Preserve Arkansas Award Winners Announced

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, October 27, 2017

Preserve Arkansas has announced the recipients of the 2017 Arkansas Preservation Awards. The Awards Banquet will take place on January 19, 2018, at the Albert Pike Memorial Temple at 712 Scott Street in Little Rock.

The following is a complete list of honorees:

Parker Westbrook Award for Lifetime Achievement

Tommy Jameson, AIA, Little Rock

Excellence in Heritage Preservation Award

Arkansas Archeological Survey for “Gathering, Gardening and Agriculture: Plant-based Foodways in the Southeastern United States” 5th-grade school curriculum

Excellence in Preservation through Rehabilitation Award

Infrastructure: Springfield Bridge Preservation Project, Conway

Residential: Arkansas Democrat Lofts, Little Rock

Excellence in Preservation through Rehabilitation Award

Commercial: Thompson Building/The Waters Hotel, Hot Springs

Honorable Mention : Lane Hotel/Haas Hall Academy, Rogers

Excellence in Preservation through Restoration Award

Infrastructure: War Eagle Bridge, Hindsville

Nonprofit: Cane Hill College, Canehill

Commercial: Isaac Homard House, Little Rock

Honorable Mention : Lockesburg High School Gymnasium, Lockesburg

Outstanding New Construction in a Historic Setting Award

Cameron Bluff Amphitheater, Mount Magazine State Park, Paris

Outstanding Achievement in Preservation Education Award

Arkansas Archeological Survey for the Bluff Shelters of the Arkansas Ozarks website

Honorable Mention: Department of Landscape Architecture

Fay Jones School of Architecture + Design, University of Arkansas, for “If Walls Could Talk: The Story of the Hicks Property”

Outstanding Achievement in Preservation Advocacy Award

Mosaic Templars Building Preservation Society

Outstanding Preservation Reporting in the Media Award

First United Methodist Church, Forrest City for the “A Moment in History” radio program

Ned Shank Award for Outstanding Preservation Publication Award

University of Arkansas Press for Shadow Patterns: Reflections on Fay Jones and His Architecture

Outstanding Service in Neighborhood Preservation Award

Park Avenue Community Association, Hot Springs for the Historic Park Avenue Walking Tour

Excellence in Personal Projects

Commercial: Zachary Smith and Cheryl Roorda, 236-238-240 Ouachita Avenue, Hot Springs

Residential : Chris H. Olsen, The Edgemont House (Justin Matthews, Jr., House), North Little Rock

Honorable Mention: Joe and Janelle Shell, Adam and Mandi Curtwright, Melba Theater, Batesville.

Tickets and sponsorship opportunities are available at For more information, please contact Preserve Arkansas at 501-372-4757 or [email protected].

Preserve Arkansas is the statewide nonprofit organization dedicated to building stronger communities by reconnecting Arkansans to our heritage and empowering people to save and rehabilitate historic places. By presenting educational programs, advocating for preservation at

the federal, state, and local levels, and assisting historic property owners with the means and expertise to preserve and restore their structures, Preserve Arkansas has been a statewide voice for preservation in Arkansas for 36 years.


Recent Posts


Dr. Ruth Hawkins Benton Arkansas Main Street Batesville historic architecture Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Barney Elias House Montgomery County Courthouse Tolbert Gill Morrilton Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Erbie Arkansas Pike County Courthouse downtown revitalization Turner Restoration Cumberland Presbyterian Church Mississippi Main Street Association 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas Historic Preservation Roe Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Historic Preservation Alliance Skillern House Mississippi County Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax free history tours National Register of Historic Historic County Courthouses U.S. Forest Service Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Rustic Architecture Henry Koen Office Building U.S. Army Corps of Engineers slipcover removal grants Marked Tree Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants most endangered historic places Arkansas Business History Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Arkansas African American Civil War History Pike County Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Arkansas Register of Historic Places Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Kiblah School Prairie County Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery International-Style Architecture Rosenwald Schools Sunken Lands Arkansas History Lesson Plans American Legion Main Street Dumas Monroe County Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Main Street Texarkana Edgar Monsanto Queeny Paris Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Real Estate Transfer Tax Burdette Plantation Louisiana Main Street program historic telephone booth Arkansas History Miller County Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Forrest City Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Camden Public Library Civil Works Administration historic resort communities Freedom Park Delta Cultural Center Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Helena Arkansas Arkansas religious history free teacher resources Russellville Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Phillips County Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Destination Downtown Conference Montgomery County Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Poinsett County Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Fayetteville Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Houston Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Let Freedom Ring Arkansas Humanities Council African American education Ozark Farming Arkansas Preservation Awards Huntsville Arkansas Main Street Searcy Freedmen's Bureau Booneville Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Abolition of Slavery Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Main Street Ozark Huntsville Commercial Historic District Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Art Deco Architecture Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Duck Hunting Pope County Courthouse Civilian Conservation Corps Camden Arkansas Conway County Library Buffalo National River Arkansas Historic Preservation Program historic Arkansas properties White County Courthouse Trail of Tears in Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Walks Through History Evelyn Gill Walker House National Historic Landmark News Release Tudor Revival Architecture Sandwiching in History downtown economic development Clarendon Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Naturalistic Architecture Bogg Springs Arkansas cemetery preservsation Doddridge Arkansas 13th Amendment Centennial Baptist Church Polk County Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Free Courthouse Poster Three States Lumber Company Perry County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Flood Control Monsanto Chemical Corporation free historic preservation workshop Craftsman style architecture Main Street Siloam Springs Rosston Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture cemetery preservation Folk Victorian Architecture Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Free Lesson Plan County courthouse Restoration Grants North Little Rock Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Main Street Arkansas Wingmead Downtown Revitalization Grants Burdette Arkansas National Register of Historic Places St. Francis County Historical Society Bogg Springs Hotel