Preserve Arkansas Receives Grant for Bigelow Rosenwald School

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, January 25, 2018

The National Trust for Historic Preservation has awarded Preserve Arkansas a $2,500 grant from the Arkansas Preservation Services Fund. These grant funds, along with matching funds from the Rosenwald Community Cultural Center, will be used to hire a preservation architect to evaluate the current condition of the 1926 Bigelow Rosenwald School, prioritize needs, and provide cost estimates for rehabilitation of the structure.

Located at the southwest corner of Arkansas Highway 60 and Bethel AME Road in Perry County, Arkansas, the Bigelow Rosenwald School was constructed in 1926 as part of a national building program made possible by the Julius Rosenwald Fund to improve African American educational opportunities throughout the South. Bigelow’s school was one of 389 schools and associated buildings constructed in Arkansas with help from the Rosenwald Fund. Only 18 of those buildings remain today. The Bigelow Rosenwald School was included in Preserve Arkansas's 2012 list of Arkansas's Most Endangered Historic Places, making its restoration a priority for the organization.

"Organizations like Preserve Arkansas help to ensure that communities and towns all across America retain their unique sense of place," said Stephanie Meeks, president of the National Trust for Historic Preservation. "We are honored to provide a grant to Preserve Arkansas, which will use the funds to help preserve an important piece of our shared national heritage."

Grants from the National Trust Preservation Funds generally range from $2,500 to $5,000 and have provided over $15 million since 2003. These matching grants are awarded to nonprofit organizations and public agencies across the country to support wide-ranging activities including consultant services for rehabilitating buildings, technical assistance for tourism that promotes historic resources, and the development of materials for education and outreach campaigns.

For more information on the National Trust for Historic Preservation’s Preservation Fund grants, visit:

Preserve Arkansas is the only statewide nonprofit dedicated to the preservation of Arkansas’s historic and cultural resources. Preserve Arkansas works to build stronger communities by reconnecting Arkansans to our heritage and empowering people to save and rehabilitate historic places. For more information, please visit or call 501-372-4757.

Recent Posts


Duck Hunting Civil Works Administration Cumberland Presbyterian Church historic architecture Doddridge Arkansas Conway County Library Louisiana Main Street program Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Free Courthouse Poster Monroe County Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District most endangered historic places Huntsville Commercial Historic District Mississippi County Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Newton County Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Historic Preservation Alliance Roe Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Evelyn Gill Walker House Civilian Conservation Corps Turner Restoration Arkansas Business History Forrest City Cemetery Arkansas Humanities Council Pike County Courthouse International-Style Architecture Naturalistic Architecture Rosenwald Schools Russellville Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Freedom Park Madison County Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Marked Tree Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut American Legion New Century Club of Camden Erbie Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Destination Downtown Conference Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Sunken Lands Main Street Batesville Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Montgomery County Courthouse 13th Amendment Sandwiching in History Morrilton Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Elias Camp Morris County courthouse Restoration Grants North Little Rock Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Camden Arkansas cemetery preservsation Walks Through History Delta Cultural Center "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Monsanto Chemical Corporation Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Miller County Centennial Baptist Church Bogg Springs Arkansas National Register of Historic Fayetteville Arkansas Ozark Farming Let Freedom Ring Booneville Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Arkansas Historic Preservation Ouachita County Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Pike County Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Cemetery Preservation Library Camden to Washington Road Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Trail of Tears in Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Phillips County Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Dionicio Rodriguez Mid-Century Modern Architecture historic telephone booth Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Benton Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Henry Koen Office Building cemetery preservation Rosston Arkansas African American education Buffalo National River downtown revitalization Mississippi Main Street Association Dr. Ruth Hawkins Freedmen's Bureau White County Courthouse Montgomery County Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Booneville Historical Preservation Society Arkansas African American Civil War History Three States Lumber Company Wingmead National Historic Landmark News Release Skillern House Main Street Ozark Arkansas State University Heritage Sites National Register of Historic Places Perry County Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Renaissance Revival Architecture Main Street Dumas Camden Public Library Helena Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Tolbert Gill 19th Century Road Construction Burdette Plantation Monroe County Courthouse free history tours Folk Victorian Architecture Little Rock Central High School downtown economic development Saline County Arkansas Paris Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Kiblah School Arkansas religious history Poinsett County Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Barney Elias House Main Street Searcy Prairie County Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Rustic Architecture Downtown Revitalization Grants Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Craftsman style architecture Historic County Courthouses Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum free teacher resources Polk County Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Pope County Courthouse Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Free Lesson Plan Arkansas Design Network St. Francis County Historical Society Houston Arkansas Arkansas History slipcover removal grants Flood Control Arkansas Preservation Awards Huntsville Arkansas historic resort communities Abolition of Slavery Art Deco Architecture Main Street Siloam Springs