Preserve Arkansas Seeks Historic Preservation Award Nominations

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, July 18, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—Arkansas’s statewide historic preservation organization—Preserve Arkansas—is now accepting nominations for the 2017 Arkansas Preservation Awards. Award winners will be honored at a ceremony and dinner in Little Rock on January 19, 2018. Preserve Arkansas is excited to announce that the 2017 recipient of the Parker Westbrook Award for Lifetime Achievement will be Tommy Jameson, president and principal architect at JAMESON Architects P.A. in Little Rock. Additional awards will honor great preservation achievements, people who make a difference in their communities, and projects that inspire others to protect Arkansas’s special historic places.

Nominations will be accepted in twelve categories. Individual awards will recognize leading craftspeople, homeowners, volunteers, and professionals for their work. Themed awards will salute outstanding education and advocacy initiatives, community programs, and dedicated stewardship. Project awards will honor the restoration and rehabilitation of buildings and sites and compatible design in historic areas. Past honorees include architects, carpenters, and community leaders; museums, advocacy organizations, and neighborhood groups; and restorations and rehabilitations of historic schools, office buildings, post offices, courthouses, and bridges.

Members of the public are invited to submit nominations for eligible projects in the following categories:

-Outstanding Service in Neighborhood Preservation

-Outstanding Work by a Craftsperson

-Excellence in Preservation through Rehabilitation

-Excellence in Preservation through Restoration

-Excellence in Personal Preservation Projects

-Outstanding Achievement in Preservation Advocacy

-Outstanding New Construction in a Historic Setting

-Outstanding Preservation Reporting in the Media

-Ned Shank Award for Outstanding Preservation Publication

-Outstanding Achievement in Preservation Education

-Excellence in Heritage Preservation

-Parker Westbrook Award for Lifetime Achievement (to be awarded in January 2019)

To nominate a person, project, or program, visit to obtain a nomination form or nominate online, or request a nomination form by calling 501-372-4757 or emailing [email protected]. Nominations are due on or before August 31, 2017.

Preserve Arkansas is the statewide nonprofit organization dedicated to building stronger communities by reconnecting Arkansans to our heritage and empowering people to save and rehabilitate historic places.

Recent Posts


historic architecture County courthouse Restoration Grants Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Walks Through History Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission free teacher resources free historic preservation workshop Conway County Library Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Bogg Springs Hotel Fayetteville Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Monroe County Courthouse Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Folk Victorian Architecture Polk County Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Arkansas History North Little Rock Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Main Street Ozark Historic Preservation Alliance Camden to Washington Road Mid-Century Modern Architecture Cemetery Preservation Library Evelyn Gill Walker House Centennial Baptist Church Freedmen's Bureau Historic County Courthouses Skillern House Huntsville Commercial Historic District Forrest City Arkansas Main Street Searcy Trail of Tears in Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Montgomery County Courthouse Barney Elias House Main Street Dumas Arkansas African American Civil War History cemetery preservation Saline County Arkansas Roe Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Pike County Arkansas Turner Restoration Nevada County Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Three States Lumber Company Abolition of Slavery Erbie Arkansas Let Freedom Ring downtown economic development Civilian Conservation Corps Forrest City Cemetery Main Street Texarkana Poinsett County Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Tudor Revival Architecture Mississippi Main Street Association News Release Prairie County Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Russellville Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Arkansas History Lesson Plans Pike County Courthouse Arkansas Preservation Awards Monsanto Chemical Corporation Newton County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Camden Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Wingmead Arkansas Humanities Council Kiblah School Booneville Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Edgar Monsanto Queeny free history tours Paris Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax 19th Century Road Construction Burdette Plantation Buffalo National River Henry Koen Office Building Camden Public Library New Century Club of Camden Sunken Lands Marked Tree Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Houston Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Main Street Arkansas National Register of Historic Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Rustic Architecture Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Rosenwald Schools Tolbert Gill Naturalistic Architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Freedom Park Burdette Arkansas Main Street Batesville Ouachita County Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 African American education Dionicio Rodriguez International-Style Architecture Pope County Courthouse most endangered historic places Main Street Siloam Springs Pulaski County Courthouse Sandwiching in History Mississippi County Arkansas historic telephone booth Phillips County Arkansas Free Lesson Plan slipcover removal grants downtown revitalization Madison County Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Miller County Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Louisiana Main Street program Helena Arkansas Duck Hunting Cumberland Presbyterian Church Arkansas Design Network Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Craftsman style architecture Pope County Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Benton Arkansas National Historic Landmark Art Deco Architecture cemetery preservsation Gothic Revival architecture historic resort communities Arkansas Register of Historic Places Renaissance Revival Architecture Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Arkansas Business History Monroe County Arkansas Arkansas religious history Destination Downtown Conference Rosston Arkansas historic Arkansas properties 13th Amendment Ozark Farming Huntsville Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Downtown Revitalization Grants Doddridge Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas American Legion Civil Works Administration White County Courthouse Flood Control Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops