Sandwiching in History to Tour Acme Brick Building

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, July 21, 2017

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit the Acme Brick Building at 301 South Victory Street in Little Rock beginning at noon on Friday, August 4.

The Acme Brick Building was designed by the firm of Ehrhart, Eichenbaum & Rauch and was constructed in 1958. That is the firm that is responsible for buildings such as Beaux-Arts Parnell Hall at Arkansas School for the Deaf (1931), the Art Moderne-style Arkansas State Tuberculosis Sanitarium in Booneville (1938), and the original International-style St. Vincent's Hospital (1958) at the corner of University and Markham in Little Rock. The Acme Brick Building was designed to serve as the showroom for the various products that Acme Brick had to offer. Acme stayed in the building until 1996 when they sold it to the state for offices. Various organizations have been housed in the building since then, most recently the Arkansas Asphalt Pavement Association.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2017 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held September 1, Park Hill Fire Station and Water Company Complex, 3417-3421 Magnolia Street, North Little Rock; October 6, Gustave Kleinschmidt House, 621 East 16th Street, Little Rock; November 3, Pulaski County Courthouse, 401 West Markham Street, Little Rock, and December 1, Little Rock City Hall, 500 West Markham Street, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Art Deco Architecture Historic Preservation Restoration Grants historic resort communities Cumberland Presbyterian Church Freedmen's Bureau Trail of Tears in Arkansas African American education Buffalo National River cemetery preservsation Benton Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Madison County Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Pike County Courthouse Nevada County Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation International-Style Architecture Paris Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Let Freedom Ring Turner Restoration American Legion Booneville Historical Preservation Society Arkansas Business History Clarendon Arkansas News Release Perry County Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Erbie Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Booneville Arkansas free historic preservation workshop National Register of Historic Places Main Street Searcy Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Flood Control 19th Century Road Construction Historic County Courthouses historic architecture Ouachita County Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Evelyn Gill Walker House Naturalistic Architecture Main Street Dumas Main Street Batesville Centennial Baptist Church Prairie County Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Houston Arkansas Camden Arkansas Conway County Library Rosston Arkansas Polk County Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola cemetery preservation Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Burdette Plantation Civilian Conservation Corps Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Bogg Springs Arkansas historic telephone booth Monsanto Chemical Corporation Skillern House Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Dr. Ruth Hawkins free teacher resources Sandwiching in History slipcover removal grants White County Courthouse Arkansas History Mississippi County Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Montgomery County Arkansas Ozark Farming Rustic Architecture most endangered historic places Cemetery Preservation Library Abolition of Slavery Forrest City Arkansas downtown revitalization Destination Downtown Conference Walks Through History Free Lesson Plan Arkansas Historic Preservation Freedom Park County courthouse Restoration Grants Civil Works Administration Russellville Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Fayetteville Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Elias Camp Morris Gothic Revival architecture Mid-Century Modern Architecture Marked Tree Arkansas Arkansas religious history Burdette Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Tolbert Gill Real Estate Transfer Tax downtown economic development Arkansas Humanities Council Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District historic Arkansas properties Renaissance Revival Architecture Historic Preservation Alliance Forrest City Cemetery Camden Public Library free history tours Pike County Arkansas Barney Elias House Montgomery County Courthouse Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Monroe County Courthouse National Register of Historic 13th Amendment Louisiana Main Street program Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Helena Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Pope County Courthouse Edgar Monsanto Queeny Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Mississippi Main Street Association Three States Lumber Company Huntsville Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places National Historic Landmark Newton County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Dionicio Rodriguez steel window restoration workshop North Little Rock Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Miller County Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Bogg Springs Hotel Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Main Street Siloam Springs Arkansas Design Network Tudor Revival Architecture Morrilton Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Doddridge Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Wingmead Roe Arkansas Duck Hunting Central High School Neighborhood Historic District U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Main Street Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Pope County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Arkansas Preservation Awards Kiblah School Leake-Ingham Building Main Street Ozark Craftsman style architecture Huntsville Commercial Historic District Sunken Lands Arkansas History Lesson Plans