Sandwiching in History Tour to Visit NLR’s Lynch Apartments

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, March 23, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit the Lynch Apartments at 523 Orange Street in North Little Rock on April 3, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

Located in the Argenta Historic District, the Craftsman-style Lynch Apartments were built in 1926 by Jimmy and Theresa Lynch. The ten-unit apartment building catered to local railroad and mill employees. The Lynch Apartments were recently restored with the help of federal and state historic rehabilitation tax credits. The building again provides ten rental units in the heart of downtown North Little Rock.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. Participants are encouraged to bring their lunches with them.

The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2015 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held May 8, Dan Stowers Office Building, 1516 West Third Street, Little Rock; June 5, St. Edward Catholic Church, 801 Sherman Street, Little Rock; July 10, North Little Rock City Hall, 300 Main Street, North Little Rock; August 7, Oak Forest United Methodist Church, 2415 Fair Park Boulevard, Little Rock; September 4, Shiloh Baptist Church, 1200 Hanger Street, Little Rock; October 2, White-Baucum House, 201 South Izard Street, Little Rock; November 6, Thomas M. Clifton House, 1423 South Summit Street, Little Rock; and December 4, Mandlebaum-Pfeifer House, 908 South Scott Street, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 323 Center St., Suite 1500, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Rustic Architecture Arkansas History Lesson Plans Historic Preservation Alliance Arkansas Humanities Council Skillern House Arkansas History Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Pope County Courthouse Poinsett County Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Turner Restoration Tolbert Gill Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Edgar Monsanto Queeny Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Louisiana Main Street program free historic preservation workshop Madison County Arkansas Arkansas religious history downtown revitalization Huntsville Commercial Historic District Civil Works Administration Rosenwald Schools Pike County Courthouse Cumberland Presbyterian Church International-Style Architecture historic resort communities most endangered historic places Prairie County Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Marked Tree Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Mid-Century Modern Architecture free teacher resources Main Street Dumas Tudor Revival Architecture Folk Victorian Architecture Bogg Springs Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas cemetery preservsation Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Russellville Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Perry County Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants slipcover removal grants Main Street Arkansas Wingmead Abolition of Slavery Freedmen's Bureau Monroe County Courthouse Sandwiching in History National Register of Historic Ozark Farming cemetery preservation Burdette Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Fayetteville Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Dionicio Rodriguez Centennial Baptist Church downtown economic development Art Deco Architecture "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Kiblah School Arkansas Business History Nevada County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Arkansas Historic Preservation Camden Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Camden Public Library 19th Century Road Construction Roe Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission U.S. Forest Service Benton Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Houston Arkansas Duck Hunting North Little Rock Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Monsanto Chemical Corporation Leake-Ingham Building Booneville Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Walks Through History Cemetery Preservation Library Main Street Searcy Conway County Library Trail of Tears in Arkansas Main Street Ozark 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Newton County Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Three States Lumber Company free history tours Phillips County Arkansas African American education Let Freedom Ring Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Bogg Springs Hotel Camden to Washington Road Forrest City Arkansas National Register of Historic Places New Century Club of Camden Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Barney Elias House Polk County Arkansas Flood Control White County Courthouse Real Estate Transfer Tax historic architecture Main Street Texarkana Naturalistic Architecture Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut News Release Pulaski County Courthouse Free Courthouse Poster Sunken Lands Buffalo National River St. Francis County Historical Society Elias Camp Morris Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Booneville Historical Preservation Society Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Main Street Siloam Springs Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Pope County Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Civilian Conservation Corps Erbie Arkansas Freedom Park Miller County Evelyn Gill Walker House historic Arkansas properties Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Dr. Ruth Hawkins Arkansas Design Network Renaissance Revival Architecture Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Paris Arkansas 13th Amendment Destination Downtown Conference Delta Cultural Center Rosston Arkansas American Legion Free Lesson Plan Gothic Revival architecture Clarendon Arkansas Burdette Plantation Main Street Batesville Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District historic telephone booth Arkansas Register of Historic Places Montgomery County Arkansas Helena Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas National Historic Landmark Arkansas African American Civil War History