'Sandwiching in History' to tour Stowers Office Building

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, April 27, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit the Dan Stowers Office Building at 1516 West Third Street in Little Rock on May 8, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

Little Rock architect Dan F. Stowers, Sr., designed this Mid-century Modern building in 1960 to house his firm. Somewhat unassuming from Third Street, the Stowers Building was oriented to take advantage of the view to the north and provide natural light for the drafting room. Although the majority of the building’s walls are solid masonry, the northern elevation is composed of a glass curtain wall. This provided the perfect amount of indirect light for the drafting room. Panels of screen block on the building’s eastern side shield an exterior staircase and create an interesting detail.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. Participants are encouraged to bring their lunches with them. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2015 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held June 5, St. Edward Catholic Church, 801 Sherman Street, Little Rock; July 10, North Little Rock City Hall, 300 Main Street, North Little Rock; August 7, Oak Forest United Methodist Church, 2415 Fair Park Boulevard, Little Rock; September 4, Shiloh Baptist Church, 1200 Hanger Street, Little Rock; October 2, White-Baucum House, 201 South Izard Street, Little Rock; November 6, Thomas M. Clifton House, 1423 South Summit Street, Little Rock; and December 4, Albert Pike Memorial Temple, 712 Scott Street, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 323 Center St., Suite 1500, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Conway County Library Walks Through History Louisiana Main Street program Kiblah School Ouachita County Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Mosaic Templars Cultural Center U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Helena Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Camden Public Library Downtown Revitalization Grants 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Forrest City Cemetery Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council cemetery preservsation Main Street Searcy Turner Restoration Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Madison County Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Henry Koen Office Building Arkansas Business History Little Rock Central High School Arkansas Railroad History News Release Huntsville Commercial Historic District Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Arkansas religious history Monroe County Courthouse Phillips County Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Barney Elias House "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Camden to Washington Road Booneville Arkansas Arkansas History Gothic Revival architecture Let Freedom Ring Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Monsanto Chemical Corporation Burdette Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny U.S. Forest Service Freedmen's Bureau Freedom Park Cemetery Preservation Library Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Arkansas African American Civil War History Main Street Texarkana Poinsett County Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Real Estate Transfer Tax Forrest City Arkansas Miller County Tolbert Gill Duck Hunting Main Street Dumas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants 13th Amendment Fayetteville Arkansas Wingmead Arkansas Preservation Awards Pulaski County Courthouse White County Courthouse Montgomery County Courthouse Arkansas Historic Preservation Program most endangered historic places historic architecture historic telephone booth Bogg Springs Arkansas Free Lesson Plan St. Francis County Historical Society International-Style Architecture Destination Downtown Conference Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Paris Arkansas downtown economic development historic Arkansas properties Delta Cultural Center Centennial Baptist Church Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Arkansas Register of Historic Places National Register of Historic Places 19th Century Road Construction Morrilton Arkansas downtown revitalization Pope County Courthouse Clarendon Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Bogg Springs Hotel New Century Club of Camden Main Street Ozark Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Elias Camp Morris Folk Victorian Architecture Burdette Plantation Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House American Legion Sunken Lands African American education Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax cemetery preservation Erbie Arkansas Ozark Farming Historic Preservation Alliance Sandwiching in History free historic preservation workshop Huntsville Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Civilian Conservation Corps steel window restoration workshop National Historic Landmark Main Street Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Nevada County Arkansas Benton Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association free history tours North Little Rock Arkansas Main Street Batesville Craftsman style architecture Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Russellville Arkansas Buffalo National River Mississippi County Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Pike County Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Monroe County Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Pike County Courthouse Rustic Architecture Booneville Historical Preservation Society Doddridge Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Polk County Arkansas Roe Arkansas Civil Works Administration slipcover removal grants Skillern House Montgomery County Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Rosston Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Abolition of Slavery free teacher resources Saline County Arkansas Camden Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Marked Tree Arkansas Houston Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas Design Network Flood Control Newton County Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins National Register of Historic Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Rosenwald Schools Perry County Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas historic resort communities Naturalistic Architecture