​ Preserve our Past Art and Essay Winners Announced

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, September 02, 2020

Students from Marion, Phillips, Pulaski, Benton, Sharp and Van Buren counties were the top winners in the 29th annual “Preserve Our Past” Art & Essay Invitational, sponsored by the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, an agency of Arkansas Heritage, a division of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism. The winning submissions will be on display at Historic Arkansas Museum, 200 E. Third St., in Little Rock, on Friday, Sept. 11, during its virtual Second Friday Art Night event and will remain on display for visitors to the museum through Oct. 8.

Brooke Bitely of Pulaski Academy in Little Rock won first place in the fifth- and sixth-grade art division for a drawing of the Old Mill in North Little Rock. There were no essay submissions for fifth- and sixth-graders in the essay division.

Brent Wall of South Side Bee Branch won first place in the seventh- and eighth-grade art division for a drawing of the rustic arch at the CCC Camp in Damascus, and Matthias L. Gwinn of Siloam Springs won first place in the essay division for “A Willow Tree: The Elaine Massacre and Preserving Its Story.” Yahya Younus of Lisa Academy in Little Rock won second place in the essay division for “The Diamond State’s Heart: the VA Hospital.”

Other winners in the fifth- and sixth-grade art division were Ria Patel of Pulaski Academy in Little Rock, second place for a drawing of the State Capitol in Little Rock, and Mason Reid Simmons of Cave City MiddleSchool, third place for a drawing of the Old State House in Little Rock. Honorable mention went to Emma Grace Kimball of Pulaski Academy for a drawing of Cabin 16 at Petit Jean State Park.

Other winners in the seventh- and eighth grade art division were Taylor Henley of Flippin Middle School, second place for a drawing of the Flippin Jail, and Kaylea Roberson of South Side Bee Branch, third place for a drawing of the Collums-Baker House. Honorable mention went to Natalie Leslie, South Side Bee Branch, for a drawing of the arch at the CCC Camp in Damascus. The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum cemetery preservation Skillern House Renaissance Revival Architecture Delta Cultural Center Mississippi Main Street Association Monroe County Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Ozark Farming Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Mid-Century Modern Architecture slipcover removal grants Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Main Street Texarkana Arkansas African American Civil War History Conway County Library Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Arkansas Railroad History Sunken Lands Gothic Revival architecture Russellville Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez National Register of Historic Places downtown economic development Arkansas History Lesson Plans Pope County Arkansas Camden Arkansas Main Street Searcy Let Freedom Ring U.S. Army Corps of Engineers 19th Century Road Construction Centennial Baptist Church Mississippi County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Abolition of Slavery "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Pike County Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Free Courthouse Poster Naturalistic Architecture Flood Control Madison County Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Huntsville Arkansas Tolbert Gill Huntsville Commercial Historic District Clarendon Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Burdette Plantation Arkansas Business History Booneville Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Buffalo National River Benton Arkansas Arkansas religious history Craftsman style architecture Dr. Ruth Hawkins Edgar Monsanto Queeny Civilian Conservation Corps 13th Amendment Historic Preservation Alliance Cemetery Preservation Library Arkansas State University Heritage Sites North Little Rock Arkansas downtown revitalization Downtown Revitalization Grants Arkansas Humanities Council Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas Register of Historic Places Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Booneville Historical Preservation Society cemetery preservsation Wingmead Pulaski County Courthouse Prairie County Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Polk County Arkansas Sandwiching in History Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Rosenwald Schools Evelyn Gill Walker House Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Leake-Ingham Building Destination Downtown Conference Tudor Revival Architecture Rustic Architecture Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Phillips County Arkansas Main Street Ozark Paris Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Main Street Dumas historic Arkansas properties Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Kiblah School most endangered historic places Forrest City Cemetery White County Courthouse Poinsett County Arkansas free history tours Historic County Courthouses Barney Elias House free teacher resources Newton County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture steel window restoration workshop U.S. Forest Service Pope County Courthouse Montgomery County Courthouse Miller County Roe Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Camden to Washington Road Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Duck Hunting National Register of Historic Arkansas History Saline County Arkansas Main Street Batesville Three States Lumber Company Houston Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Louisiana Main Street program News Release Marked Tree Lock and Siphons 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Camden Public Library County courthouse Restoration Grants Turner Restoration Monsanto Chemical Corporation Arkansas Historic Preservation Monroe County Courthouse American Legion Pike County Courthouse free historic preservation workshop Fayetteville Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Marked Tree Arkansas Civil Works Administration National Historic Landmark Burdette Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Helena Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Trail of Tears in Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Elias Camp Morris New Century Club of Camden Mosaic Templars Cultural Center St. Francis County Historical Society Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Arkansas Preservation Awards Bogg Springs Hotel Cumberland Presbyterian Church International-Style Architecture historic resort communities African American education Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Nevada County Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Doddridge Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas historic architecture Walks Through History historic telephone booth Freedom Park