‘Sandwiching in History’ to Tour Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, February 20, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit the Old U.S. Post Office and Courthouse at 300 West Second Street in Little Rock on March 6, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

Completed in 1881, this Renaissance Revival-style building served as a post office, federal courthouse, and customs house until 1932. The Old Post Office and Courthouse was declared federal surplus property in 1975. It was later renovated by the State of Arkansas to house the UALR Law School. In the early 1990s, the building was returned to the federal government. It was beautifully restored to accommodate the U.S. Bankruptcy Court. Attendees will have to go through a security checkpoint, which may take extra time so early arrival is recommended.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. Participants are encouraged to bring their lunches with them.

The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2015 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held April 3, Lynch Apartments, 523 Orange Street, North Little Rock; May 8, Dan Stowers Office Building, 1516 West Third Street, Little Rock; June 5, St. Edward Catholic Church, 801 Sherman Street, Little Rock; July 10, North Little Rock City Hall, 300 Main Street, North Little Rock; August 7, Oak Forest United Methodist Church, 2415 Fair Park Boulevard, Little Rock; September 4, Shiloh Baptist Church, 1200 Hanger Street, Little Rock; October 2, White-Baucum House, 201 South Izard Street, Little Rock; November 6, Thomas M. Clifton House, 1423 South Summit Street, Little Rock; and December 4, Mandlebaum-Pfeifer House, 908 South Scott Street, Little Rock. 

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 323 Center St., Suite 1500, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


downtown revitalization New Century Club of Camden Prairie County Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Main Street Searcy Louisiana Main Street program Erbie Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Folk Victorian Architecture Skillern House Arkansas Historic Preservation Perry County Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Dionicio Rodriguez Delta Cultural Center Downtown Revitalization Grants Doddridge Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Flood Control Mississippi Main Street Association Civil Works Administration Madison County Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Henry Koen Office Building Arkansas religious history Russellville Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Arkansas History Bogg Springs Hotel Arkansas African American Civil War History Phillips County Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Arkansas Preservation Awards Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Main Street Ozark Kiblah School Duck Hunting Rustic Architecture International-Style Architecture Sunken Lands Tudor Revival Architecture Barney Elias House Free Courthouse Poster Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Pike County Courthouse National Register of Historic Places Newton County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council cemetery preservsation Houston Arkansas Benton Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Montgomery County Courthouse Centennial Baptist Church Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Freedom Park North Little Rock Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture St. Francis County Historical Society free history tours Huntsville Arkansas Camden Arkansas Rosenwald Schools U.S. Forest Service Historic Preservation Alliance Cemetery Preservation Library Arkansas Business History Freedmen's Bureau Monroe County Courthouse Montgomery County Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society News Release Rosston Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Three States Lumber Company Elias Camp Morris historic telephone booth Camden to Washington Road Clarendon Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Forrest City Cemetery Polk County Arkansas Miller County Dr. Ruth Hawkins Helena Arkansas Tolbert Gill Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Marked Tree Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Monsanto Chemical Corporation Ozark Farming Ouachita County Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Craftsman style architecture downtown economic development Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Bogg Springs Arkansas Conway County Library Mid-Century Modern Architecture Main Street Batesville County courthouse Restoration Grants Morrilton Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Main Street Dumas Pulaski County Courthouse Mississippi County Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers National Register of Historic Let Freedom Ring 19th Century Road Construction Evelyn Gill Walker House Art Deco Architecture Roe Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas historic resort communities Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Huntsville Commercial Historic District most endangered historic places free teacher resources Civilian Conservation Corps Leake-Ingham Building Trail of Tears in Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Turner Restoration Edgar Monsanto Queeny Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Arkansas State University Heritage Sites 13th Amendment American Legion cemetery preservation Burdette Plantation Little Rock Central High School Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops historic architecture Gothic Revival architecture historic Arkansas properties Fayetteville Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Pope County Arkansas Wingmead Pope County Courthouse Camden Public Library Abolition of Slavery Cumberland Presbyterian Church Main Street Texarkana African American education Buffalo National River Paris Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House slipcover removal grants Pike County Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Arkansas Railroad History Nevada County Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Poinsett County Arkansas Walks Through History Sandwiching in History White County Courthouse Naturalistic Architecture Destination Downtown Conference National Historic Landmark