Preserve Our Past Art and Essay Invitational Winners Announced

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, May 04, 2018

Students from White, Pulaski and Benton counties were the top winners in the 27th annual “Preserve Our Past” art and essay invitational sponsored by the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, an agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage.

Bryce Smith of Ahlf Junior High School in Searcy won first place in the seventh-and-eighth grade art division for a drawing of the Selma Methodist Church, while Bart Walker of Haas Hall Academy in Rogers won first place in the seventh-and-eighth grade essay division for a piece on the Potts Inn Tavern. Savanna Young of Pulaski Academy in Little Rock won first place in the fifth-and-sixth grade art division for a drawing of the Old Mill in North Little Rock. The contest was held as part of Arkansas Heritage Month 2018 activities.

Other winners in the seventh-and eighth grade art division were Madison Caple of Cotter Junior High School, second place for a drawing of the Cotter Bridge, and Kai Griffith of Hot Springs Junior Academy, third place for a drawing of the Medical Arts Building in Hot Springs.

Other seventh-and-eighth grade essay division winners were Meera Arunkumar of Haas Hall Academy, second place for an essay on Garvan Woodland Gardens in Hot Springs, and Destiny Bowden of Pottsville Junior High, third place for writing about the Pottsville Citizens Bank.

Other fifth-and-sixth grade art division winners were Lindy Gildon of Pulaski Academy, second place for a drawing of the Old State House, while two Pulaski Academy students tiedfor third place: Kamoree Daniels for a drawing of the Hotze House in Little Rock and Luke Dallas for a depiction of the Albert Pike Memorial Temple. Shallya Anand of Pulaski Academy won honorable mention in the division for a drawing of Curran Hall in Little Rock.

Honorable mention in the seventh-and-eighth grade art division went to Abby Kilgore of Wynne Junior High School for a depiction of the Riley Cabin in Cross County and Emma Gomez of Hot Springs Junior Academy for a drawing of the Malco Theater in Hot Springs. Winning honorable mention in the seventh-and-eighth grade essay division were William Burgener of Hector High School, who wrote about the Arkansas State Capitol and Francine Cuevas of Hector High for an essay on the Knox House in Pine Bluff.

First-, second- and third-place winners in each division will receive a trophy, honorable mention recipients will get a ribbon, and all students who entered will receive a certificate. Winning entries and honorable mention entries will be displayed at the Historic Arkansas Museum in Little Rock throughout May, which is Arkansas Heritage Month. Winning entries can be seen at

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council U.S. Forest Service Wingmead Centennial Baptist Church Forrest City Cemetery Forrest City Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Erbie Arkansas White County Courthouse Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House News Release Nevada County Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History National Historic Landmark Historic Preservation Restoration Grants slipcover removal grants Fayetteville Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Roe Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Three States Lumber Company free history tours Mid-Century Modern Architecture Dr. Ruth Hawkins Arkansas Register of Historic Places Rustic Architecture National Register of Historic Burdette Plantation County courthouse Restoration Grants Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Pike County Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation downtown economic development Main Street Batesville Poinsett County Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Arkansas Historic Preservation Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Morrilton Arkansas cemetery preservsation Benton Arkansas historic resort communities Camden Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Let Freedom Ring Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas History Lesson Plans Civil Works Administration most endangered historic places Freedom Park Elias Camp Morris Arkansas religious history Civilian Conservation Corps Burdette Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Booneville Historical Preservation Society Camden Public Library Dionicio Rodriguez Arkansas History Turner Restoration Arkansas Preservation Awards Polk County Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture historic architecture Sunken Lands Helena Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Mississippi Main Street Association Duck Hunting Rosenwald Schools Flood Control Ozark Farming Destination Downtown Conference Monsanto Chemical Corporation Pulaski County Courthouse Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Main Street Dumas Historic County Courthouses Henry Koen Office Building Conway County Library Huntsville Commercial Historic District Huntsville Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Arkansas Railroad History 13th Amendment Camden to Washington Road historic Arkansas properties cemetery preservation National Register of Historic Places steel window restoration workshop Prairie County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Madison County Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Little Rock Central High School Tudor Revival Architecture Main Street Siloam Springs Houston Arkansas Arkansas Business History Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Russellville Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Free Courthouse Poster Folk Victorian Architecture Phillips County Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Arkansas Design Network Delta Cultural Center Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Booneville Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Kiblah School Miller County International-Style Architecture Montgomery County Courthouse Bogg Springs Hotel Paris Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Main Street Ozark Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Montgomery County Arkansas American Legion Main Street Texarkana free teacher resources Cemetery Preservation Library Craftsman style architecture Ouachita County Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Historic Preservation Alliance Skillern House free historic preservation workshop African American education Tolbert Gill Pope County Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Naturalistic Architecture Buffalo National River Barney Elias House Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Rosston Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church North Little Rock Arkansas Walks Through History New Century Club of Camden Abolition of Slavery Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Arkansas Humanities Council Monroe County Arkansas historic telephone booth Main Street Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Bogg Springs Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Sandwiching in History downtown revitalization Pope County Courthouse Main Street Searcy St. Francis County Historical Society Freedmen's Bureau Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Doddridge Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas