Sandwiching in History to Visit Jacksonville Museum

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, April 19, 2017

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit the Arkansas Ordnance Plant Guard House at the Jacksonville Museum of Military History at 100 Victory Circle in Jacksonville on Friday, May 5.

On June 4, 1941, the War Department notified Arkansas Governor Homer Adkins and Congressman David D. Terry that a $33,000,000 fuse and detonator plant was approved for immediate construction near Jacksonville. The Arkansas Ordnance Plant was the first national defense industry approved for the state, and at the peak of production on November 22, 1942, 14,092 workers were employed at the plant. In 2002, the Little Rock Air Force Base Historical Foundation, Inc. purchased a building located on the site of the former AOP administration building. That building was converted in 2004 to the Jacksonville Museum of Military History, which includes information and artifacts on military history from the Civil War to current military conflicts. One area is dedicated to the history of the Arkansas Ordnance Plant, which includes the guard shack. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places on September 20, 2006.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2017 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held June 2, Carmelite Convent and Chapel, 7201 W. 33rd Street, Little Rock; July 7, Albert Pike Hotel, 701 Scott Street, Little Rock; August 4, Acme Brick, 301 South Victory Street, Little Rock; September 1, Park Hill Fire Station and Water Company Complex, 3417-3421 Magnolia Street, North Little Rock; October 6, Gustave Kleinschmidt House, 621 East 16th Street, Little Rock; November 3, Pulaski County Courthouse, 401 West Markham Street, Little Rock, and December 1, Little Rock City Hall, 500 West Markham Street, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Dr. Ruth Hawkins Rosenwald Schools Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas Register of Historic Places Houston Arkansas Civil Works Administration Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Arkansas Railroad History Centennial Baptist Church Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Doddridge Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax cemetery preservsation Pike County Courthouse Barney Elias House Clarendon Arkansas Art Deco Architecture County courthouse Restoration Grants Naturalistic Architecture Perry County Arkansas cemetery preservation News Release Arkansas History Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission National Register of Historic Mississippi County Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Phillips County Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Flood Control Cumberland Presbyterian Church Main Street Siloam Springs Arkansas African American Civil War History Civilian Conservation Corps Sandwiching in History Huntsville Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut African American education American Legion Madison County Arkansas Buffalo National River Poinsett County Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Main Street Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Tudor Revival Architecture Destination Downtown Conference Pulaski County Courthouse Miller County Pope County Arkansas Main Street Searcy Helena Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Paris Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Mosaic Templars Cultural Center slipcover removal grants historic telephone booth Pike County Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas free historic preservation workshop downtown economic development free history tours Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Conway County Library Main Street Dumas Free Lesson Plan 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Burdette Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Main Street Ozark Erbie Arkansas Ozark Farming historic resort communities St. Francis County Historical Society Montgomery County Courthouse Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Main Street Batesville historic architecture National Register of Historic Places International-Style Architecture Arkansas religious history Arkansas Humanities Council Burdette Plantation Mid-Century Modern Architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Newton County Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Downtown Revitalization Grants Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Duck Hunting Skillern House Elias Camp Morris Bogg Springs Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Freedom Park 13th Amendment Renaissance Revival Architecture White County Courthouse Abolition of Slavery Arkansas Business History Delta Cultural Center Arkansas History Lesson Plans Monsanto Chemical Corporation Rosston Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Walks Through History Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops most endangered historic places Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Henry Koen Office Building Main Street Texarkana Rustic Architecture Arkansas Preservation Awards Booneville Historical Preservation Society Evelyn Gill Walker House Let Freedom Ring Trail of Tears in Arkansas Camden Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program 19th Century Road Construction Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Monroe County Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Historic County Courthouses Forrest City Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Edgar Monsanto Queeny Free Courthouse Poster steel window restoration workshop Three States Lumber Company Booneville Arkansas Wingmead Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Cemetery Preservation Library Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Camden Public Library Montgomery County Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Freedmen's Bureau downtown revitalization Ouachita County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Sunken Lands Turner Restoration Camden to Washington Road National Historic Landmark Polk County Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council free teacher resources Gothic Revival architecture Roe Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Tolbert Gill Dionicio Rodriguez "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Morrilton Arkansas Benton Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Kiblah School Prairie County Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Craftsman style architecture Bogg Springs Hotel