Russellville Commercial Building Listed on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, November 14, 2017

The building at 310 West Main Street in the Russellville Downtown Historic District at Russellville in Pope County has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant properties.

The building at 310 West Main Street was constructed in 1912.

“In the original nomination for the Russellville Downtown Historic District, the Building at 310 West Main was considered to be non-contributing to the District, due to a slipcover that was installed over the original façade,” according to the National Register nomination. “However, the building should now be considered to be a contributing resource. A recent project, partially funded by a slipcover removal grant from the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program in 2013-2014, removed the slipcover, exposing the original facade. As a result, the building is considered to be a contributing resource in the Russellville Downtown Historic District.”

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


"Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Main Street Arkansas Rosston Arkansas cemetery preservation Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Cemetery Preservation Library Phillips County Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans National Register of Historic Places Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Three States Lumber Company Mid-Century Modern Architecture Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District County courthouse Restoration Grants Abolition of Slavery Elias Camp Morris Skillern House Pike County Courthouse Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Fayetteville Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Duck Hunting Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Arkansas African American Civil War History Kiblah School cemetery preservsation Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Mississippi County Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Walks Through History Arkansas Humanities Council Prairie County Arkansas downtown economic development Main Street Batesville Centennial Baptist Church Delta Cultural Center Dionicio Rodriguez Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax free historic preservation workshop historic telephone booth African American education Booneville Historical Preservation Society Civilian Conservation Corps steel window restoration workshop Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Arkansas Preservation Awards Arkansas religious history U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Benton Arkansas Conway County Library Perry County Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Sunken Lands Pope County Arkansas National Historic Landmark Arkansas Historic Preservation Renaissance Revival Architecture Arkansas History Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Destination Downtown Conference 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Newton County Arkansas slipcover removal grants Naturalistic Architecture Flood Control Morrilton Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Art Deco Architecture Wingmead Pope County Courthouse Louisiana Main Street program Camden to Washington Road Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Arkansas Business History Tudor Revival Architecture downtown revitalization Freedom Park North Little Rock Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs International-Style Architecture Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola St. Francis County Historical Society Monroe County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Arkansas Design Network historic resort communities Monroe County Courthouse Folk Victorian Architecture Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Sandwiching in History National Register of Historic Rustic Architecture Clarendon Arkansas most endangered historic places historic Arkansas properties free teacher resources Gothic Revival architecture Pulaski County Courthouse American Legion Buffalo National River Mississippi Main Street Association Main Street Dumas Roe Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Camden Public Library Bogg Springs Hotel Trail of Tears in Arkansas Paris Arkansas Turner Restoration Bogg Springs Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Main Street Ozark Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Let Freedom Ring Evelyn Gill Walker House Helena Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas historic architecture Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Historic Preservation Alliance Forrest City Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Nevada County Arkansas Main Street Searcy News Release New Century Club of Camden Houston Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Edgar Monsanto Queeny Ouachita County Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Camden Arkansas Ozark Farming Little Rock Central High School Burdette Plantation Rosenwald Schools Craftsman style architecture Cumberland Presbyterian Church Real Estate Transfer Tax U.S. Forest Service Downtown Revitalization Grants Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Montgomery County Courthouse White County Courthouse free history tours Dr. Ruth Hawkins Main Street Texarkana Forrest City Cemetery Tolbert Gill Civil Works Administration Marked Tree Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Erbie Arkansas Miller County Pike County Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Barney Elias House Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission 13th Amendment Free Lesson Plan Huntsville Commercial Historic District Historic County Courthouses Henry Koen Office Building