State Review Board to Meet

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, March 09, 2020


Arkansas Historic Preservation Program announces a public meeting of the State Review Board at 10 a.m. April 1, 2020 at Arkansas Heritage at 1100 North Street, Little Rock. The meeting will focus on properties being proposed for the National Register of Historic Places as well as delisting several properties.  

Properties proposed for delisting include:

Mary H. Matthews Lustron House, located with a Certified Local Government (CLG), Little Rock (Pulaski County)

Highway 79 Bridge, Clarendon (Monroe County)

Maxie Theatre, Trumann (Poinsett County)

A property may be delisted when a structure is physically moved or destroyed, such as the case of the removal of the Highway 79 Bridge. An owner may wish to do non-historical renovations to the exterior of the building and change the building’s character, which may prompt a delisting.

The board will address a proposed move of the Latimore Tourist Home, located with a CLG, in Russellville (Pope County). In order for the property to remain listed, the physical move of the structure must be approved by the National Park Service, which oversees the National Register.

Properties being proposed for National Register of Historic Places listings include:

Boy Scouts of America Building, located with a CLG, Little Rock (Pulaski County)

International Harvester Servicenter, located with a CLG, Benton (Saline County)

Prescott & Northwestern Railroad Caboose #3, Prescott (Nevada County)

Snowball Gymnasium, Snowball (Searcy County)

Frank and Eva Barnes “Granny” Henderson Farm, Compton vicinity (Newton County)

Flowers Cabin, Compton vicinity (Newton County)

Galatia Church, Norfork (Baxter County)

Mashburn House, located with a CLG, Fayetteville (Washington County)

Fair Park Golf Course, located with a CLG, Little Rock, Pulaski County

Hindman Hall, Prairie Grove (Washington County)

Elm Springs Cemetery, Historic Section, Elm Springs (Washington County)

Shaw-Blair House, Lowell (Benton County)

The State Review Board is made up of Chair Dr. Ann Early and Vice Chair Bob Kempkes along with Dr. Rodney Harris, Carl Miller Jr., Kelsey Bardwell and Rachel Golden. Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism Secretary Stacy Hurst serves as the state’s historic preservation officer.

Being included on the National Register of Historic Places is an honor and provides locations with eligibility to apply for certain grants and tax credit programs. For more information on the National Register of Historic Places, including the qualifications needed submit a nomination, visit

For more information about the National Register, please contact Ralph Wilcox, National Register and survey coordinator, at 501-324-9880.

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP) is an agency of Arkansas Heritage. AHPP is responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives. Arkansas Heritage is a division of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism. 


Recent Posts


American Legion Main Street Dumas Arkansas History Three States Lumber Company Wingmead Elias Camp Morris Monsanto Chemical Corporation Newton County Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Renaissance Revival Architecture International-Style Architecture Arkansas Design Network National Register of Historic Downtown Revitalization Grants Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Historic Preservation Alliance Leake-Ingham Building Barney Elias House North Little Rock Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Ouachita County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Craftsman style architecture Louisiana Main Street program Sandwiching in History Abolition of Slavery Trail of Tears in Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Huntsville Commercial Historic District Mississippi Main Street Association Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District downtown economic development Arkansas Preservation Awards African American education cemetery preservsation Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Free Lesson Plan National Register of Historic Places Freedom Park Montgomery County Courthouse Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Edgar Monsanto Queeny Civilian Conservation Corps Buffalo National River Burdette Plantation Walks Through History Houston Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Nevada County Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Camden Public Library Pike County Courthouse historic architecture Rustic Architecture Arkansas Humanities Council Poinsett County Arkansas Arkansas Business History Arkansas Register of Historic Places Folk Victorian Architecture Paris Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Doddridge Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Main Street Ozark Huntsville Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Evelyn Gill Walker House Cemetery Preservation Library Erbie Arkansas Skillern House Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Burdette Arkansas U.S. Forest Service U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Roe Arkansas historic telephone booth Booneville Historical Preservation Society Rosston Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Civil Works Administration Prairie County Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Destination Downtown Conference White County Courthouse Montgomery County Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans free teacher resources Tolbert Gill Henry Koen Office Building Phillips County Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Pike County Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church downtown revitalization Main Street Searcy News Release Flood Control Ozark Farming Marked Tree Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Mississippi County Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum New Century Club of Camden Forrest City Cemetery Turner Restoration most endangered historic places Morrilton Arkansas Benton Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster 13th Amendment Main Street Batesville Conway County Library Forrest City Arkansas Rosenwald Schools free history tours Pope County Courthouse Sunken Lands Naturalistic Architecture Mosaic Templars Cultural Center free historic preservation workshop Kiblah School National Historic Landmark Bogg Springs Hotel Main Street Siloam Springs Perry County Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South cemetery preservation historic resort communities Helena Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins St. Francis County Historical Society 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Monroe County Courthouse Miller County Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Main Street Texarkana Pulaski County Courthouse Arkansas religious history Saline County Arkansas slipcover removal grants Bogg Springs Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Clarendon Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Duck Hunting Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Freedmen's Bureau Fayetteville Arkansas Polk County Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Cumberland Presbyterian Church Little Rock Central High School Delta Cultural Center Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Camden Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Monroe County Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Historic County Courthouses Mid-Century Modern Architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation