Student Film Contest Deadline April 1

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, March 06, 2019

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is pleased to partner with the Arkansas Educational Television Network once again for the Arkansas Historic Places Student Film Prize. This contest is open to all Arkansas students grades 5 to 12 and is conducted in collaboration with the AETN Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase. 

Films should be between five and 15 minutes in length and showcase a historic property more than 50 years old. Properties do not have to be listed on the National Register of Historic Places, but should fall under the categories of an archeological site, historic building or structure with historic significance.

Complete rules and entry form can be found here!

Works will be showcased during a screening at Ron Robinson Theater in May and will be considered for inclusion in the Hot Springs Documentary Film Festival in October. Cash prizes are given to winners. Schools can apply to receive a travel grant of up to $150 to bring students to the showcase in May.

Recent Posts


U.S. Forest Service Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Little Rock Central High School Arkansas Register of Historic Places Historic Preservation Alliance U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Sandwiching in History Pulaski County Courthouse Arkansas Historic Preservation Program steel window restoration workshop Let Freedom Ring Mississippi County Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Sunken Lands Saline County Arkansas Camden Public Library Marked Tree Lock and Siphons County courthouse Restoration Grants St. Francis County Historical Society Civilian Conservation Corps cemetery preservsation Duck Hunting Camden Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Booneville Historical Preservation Society Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Arkansas Historic Preservation Madison County Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Main Street Texarkana White County Courthouse Renaissance Revival Architecture Turner Restoration Abolition of Slavery Arkansas History "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Bogg Springs Hotel Arkansas Preservation Awards cemetery preservation Monsanto Chemical Corporation Prairie County Arkansas historic architecture Ozark Farming Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Paris Arkansas free teacher resources Historic Preservation Restoration Grants free historic preservation workshop National Historic Landmark Historic County Courthouses Trail of Tears in Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Miller County Naturalistic Architecture Houston Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax National Register of Historic Places Poinsett County Arkansas Freedom Park Morrilton Arkansas Pike County Courthouse historic Arkansas properties Flood Control Phillips County Arkansas News Release Camden to Washington Road Kiblah School Russellville Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas free history tours Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Rosenwald Schools Wingmead Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Pope County Courthouse Main Street Ozark Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South New Century Club of Camden African American education Burdette Plantation Forrest City Cemetery Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Pike County Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas historic resort communities Free Lesson Plan Newton County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Cemetery Preservation Library Burdette Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Pope County Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Main Street Batesville Edgar Monsanto Queeny Benton Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Skillern House Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Elias Camp Morris American Legion Main Street Siloam Springs Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Main Street Dumas Walks Through History Dionicio Rodriguez Main Street Arkansas Helena Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Mid-Century Modern Architecture International-Style Architecture Arkansas Business History downtown revitalization Fayetteville Arkansas Conway County Library Bogg Springs Arkansas 13th Amendment Booneville Arkansas Barney Elias House Arkansas religious history Perry County Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Art Deco Architecture Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Montgomery County Courthouse Tudor Revival Architecture Roe Arkansas downtown economic development most endangered historic places Henry Koen Office Building 19th Century Road Construction Huntsville Commercial Historic District Montgomery County Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Buffalo National River National Register of Historic Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Mississippi Main Street Association Evelyn Gill Walker House Rustic Architecture Free Courthouse Poster Centennial Baptist Church Civil Works Administration Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas Design Network Craftsman style architecture Huntsville Arkansas Main Street Searcy Tolbert Gill Dr. Ruth Hawkins Arkansas History Lesson Plans Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House historic telephone booth Clarendon Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Gothic Revival architecture slipcover removal grants Arkansas Humanities Council Erbie Arkansas