Sandwiching in History to Visit Maumelle Munitions Bunker

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, May 18, 2018

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit Maumelle Ordnance Works Bunker #4 at 4 Willastein Drive at noon on Friday, June 1.

Maumelle Ordnance Works Bunker #4 was one of 21 bunkers constructed in Maumelle as part of the Maumelle Ordnance Works built between 1941 and 1942. The bunkers were built for production of picric acid and ammonium picrate for use during World War II. In 1945 production of picric acid and ammonium picrate ceased and the plant was slated for decontamination. In subsequent years all but three of the twenty-one bunkers have been destroyed. The bunker was listed on the National Register of Historic Places on May 4, 2006.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. Participants are encouraged to bring their lunches with them. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2018 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be July 6, William E. Woodruff House, 1017 East Eighth Street, Little Rock; August 3, National Old Line Building, 501 Woodlane Street, Little Rock; September 7, Matthews-Storey House, 8115 Ascension Lane, Little Rock; October 5, Rock Island Argenta Depot, 1201 East Fourth Street, North Little Rock; November 2, Mary H. Matthews Lustron House, 5021 Maryland Avenue, Little Rock, and December 7, Curran Hall,615 East Capitol Avenue, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, or send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Huntsville Commercial Historic District Main Street Ozark Benton Arkansas Ozark Farming free historic preservation workshop Freedom Park Centennial Baptist Church Forrest City Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Sandwiching in History Arkansas Historic Preservation Monroe County Courthouse free history tours Fayetteville Arkansas Burdette Arkansas 13th Amendment Mississippi County Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Edgar Monsanto Queeny Barney Elias House historic architecture Main Street Dumas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Duck Hunting National Register of Historic Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council cemetery preservsation Nevada County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites slipcover removal grants steel window restoration workshop Doddridge Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Phillips County Arkansas Arkansas History Polk County Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Marked Tree Lock and Siphons African American education Free Courthouse Poster Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Newton County Arkansas Camden Public Library Elias Camp Morris U.S. Forest Service Dr. Ruth Hawkins Historic Preservation Restoration Grants National Register of Historic Places Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Arkansas Preservation Awards Downtown Revitalization Grants American Legion Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Houston Arkansas Arkansas religious history Rosenwald Schools Three States Lumber Company Art Deco Architecture Clarendon Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places downtown revitalization Ouachita County Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Naturalistic Architecture Main Street Batesville White County Courthouse Camden to Washington Road Folk Victorian Architecture Walks Through History Arkansas Humanities Council historic Arkansas properties Little Rock Central High School Paris Arkansas Buffalo National River Arkansas African American Civil War History downtown economic development New Century Club of Camden Turner Restoration most endangered historic places Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Tudor Revival Architecture Erbie Arkansas Wingmead Main Street Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Delta Cultural Center County courthouse Restoration Grants Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Destination Downtown Conference Arkansas Business History Burdette Plantation Kiblah School Flood Control Mississippi Main Street Association Louisiana Main Street program Helena Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Montgomery County Courthouse Rustic Architecture Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Pope County Courthouse Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Pike County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance cemetery preservation Tolbert Gill Henry Koen Office Building Russellville Arkansas Main Street Searcy historic telephone booth Roe Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Renaissance Revival Architecture Cumberland Presbyterian Church Prairie County Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Conway County Library Rosston Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas free teacher resources Monroe County Arkansas historic resort communities Skillern House Abolition of Slavery Arkansas Design Network 19th Century Road Construction International-Style Architecture Bogg Springs Hotel News Release Main Street Texarkana Pulaski County Courthouse Freedmen's Bureau Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Bogg Springs Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Miller County Monsanto Chemical Corporation Gothic Revival architecture Civil Works Administration National Historic Landmark Free Lesson Plan Camden Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Perry County Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Leake-Ingham Building Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Evelyn Gill Walker House Trail of Tears in Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Poinsett County Arkansas Sunken Lands Pope County Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Booneville Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Forrest City Cemetery Morrilton Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Historic County Courthouses 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation