Sandwiching in History Tour to Visit Carmelite Convent

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, May 19, 2017


LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit the Carmelite Convent and Chapel at 7201 West 32nd Street on Friday, June 2.

The Carmelite Monastery of St. Teresa of Jesus is the home of the Discalced Carmelite Nuns of Little Rock, a cloistered community of women in the Roman Catholic Church. The monastery is autonomous but belongs to a worldwide order composed of both men and women. The principal mission of the Carmelites is service of the Church through a life of union with God in prayer. Ground was broken in October 1960 for the current facility at 7201 West 32rd Street, and the sisters moved in the following year. Since that time, the sisters have been given eighteen more acres of land. A small infirmary wing was built in the fall of 1999.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2017 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held July 7, Albert Pike Hotel, 701 Scott Street, Little Rock; August 4, Acme Brick, 301 South Victory Street, Little Rock; September 1, Park Hill Fire Station and Water Company Complex, 3417-3421 Magnolia Street, North Little Rock; October 6, Gustave Kleinschmidt House, 621 East 16th Street, Little Rock; November 3, Pulaski County Courthouse, 401 West Markham Street, Little Rock, and December 1, Little Rock City Hall, 500 West Markham Street, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.


Recent Posts


Arkansas History Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Civilian Conservation Corps Rosston Arkansas Wingmead Main Street Arkansas National Historic Landmark Benton Arkansas Barney Elias House Cemetery Preservation Library Nevada County Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Pike County Courthouse Burdette Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Houston Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Cumberland Presbyterian Church Madison County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Tolbert Gill Turner Restoration Burdette Plantation Polk County Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Helena Arkansas New Century Club of Camden North Little Rock Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Rosenwald Schools most endangered historic places Montgomery County Courthouse Pope County Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Tudor Revival Architecture International-Style Architecture Monsanto Chemical Corporation Poinsett County Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Camden Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Sunken Lands free history tours Pope County Courthouse cemetery preservsation Sandwiching in History Perry County Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Let Freedom Ring Roe Arkansas Walks Through History Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Monroe County Courthouse Downtown Revitalization Grants Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Bogg Springs Hotel Art Deco Architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Program historic resort communities Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Miller County U.S. Forest Service U.S. Army Corps of Engineers National Register of Historic Forrest City Cemetery Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Arkansas religious history free historic preservation workshop 13th Amendment Conway County Library Leake-Ingham Building Mid-Century Modern Architecture Free Lesson Plan Arkansas History Lesson Plans Naturalistic Architecture Pulaski County Courthouse County courthouse Restoration Grants Morrilton Arkansas historic telephone booth Arkansas Design Network News Release historic architecture Freedom Park Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Mississippi Main Street Association American Legion Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Centennial Baptist Church Civil Works Administration Arkansas Historic Preservation Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Historic Preservation Alliance Booneville Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Henry Koen Office Building Duck Hunting Huntsville Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Clarendon Arkansas Ozark Farming Skillern House downtown economic development Louisiana Main Street program St. Francis County Historical Society Erbie Arkansas Main Street Ozark Fayetteville Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Arkansas African American Civil War History Main Street Siloam Springs Paris Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Three States Lumber Company cemetery preservation Gothic Revival architecture slipcover removal grants Newton County Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Main Street Dumas Delta Cultural Center Flood Control "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Arkansas Register of Historic Places Forrest City Arkansas Camden Public Library Kiblah School 19th Century Road Construction Real Estate Transfer Tax Phillips County Arkansas Main Street Searcy Mississippi County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Abolition of Slavery Main Street Batesville Ouachita County Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Main Street Texarkana 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation free teacher resources Booneville Historical Preservation Society downtown revitalization Arkansas Preservation Awards Arkansas Humanities Council White County Courthouse historic Arkansas properties African American education Edgar Monsanto Queeny Dr. Ruth Hawkins Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Arkansas Business History Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Freedmen's Bureau Dionicio Rodriguez Rustic Architecture Monroe County Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Elias Camp Morris Huntsville Commercial Historic District Buffalo National River Montgomery County Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Arkansas Railroad History Trail of Tears in Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas