Preserve Our Past Art and Essay Invitational Opens

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, January 08, 2018

Fifth-, sixth-, seventh- and eighth-grade students throughout Arkansas are invited to participate in the 27th annual “Preserve Our Past” art and essay invitational sponsored by the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, a division of the Department of Arkansas Heritage.

Students in two categories, one for fifth- and sixth-grade students and one for seventh- and eighth-grade students, can enter an artwork or essay based on a historic Arkansas property that is at least 50 years old, focusing on how those properties reflect Arkansas history or why it is important to preserve the state’s historic places. All entries must be postmarked by April 1, 2018.

First-, second- and third-place winners in each category will receive a trophy and winners in the art division will have their artwork framed, while those awarded honorable mention will receive ribbons. All students who enter will receive a certificate. Winning entries will be displayed at the Historic Arkansas Museum in Little Rock throughout May, which is Arkansas Heritage Month.

For more information or an entry form, write AHPP Art and Essay Invitational, 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, call (501) 324-9786, send an e-mail inquiry to [email protected], or download the form at

Please include your name and mailing address on any phone or e-mail messages.

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


"Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Dionicio Rodriguez 19th Century Road Construction Trail of Tears in Arkansas Booneville Arkansas National Historic Landmark Freedom Park Monroe County Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Polk County Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Arkansas Historic Preservation Main Street Texarkana Abolition of Slavery Sunken Lands Renaissance Revival Architecture Burdette Plantation Burdette Arkansas downtown economic development Free Courthouse Poster Turner Restoration American Legion Mid-Century Modern Architecture Art Deco Architecture Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Pulaski County Courthouse Main Street Siloam Springs Fayetteville Arkansas Miller County Tudor Revival Architecture Kiblah School Wingmead Leake-Ingham Building Camden to Washington Road free history tours Conway County Library Historic County Courthouses Main Street Arkansas Buffalo National River Saline County Arkansas U.S. Forest Service historic telephone booth historic architecture Folk Victorian Architecture Elias Camp Morris Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Rosenwald Schools Russellville Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Prairie County Arkansas Skillern House Main Street Dumas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Civil Works Administration Naturalistic Architecture Arkansas Humanities Council St. Francis County Historical Society Clarendon Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Craftsman style architecture most endangered historic places Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Destination Downtown Conference cemetery preservsation Tolbert Gill African American education Poinsett County Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Mississippi Main Street Association Barney Elias House Montgomery County Courthouse Duck Hunting Main Street Searcy Morrilton Arkansas free teacher resources Centennial Baptist Church National Register of Historic slipcover removal grants Arkansas African American Civil War History Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Sandwiching in History Downtown Revitalization Grants Nevada County Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Arkansas Preservation Awards Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Camden Public Library Pike County Courthouse Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Henry Koen Office Building Forrest City Cemetery Walks Through History Roe Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Arkansas Business History U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Evelyn Gill Walker House Bogg Springs Hotel Main Street Ozark Phillips County Arkansas historic resort communities Camden Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Huntsville Commercial Historic District Historic Preservation Alliance Rosston Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Helena Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Paris Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Civilian Conservation Corps Free Lesson Plan Arkansas religious history Montgomery County Arkansas Delta Cultural Center 13th Amendment Houston Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Booneville Historical Preservation Society Newton County Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Louisiana Main Street program Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Arkansas History Lesson Plans Mississippi County Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Ozark Farming Monsanto Chemical Corporation International-Style Architecture Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House White County Courthouse News Release Pike County Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Pope County Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Three States Lumber Company Flood Control Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Little Rock Central High School Freedmen's Bureau New Century Club of Camden Arkansas History Main Street Batesville County courthouse Restoration Grants Benton Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites downtown revitalization Bogg Springs Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Monroe County Courthouse Madison County Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas cemetery preservation North Little Rock Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Rustic Architecture