Sandwiching in History to Visit Argenta Rock Island Depot

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, September 28, 2018

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit the Argenta Rock Island Depot at 1201 East Fourth Street in North Little Rock at noon on Friday, October 5. The Argenta Rock Island Depot is a single-story brick passenger depot constructed in 1913 and designed in the Mediterranean style common to the contemporaneous depots of the Rock Island Railroad Company. It has a simple Latin-cross plan with the telegrapher's bay and corresponding cargo room on the street elevation forming the transept. The building was designed by Rock Island railroad’s staff architect, A.T. Hawk.This design was used in places other than Argenta over a period of a few years: depots matching this design were also built in Lonoke and Mansfield in Arkansas.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. Participants are encouraged to bring their lunches with them. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2018 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be November 2, Mary H. Matthews Lustron House, 5021 Maryland Avenue, Little Rock, and December 7, Curran Hall,615 East Capitol Avenue, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, or send an e-mail message to [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Ozark Farming Dr. Ruth Hawkins Paris Arkansas Freedom Park Monroe County Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse 19th Century Road Construction Downtown Revitalization Grants Arkansas African American Civil War History "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax U.S. Forest Service historic resort communities Pike County Arkansas Arkansas religious history Naturalistic Architecture News Release free history tours Monsanto Chemical Corporation Abolition of Slavery Free Courthouse Poster Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Prairie County Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Edgar Monsanto Queeny Bogg Springs Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Benton Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture County courthouse Restoration Grants Clarendon Arkansas 13th Amendment Saline County Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Tudor Revival Architecture Real Estate Transfer Tax cemetery preservsation Freedmen's Bureau historic telephone booth Tolbert Gill Forrest City Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Main Street Ozark Ouachita County Arkansas Conway County Library Art Deco Architecture Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Rosenwald Schools Doddridge Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Civil Works Administration Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Huntsville Arkansas Burdette Arkansas steel window restoration workshop National Register of Historic Roe Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Folk Victorian Architecture Elias Camp Morris Turner Restoration Kiblah School Barney Elias House Pike County Courthouse Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Perry County Arkansas White County Courthouse Madison County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Historic County Courthouses Centennial Baptist Church Camden Public Library Main Street Arkansas Helena Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Pope County Courthouse Evelyn Gill Walker House Monroe County Courthouse Rosston Arkansas Rustic Architecture 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation National Register of Historic Places North Little Rock Arkansas Arkansas Business History Dionicio Rodriguez historic Arkansas properties Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Russellville Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Main Street Batesville Polk County Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Main Street Texarkana free teacher resources Arkansas Humanities Council St. Francis County Historical Society Leake-Ingham Building Historic Preservation Alliance Flood Control Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Delta Cultural Center Pope County Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Fayetteville Arkansas Buffalo National River Arkansas Design Network Camden Arkansas Houston Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Miller County Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Little Rock Central High School American Legion Poinsett County Arkansas Main Street Searcy U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Trail of Tears in Arkansas Camden to Washington Road cemetery preservation Craftsman style architecture Three States Lumber Company Nevada County Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Forrest City Cemetery Arkansas History Lesson Plans Mississippi Main Street Association Sunken Lands Phillips County Arkansas Duck Hunting historic architecture most endangered historic places downtown economic development International-Style Architecture Sandwiching in History Morrilton Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Pulaski County Courthouse Walks Through History Arkansas Preservation Awards Wingmead Booneville Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps Let Freedom Ring Main Street Dumas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Montgomery County Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas slipcover removal grants Arkansas Register of Historic Places downtown revitalization Cemetery Preservation Library Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Booneville Historical Preservation Society Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Burdette Plantation Destination Downtown Conference Skillern House African American education Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Renaissance Revival Architecture Arkansas History Marked Tree Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel National Historic Landmark