Sandwiching in History to Visit Lamar Porter Athletic Field

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, August 24, 2018

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit the Lamar Porter Athletic Field at Seventh and Johnson streets in Little Rock at noon on Friday, September 7.

Construction on the field by the federal Works Progress Administration began in fall 1934, and it took 18 months for the complex to reach completion. The total cost of the project was $122,244.53. When the complex was complete, its features included a regulation baseball diamond, a 1,500-seat grandstand complete with club rooms, shower and restrooms and a concession. It was first used by Boys Club teams in 1936 and the first night game was held in August 1941, when Young’s Tire of North Little Rock defeated Craig’s of Little Rock, 3-2. Hall of Fame ballplayer Brooks Robinson played baseball at Lamar Porter Athletic Field when he was a child. The field is owned by the Billy Mitchell Boys and Girls Club.

This is a different location than originally scheduled for the September Sandwiching in History tour. The Matthews-Storey House at 8115 Ascension Road in Little Rock was damaged by storms in mid-July, so the new location was selected.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. Participants are encouraged to bring their lunches with them. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2018 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be October 5, Rock Island Argenta Depot, 1201 East Fourth Street, North Little Rock; November 2, Mary H. Matthews Lustron House, 5021 Maryland Avenue, Little Rock, and December 7, Curran Hall,615 East Capitol Avenue, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, or send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Arkansas Railroad History U.S. Forest Service historic telephone booth White County Courthouse Mississippi Main Street Association Pope County Arkansas African American education Freedom Park Cemetery Preservation Library Let Freedom Ring Russellville Arkansas Kiblah School Main Street Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Arkansas Register of Historic Places Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Folk Victorian Architecture New Century Club of Camden Skillern House Elias Camp Morris Booneville Historical Preservation Society Civilian Conservation Corps Monsanto Chemical Corporation Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Bogg Springs Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Arkansas Humanities Council Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Naturalistic Architecture Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Marked Tree Lock and Siphons 13th Amendment Perry County Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Main Street Siloam Springs Poinsett County Arkansas most endangered historic places Mid-Century Modern Architecture Main Street Searcy National Register of Historic Prairie County Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Huntsville Commercial Historic District Pulaski County Courthouse Dr. Ruth Hawkins North Little Rock Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Dionicio Rodriguez Main Street Texarkana Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Centennial Baptist Church Phillips County Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans American Legion Arkansas Historic Preservation Historic County Courthouses Clarendon Arkansas Abolition of Slavery cemetery preservsation Nevada County Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas slipcover removal grants Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Rosston Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas free teacher resources Conway County Library Montgomery County Courthouse International-Style Architecture Flood Control Polk County Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Buffalo National River Monroe County Courthouse Arkansas Design Network Rustic Architecture National Register of Historic Places Main Street Batesville Duck Hunting Renaissance Revival Architecture Walks Through History free historic preservation workshop Arkansas Business History Little Rock Central High School Ouachita County Arkansas Barney Elias House County courthouse Restoration Grants Louisiana Main Street program Bogg Springs Hotel Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery cemetery preservation Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Downtown Revitalization Grants Paris Arkansas Wingmead National Historic Landmark historic resort communities Arkansas African American Civil War History Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Doddridge Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot historic Arkansas properties Camden Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Sandwiching in History Burdette Plantation News Release Montgomery County Arkansas Civil Works Administration Arkansas Preservation Awards Sunken Lands Three States Lumber Company Fayetteville Arkansas Arkansas religious history Henry Koen Office Building Pike County Courthouse Booneville Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Cumberland Presbyterian Church Turner Restoration Pike County Arkansas free history tours Tolbert Gill Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Freedmen's Bureau Burdette Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Camden Public Library Tudor Revival Architecture Real Estate Transfer Tax Edgar Monsanto Queeny downtown revitalization downtown economic development Main Street Dumas Pope County Courthouse Roe Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Miller County Monroe County Arkansas Helena Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Arkansas History 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Evelyn Gill Walker House Houston Arkansas Main Street Ozark Ozark Farming Camden to Washington Road Morrilton Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Historic Preservation Alliance Huntsville Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Mississippi County Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Benton Arkansas historic architecture St. Francis County Historical Society