Sandwiching in History to Visit Markham Street United Methodist Church

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, January 19, 2018

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit Markham Street United Methodist Church at 9820 West Markham Street in Little Rock at noon on Friday, February 2.

Nestled in among scores of ranch houses sits the former Markham Street United Methodist Church, now Faith United Methodist Church. Designed by the Little Rock firm of Cowling & Roark, the church was constructed in 1966 and sat on the western edge of the city. The church stands as one of the most unique Frank Lloyd Wright-inspired churches in the city. It features design elements taken from Wright’s famous Prairie Style architecture and his little-known American System-built “prefab” designs.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. Participants are encouraged to bring their lunches with them. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2018 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held March 2, Block Realty-Couch House, 8 Armistead Road, Little Rock; April 6, Dr. Charles Kennedy House, 6 Edenwood Lane, North Little Rock; May 4, Lake Nixon, 18500 Cooper Orbit Road, Little Rock; June 1, Maumelle Ordnance Works Bunker #4, 4 Willastein Drive, Maumelle; July 6, William E. Woodruff House, 1017 East Eighth Street, Little Rock; August 3, National Old Line Building, 501 Woodlane Street, Little Rock; September 7, Matthews-Storey House, 8115 Ascension Lane, Little Rock; October 5, Rock Island Argenta Depot, 1201 East Fourth Street, North Little Rock; November 2, Mary H. Matthews Lustron House, 5021 Maryland Avenue, Little Rock, and December 7, Curran Hall, 615 East Capitol Avenue, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, or send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Mid-Century Modern Architecture cemetery preservation Centennial Baptist Church Arkansas Historic Preservation historic telephone booth Arkansas African American Civil War History Huntsville Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Marked Tree Arkansas American Legion Main Street Texarkana Dr. Ruth Hawkins Main Street Searcy New Century Club of Camden Renaissance Revival Architecture Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission National Historic Landmark Saline County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Monroe County Arkansas Buffalo National River free history tours downtown revitalization Arkansas History 13th Amendment Rustic Architecture Sandwiching in History Booneville Historical Preservation Society Naturalistic Architecture Historic County Courthouses Monroe County Courthouse County courthouse Restoration Grants U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Louisiana Main Street program Barney Elias House Nevada County Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola historic resort communities Miller County Benton Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Madison County Arkansas Main Street Batesville Erbie Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Historic Preservation Restoration Grants News Release Arkansas Business History Skillern House Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Arkansas Railroad History Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Tudor Revival Architecture Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Bogg Springs Arkansas historic architecture Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Bogg Springs Hotel Burdette Arkansas Civil Works Administration Arkansas Register of Historic Places Main Street Dumas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Gothic Revival architecture free teacher resources Evelyn Gill Walker House Prairie County Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Camden Public Library Rosenwald Schools Wingmead Main Street Siloam Springs Huntsville Commercial Historic District Rosston Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Folk Victorian Architecture Walks Through History Ozark Farming historic Arkansas properties Perry County Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas slipcover removal grants Booneville Arkansas cemetery preservsation Forrest City Cemetery Arkansas religious history Sunken Lands Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Polk County Arkansas White County Courthouse Kiblah School Cemetery Preservation Library Destination Downtown Conference Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Real Estate Transfer Tax Free Courthouse Poster Flood Control Henry Koen Office Building Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Edgar Monsanto Queeny National Register of Historic Places African American education International-Style Architecture Montgomery County Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Tolbert Gill Turner Restoration Leake-Ingham Building Doddridge Arkansas Roe Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Forrest City Arkansas downtown economic development Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Marked Tree Lock and Siphons free historic preservation workshop Main Street Ozark Camden to Washington Road Craftsman style architecture Arkansas Design Network Arkansas History Lesson Plans Conway County Library Russellville Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Morrilton Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse most endangered historic places "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Paris Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Freedmen's Bureau Houston Arkansas National Register of Historic Camden Arkansas Burdette Plantation Dionicio Rodriguez Abolition of Slavery Mississippi County Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Phillips County Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Free Lesson Plan Freedom Park Arkansas Preservation Awards Art Deco Architecture Civilian Conservation Corps Montgomery County Courthouse Little Rock Central High School U.S. Forest Service steel window restoration workshop Duck Hunting Clarendon Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Helena Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Pike County Courthouse Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council