Prairie Grove Historic District Listed on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, July 02, 2018

The Prairie Grove Commercial Historic District at Prairie Grove in Washington County has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant properties.

The Prairie Grove Commercial Historic District, located between 107 and 305 East Buchanan and 123 South Neal Street, includes buildings dating to 1883.

“The development of this district reflects local and regional commercial development trends as reflected in the early period of Prairie Grove’s history during its heyday of canning factories, fruit orchards, poultry and livestock production, and lumber mills that has evolved to remain a vibrant commercial city offering opportunities to dine, bank, and participate in religious and civic activities, as well as offerings available in the local library and museum, multiple antique shops, a clothing store, art galleries, specialty stores, auto shops, drug stores, and a bakery,” according to the National Register nomination.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


19th Century Road Construction U.S. Forest Service Main Street Siloam Springs downtown revitalization slipcover removal grants Rustic Architecture historic Arkansas properties Wingmead historic telephone booth Freedom Park Duck Hunting cemetery preservsation Morrilton Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Pope County Courthouse 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Buffalo National River Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Perry County Arkansas most endangered historic places International-Style Architecture Camden Public Library Forrest City Cemetery Elias Camp Morris Edgar Monsanto Queeny Monsanto Chemical Corporation Benton Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Arkansas Railroad History Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Arkansas History Lesson Plans Turner Restoration steel window restoration workshop Forrest City Arkansas Houston Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Marked Tree Arkansas Main Street Batesville Civilian Conservation Corps Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas religious history Fayetteville Arkansas Main Street Dumas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House News Release Freedmen's Bureau Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Delta Cultural Center Naturalistic Architecture Main Street Ozark Pike County Courthouse Louisiana Main Street program 13th Amendment Ouachita County Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Abolition of Slavery Arkansas African American Civil War History Sunken Lands Booneville Historical Preservation Society Roe Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Barney Elias House Polk County Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants National Register of Historic Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Historic County Courthouses free history tours Arkansas Historic Preservation Arkansas Business History "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Prairie County Arkansas Skillern House Arkansas Preservation Awards Mississippi Main Street Association Montgomery County Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Paris Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Montgomery County Courthouse Cemetery Preservation Library New Century Club of Camden Sandwiching in History historic resort communities Civil Works Administration cemetery preservation Art Deco Architecture Rosenwald Schools Rosston Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Camden Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Poinsett County Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Main Street Texarkana African American education historic architecture Bogg Springs Hotel Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Henry Koen Office Building Phillips County Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Three States Lumber Company National Register of Historic Places Renaissance Revival Architecture Tolbert Gill Dionicio Rodriguez Pope County Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Nevada County Arkansas National Historic Landmark Centennial Baptist Church U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Arkansas Humanities Council Conway County Library Craftsman style architecture Arkansas State University Heritage Sites American Legion Huntsville Commercial Historic District Ozark Farming free historic preservation workshop Helena Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Arkansas History Kiblah School Miller County Pulaski County Courthouse Little Rock Central High School Main Street Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Monroe County Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture free teacher resources Arkansas Design Network Clarendon Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Booneville Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Historic Preservation Alliance St. Francis County Historical Society Walks Through History Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Mid-Century Modern Architecture Main Street Searcy Cumberland Presbyterian Church Trail of Tears in Arkansas downtown economic development Let Freedom Ring Pike County Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Flood Control Burdette Plantation Doddridge Arkansas White County Courthouse Monroe County Courthouse