Preserve Arkansas Seeking Awards Nominations

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, July 17, 2018

LITTLE ROCK—Preserve Arkansas is now accepting nominations for the 2018 Arkansas Preservation Awards. Award winners will be honored at a ceremony and dinner in Little Rock on January 25, 2019.

Preserve Arkansas is excited to announce that Hot Springs architects Anthony Taylor and Bob Kempkes will be honored with the 2018 Parker Westbrook Award for Lifetime Achievement. Additional awards will honor outstanding preservation achievements, people who make a difference in their communities, and projects that inspire others to protect Arkansas’s special historic places.

Nominations will be accepted in twelve categories. Individual awards will recognize leading craftspeople, homeowners, volunteers, and professionals for their work. Themed awards will salute outstanding education and advocacy initiatives, community programs, and dedicated stewardship. Project awards will honor the restoration and rehabilitation of buildings and sites and compatible design in historic areas. Past honorees include architects, carpenters, and community leaders; museums, advocacy organizations, and neighborhood groups; and restorations and rehabilitations of historic schools, office buildings, post offices, courthouses, and bridges.

Members of the public are invited to submit nominations for eligible projects in the following categories:

-Outstanding Service in Neighborhood Preservation

-Outstanding Work by a Craftsperson

-Excellence in Preservation through Rehabilitation

-Excellence in Preservation through Restoration

-Excellence in Personal Preservation Projects

-Outstanding Achievement in Preservation Advocacy

-Outstanding New Construction in a Historic Setting

-Outstanding Preservation Reporting in the Media

-Ned Shank Award for Outstanding Preservation Publication

-Outstanding Achievement in Preservation Education

-Excellence in Heritage Preservation

-Parker Westbrook Award for Lifetime Achievement (to be awarded in January 2020)

To nominate a person, project, or program, visit to obtain a nomination form or nominate online, or request a nomination form by calling 501-372-4757 or emailing [email protected]. Nominations are due by 5 p.m. on August 17, 2018.

Preserve Arkansas is the only statewide nonprofit advocate for the preservation of Arkansas’s historic places. Our organization is dedicated to building stronger communities by reconnecting Arkansans to our heritage and empowering people to save and rehabilitate historic places.

Recent Posts


Prairie County Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture National Register of Historic Dr. Ruth Hawkins Buffalo National River cemetery preservation St. Francis County Historical Society Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Polk County Arkansas Houston Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Camden Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Arkansas religious history Roe Arkansas Rustic Architecture Henry Koen Office Building free history tours County courthouse Restoration Grants American Legion Main Street Searcy Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Forrest City Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Burdette Plantation "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Historic Preservation Alliance Dionicio Rodriguez historic resort communities Freedom Park Folk Victorian Architecture Phillips County Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Saline County Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Newton County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Cemetery Preservation Library Arkansas Design Network Freedmen's Bureau Main Street Ozark Rosenwald Schools Tolbert Gill Montgomery County Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Arkansas Register of Historic Places Craftsman style architecture Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Turner Restoration cemetery preservsation Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Pike County Courthouse Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Main Street Batesville Free Lesson Plan Little Rock Central High School Mississippi Main Street Association Camden Public Library Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Booneville Historical Preservation Society Doddridge Arkansas Walks Through History 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas History Trail of Tears in Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Sunken Lands Morrilton Arkansas National Register of Historic Places steel window restoration workshop Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House National Historic Landmark Monsanto Chemical Corporation Elias Camp Morris Centennial Baptist Church Delta Cultural Center Free Courthouse Poster Forrest City Cemetery Benton Arkansas Duck Hunting Cumberland Presbyterian Church Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Wingmead Booneville Arkansas Art Deco Architecture slipcover removal grants Arkansas Preservation Awards Arkansas Business History Pope County Arkansas Helena Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas historic architecture Louisiana Main Street program Flood Control free historic preservation workshop Paris Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Marked Tree Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Historic County Courthouses Sandwiching in History Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Burdette Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Arkansas African American Civil War History International-Style Architecture Kiblah School Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Mississippi County Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas downtown economic development Gothic Revival architecture Clarendon Arkansas historic Arkansas properties U.S. Forest Service 13th Amendment Abolition of Slavery Arkansas Historic Preservation New Century Club of Camden Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Evelyn Gill Walker House Huntsville Commercial Historic District Russellville Arkansas News Release free teacher resources most endangered historic places Main Street Dumas White County Courthouse Civil Works Administration Arkansas Railroad History Ozark Farming Bogg Springs Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Civilian Conservation Corps African American education Monroe County Courthouse Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Montgomery County Courthouse Arkansas History Lesson Plans Bogg Springs Hotel Skillern House Barney Elias House Renaissance Revival Architecture Main Street Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council historic telephone booth Destination Downtown Conference Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Real Estate Transfer Tax Fayetteville Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Pope County Courthouse Conway County Library Edgar Monsanto Queeny Three States Lumber Company downtown revitalization Miller County Downtown Revitalization Grants Huntsville Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Pike County Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council