination Downtown Conference Paris Arkansas Main Street Batesville Pope County Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Freedom Park Helena Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Tudor Revival Architecture Main Street Dumas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Little Rock Central High School Russellville Arkansas Burdette Plantation Free Courthouse Poster Newton County Arkansas Ozark Farming Houston Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax White County Courthouse Main Street Ozark Bogg Springs Hotel Delta Cultural Center Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Sunken Lands Forrest City Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Erbie Arkansas Skillern House Civilian Conservation Corps Nevada County Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Civil Works Administration St. Francis County Historical Society slipcover removal grants downtown economic development Dr. Ruth Hawkins Fayetteville Arkansas