'Sandwiching in History' Tour Postponed Unitl March 13

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, March 05, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s “Sandwiching in History” tour of the Old U.S. Post Office and Courthouse at 300 West Second Street in Little Rock originally scheduled for March 6 has been postponed until March 13 because of inclement weather, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

Completed in 1881, this Renaissance Revival-style building served as a post office, federal courthouse, and customs house until 1932. The Old Post Office and Courthouse was declared federal surplus property in 1975. It was later renovated by the State of Arkansas to house the UALR Law School. In the early 1990s, the building was returned to the federal government. It was beautifully restored to accommodate the U.S. Bankruptcy Court. Attendees will have to go through a security checkpoint, which may take extra time so early arrival is recommended.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. Participants are encouraged to bring their lunches with them.

The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2015 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held April 3, Lynch Apartments, 523 Orange Street, North Little Rock; May 8, Dan Stowers Office Building, 1516 West Third Street, Little Rock; June 5, St. Edward Catholic Church, 801 Sherman Street, Little Rock; July 10, North Little Rock City Hall, 300 Main Street, North Little Rock; August 7, Oak Forest United Methodist Church, 2415 Fair Park Boulevard, Little Rock; September 4, Shiloh Baptist Church, 1200 Hanger Street, Little Rock; October 2, White-Baucum House, 201 South Izard Street, Little Rock; November 6, Thomas M. Clifton House, 1423 South Summit Street, Little Rock; and December 4, Mandlebaum-Pfeifer House, 908 South Scott Street, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 323 Center St., Suite 1500, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Sandwiching in History Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Flood Control steel window restoration workshop White County Courthouse Sunken Lands most endangered historic places Arkansas Humanities Council Madison County Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas Register of Historic Places News Release Freedmen's Bureau National Register of Historic Places Let Freedom Ring Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Monroe County Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Perry County Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Arkansas History Lesson Plans Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Three States Lumber Company Arkansas religious history Pope County Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Clarendon Arkansas historic resort communities Arkansas Preservation Awards Monsanto Chemical Corporation Cumberland Presbyterian Church Leake-Ingham Building County courthouse Restoration Grants Destination Downtown Conference Dionicio Rodriguez U.S. Forest Service Marked Tree Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Helena Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Centennial Baptist Church Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Arkansas State University Heritage Sites "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Phillips County Arkansas Kiblah School Booneville Historical Preservation Society Main Street Ozark free history tours Newton County Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Montgomery County Courthouse downtown revitalization Main Street Batesville downtown economic development Montgomery County Arkansas American Legion Main Street Texarkana Forrest City Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Paris Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Elias Camp Morris Louisiana Main Street program Camden to Washington Road Nevada County Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Burdette Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Arkansas Business History Barney Elias House Henry Koen Office Building Civil Works Administration Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Craftsman style architecture historic telephone booth Fayetteville Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Doddridge Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Miller County Art Deco Architecture Little Rock Central High School Walks Through History Benton Arkansas Turner Restoration Historic Preservation Alliance Huntsville Commercial Historic District Conway County Library National Historic Landmark Main Street Searcy cemetery preservsation Abolition of Slavery Ozark Farming Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Arkansas Design Network Mississippi County Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Free Lesson Plan Main Street Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Polk County Arkansas cemetery preservation Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Poinsett County Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Camden Public Library Pike County Arkansas 13th Amendment Delta Cultural Center Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Burdette Plantation New Century Club of Camden Camden Arkansas slipcover removal grants Tolbert Gill 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Saline County Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Monroe County Courthouse Duck Hunting Gothic Revival architecture U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Ouachita County Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture free teacher resources Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Bogg Springs Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Tudor Revival Architecture Arkansas African American Civil War History Houston Arkansas Buffalo National River Arkansas History Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola International-Style Architecture Rosenwald Schools Huntsville Arkansas historic architecture Civilian Conservation Corps African American education Wingmead Main Street Dumas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Evelyn Gill Walker House 19th Century Road Construction Russellville Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Renaissance Revival Architecture Rustic Architecture National Register of Historic Skillern House Morrilton Arkansas Roe Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation St. Francis County Historical Society free historic preservation workshop Freedom Park Erbie Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission