Sandwiching in History to Visit Lake Nixon

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, April 23, 2018


The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit Lake Nixon at 18500 Cooper Orbit Road in Little Rock at noon on Friday, May 4.

Lake Nixon is associated with a national-level desegregation case, decided by the United States Supreme Court in 1969, that set the precedent barring discrimination at entertainment and recreation establishments, which were found to be subject to Title II of the 1964 Civil Rights Act. The continued fight over desegregation at Lake Nixon continued to show how civil rights were being infringed upon in the Little Rock area, even after landmark decisions like the integration of Little Rock Central High School in 1957. Lake Nixon was listed on the National Register of Historic Places on June 5, 2017.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. Participants are encouraged to bring their lunches with them. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2018 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be June 1, Maumelle Ordnance Works Bunker #4, 4 Willastein Drive, Maumelle; July 6, William E. Woodruff House, 1017 East Eighth Street, Little Rock; August 3, National Old Line Building, 501 Woodlane Street, Little Rock; September 7, Matthews-Storey House, 8115 Ascension Lane, Little Rock; October 5, Rock Island Argenta Depot, 1201 East Fourth Street, North Little Rock; November 2, Mary H. Matthews Lustron House, 5021 Maryland Avenue, Little Rock, and December 7, Curran Hall,615 East Capitol Avenue, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, or send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.


Recent Posts


Booneville Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Bogg Springs Hotel Henry Koen Office Building free history tours Miller County Saline County Arkansas Barney Elias House Arkansas Preservation Awards Erbie Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Trail of Tears in Arkansas Houston Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Mid-Century Modern Architecture Prairie County Arkansas Camden Public Library Sandwiching in History Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Skillern House Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Madison County Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas 13th Amendment Duck Hunting Clarendon Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Free Lesson Plan Civilian Conservation Corps Wingmead Main Street Batesville Polk County Arkansas Paris Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Main Street Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Cemetery Preservation Library Conway County Library Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Freedmen's Bureau Huntsville Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Pope County Courthouse Flood Control Main Street Dumas Rosenwald Schools Bogg Springs Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Nevada County Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Camden to Washington Road Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Ouachita County Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Craftsman style architecture historic telephone booth cemetery preservsation Forrest City Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Ozark Farming Booneville Historical Preservation Society Dionicio Rodriguez Montgomery County Courthouse Little Rock Central High School Burdette Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Arkansas History Lesson Plans St. Francis County Historical Society Historic Preservation Alliance Main Street Texarkana Kiblah School downtown revitalization Pope County Arkansas News Release "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Centennial Baptist Church Renaissance Revival Architecture Tolbert Gill Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Evelyn Gill Walker House Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Leake-Ingham Building Free Courthouse Poster Historic County Courthouses Sunken Lands Dr. Ruth Hawkins Rosston Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Burdette Plantation Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Arkansas Historic Preservation Forrest City Cemetery Pike County Courthouse Civil Works Administration Arkansas Register of Historic Places free teacher resources Roe Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Perry County Arkansas Arkansas History Main Street Siloam Springs County courthouse Restoration Grants Turner Restoration Arkansas Humanities Council White County Courthouse Tudor Revival Architecture Pike County Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Mississippi County Arkansas historic resort communities Main Street Ozark Main Street Searcy National Historic Landmark Rustic Architecture Phillips County Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Freedom Park Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Destination Downtown Conference Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Art Deco Architecture Delta Cultural Center 19th Century Road Construction Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola International-Style Architecture Poinsett County Arkansas Helena Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Fayetteville Arkansas most endangered historic places Camden Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons U.S. Army Corps of Engineers American Legion African American education historic architecture downtown economic development Gothic Revival architecture Monroe County Courthouse Arkansas religious history 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Benton Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Doddridge Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture National Register of Historic Arkansas Business History Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Abolition of Slavery Arkansas Railroad History Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Historic Preservation Restoration Grants slipcover removal grants Elias Camp Morris Buffalo National River Huntsville Commercial Historic District Edgar Monsanto Queeny cemetery preservation U.S. Forest Service Folk Victorian Architecture Walks Through History