‘Sandwiching in History’ Tour Postponed Until March 13

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, March 05, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s “Sandwiching in History” tour of the Old U.S. Post Office and Courthouse at 300 West Second Street in Little Rock originally scheduled for March 6 has been postponed until March 13 because of inclement weather, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

Completed in 1881, this Renaissance Revival-style building served as a post office, federal courthouse, and customs house until 1932. The Old Post Office and Courthouse was declared federal surplus property in 1975. It was later renovated by the State of Arkansas to house the UALR Law School. In the early 1990s, the building was returned to the federal government. It was beautifully restored to accommodate the U.S. Bankruptcy Court. Attendees will have to go through a security checkpoint, which may take extra time so early arrival is recommended.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. Participants are encouraged to bring their lunches with them.The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2015 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held April 3, Lynch Apartments, 523 Orange Street, North Little Rock; May 8, Dan Stowers Office Building, 1516 West Third Street, Little Rock; June 5, St. Edward Catholic Church, 801 Sherman Street, Little Rock; July 10, North Little Rock City Hall, 300 Main Street, North Little Rock; August 7, Oak Forest United Methodist Church, 2415 Fair Park Boulevard, Little Rock; September 4, Shiloh Baptist Church, 1200 Hanger Street, Little Rock; October 2, White-Baucum House, 201 South Izard Street, Little Rock; November 6, Thomas M. Clifton House, 1423 South Summit Street, Little Rock; and December 4, Mandlebaum-Pfeifer House, 908 South Scott Street, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 323 Center St., Suite 1500, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Elias Camp Morris Houston Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Cumberland Presbyterian Church Pike County Courthouse Miller County Phillips County Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Naturalistic Architecture Monroe County Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Downtown Revitalization Grants 19th Century Road Construction Main Street Searcy Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Historic County Courthouses Huntsville Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Tolbert Gill Russellville Arkansas Burdette Plantation County courthouse Restoration Grants Arkansas Preservation Awards Civilian Conservation Corps Henry Koen Office Building Main Street Ozark free historic preservation workshop Arkansas Humanities Council International-Style Architecture Main Street Dumas Dionicio Rodriguez Rosston Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Doddridge Arkansas Perry County Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society White County Courthouse Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Craftsman style architecture Camden Arkansas News Release Pope County Courthouse Conway County Library steel window restoration workshop Barney Elias House Pope County Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Main Street Batesville New Century Club of Camden Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Roe Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax slipcover removal grants African American education U.S. Forest Service U.S. Army Corps of Engineers downtown revitalization Renaissance Revival Architecture Marked Tree Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Clarendon Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Arkansas History Lesson Plans Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Pulaski County Courthouse Arkansas Historic Preservation Rosenwald Schools Ozark Farming National Register of Historic Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Helena Arkansas Abolition of Slavery Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Free Courthouse Poster Paris Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Rustic Architecture Wingmead historic telephone booth American Legion Mississippi Main Street Association Buffalo National River Destination Downtown Conference Evelyn Gill Walker House Edgar Monsanto Queeny Booneville Historical Preservation Society Walks Through History Art Deco Architecture Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Main Street Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Duck Hunting Let Freedom Ring Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Arkansas History Morrilton Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Freedom Park Camden to Washington Road Tudor Revival Architecture Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Leake-Ingham Building Three States Lumber Company Montgomery County Courthouse Newton County Arkansas Civil Works Administration Bogg Springs Hotel Cemetery Preservation Library Little Rock Central High School Turner Restoration Mississippi County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Arkansas Railroad History Bogg Springs Arkansas Arkansas Business History cemetery preservation Benton Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons historic resort communities Louisiana Main Street program Erbie Arkansas Skillern House Poinsett County Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Trail of Tears in Arkansas free history tours Montgomery County Arkansas cemetery preservsation Mid-Century Modern Architecture Polk County Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Kiblah School National Register of Historic Places Arkansas Design Network Delta Cultural Center Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council historic Arkansas properties National Historic Landmark 13th Amendment Nevada County Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Camden Public Library Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Main Street Texarkana downtown economic development Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola free teacher resources Main Street Siloam Springs Flood Control Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas historic architecture Arkansas Register of Historic Places Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Forrest City Cemetery 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Arkansas religious history Centennial Baptist Church Burdette Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Sunken Lands Gothic Revival architecture Fayetteville Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Sandwiching in History most endangered historic places