‘Sandwiching in History’ to Visit Little Rock Fire Station

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, January 05, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s first “Sandwiching in History” tour of 2015 will visit Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 at 1201 S. Commerce Street on January 9, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

Located in the MacArthur Park Historic District, Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 was built in 1917 and served as a fire station until the late 1950s. The Craftsman-style building was constructed with a mixture of materials. It features exposed rafter tails, false half-timbering, and triangular knee braces under the eaves. The old firehouse is currently being converted into a 30-bed hostel and museum.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. Participants are encouraged to bring their lunches with them. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2015 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held February 6, Matthews-Clauson-McCullough House, 10226 Miller Road, Sherwood; March 6, Old U.S. Post Office and Courthouse, 300 West Second Street, Little Rock; April 3, Lynch Apartments, 523 Orange Street, North Little Rock; May 8, Dan Stowers Office Building, 1516 West Third Street, Little Rock; June 5, St. Edward Catholic Church, 801 Sherman Street, Little Rock; July 10, North Little Rock City Hall, 300 Main Street, North Little Rock; August 7, Oak Forest United Methodist Church, 2415 Fair Park Boulevard, Little Rock; September 4, Shiloh Baptist Church, 1200 Hanger Street, Little Rock; October 2, White-Baucum House, 201 South Izard Street, Little Rock; November 6, Thomas M. Clifton House, 1423 South Summit Street, Little Rock; and December 4, Mandlebaum-Pfeifer House, 908 South Scott Street, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 323 Center St., Suite 1500, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Louisiana Main Street program Kiblah School Montgomery County Arkansas slipcover removal grants North Little Rock Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Booneville Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Booneville Historical Preservation Society Main Street Ozark Cumberland Presbyterian Church Mississippi County Arkansas most endangered historic places Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Main Street Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Sunken Lands Arkansas Historic Preservation downtown revitalization Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission cemetery preservation Forrest City Cemetery Erbie Arkansas Main Street Dumas Polk County Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Wingmead St. Francis County Historical Society Huntsville Commercial Historic District Houston Arkansas Arkansas History Mississippi Main Street Association Little Rock Central High School Destination Downtown Conference Nevada County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Pike County Courthouse Fayetteville Arkansas International-Style Architecture Miller County U.S. Forest Service Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Roe Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas downtown economic development Huntsville Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Edgar Monsanto Queeny Dionicio Rodriguez Free Lesson Plan Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Buffalo National River Tolbert Gill Renaissance Revival Architecture Forrest City Arkansas American Legion Camden Public Library Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Abolition of Slavery free teacher resources Ouachita County Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Rustic Architecture Turner Restoration Civilian Conservation Corps Arkansas State University Heritage Sites News Release Arkansas religious history Art Deco Architecture Bogg Springs Hotel Historic County Courthouses cemetery preservsation Tudor Revival Architecture Arkansas African American Civil War History Main Street Siloam Springs Arkansas Business History Pope County Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Historic Preservation Restoration Grants historic resort communities Elias Camp Morris Sandwiching in History Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Main Street Batesville Arkansas History Lesson Plans Gothic Revival architecture Newton County Arkansas 13th Amendment Cemetery Preservation Library Three States Lumber Company Pulaski County Courthouse Trail of Tears in Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Dr. Ruth Hawkins Benton Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Helena Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum historic architecture Bogg Springs Arkansas free historic preservation workshop White County Courthouse Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Saline County Arkansas Burdette Plantation Rosston Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South New Century Club of Camden Skillern House Burdette Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse National Historic Landmark Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House National Register of Historic Places Free Courthouse Poster Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas Design Network Civil Works Administration Clarendon Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Morrilton Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Leake-Ingham Building Duck Hunting Prairie County Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Paris Arkansas Freedom Park Montgomery County Courthouse Arkansas Register of Historic Places Craftsman style architecture Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Henry Koen Office Building Rosenwald Schools Conway County Library Real Estate Transfer Tax Walks Through History Monroe County Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Let Freedom Ring Arkansas Preservation Awards free history tours "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Russellville Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Main Street Texarkana Ozark Farming Arkansas Humanities Council Phillips County Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Camden Arkansas National Register of Historic Pike County Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District African American education Mid-Century Modern Architecture Flood Control Arkansas Railroad History steel window restoration workshop Barney Elias House County courthouse Restoration Grants historic telephone booth Main Street Searcy