Summer 2019 Arkansas Register Listings

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, August 27, 2019

Three properties join the Arkansas Register of Historic Places this August. They include a school building, cemetery, and church. 

  • The Hughes Cemetery is located in Benton, Saline County, at the end of South Richards Street. The active dates for this property are from 1858 to 1967 and it is the final resting place of early residents of this city. 
  • In Searcy County, the Snowball Gymnasium is located along County Road 12 and is described as a 1956 concrete-block gym, the last remaining building on the school campus. 
  • Union African Methodist Episcopal Church from 1950 is a long-time African-American congregation located in Mount Holly in Union County. 

According to the AHPP website, to be listed on the Arkansas Register a property must generally be at least 50 years old, “possess integrity of design materials, workmanship, feeling, and association” and the proposed listing must also meet at least one of the following criteria:

  • Association with events of state or local historical significance; or
  • Association with the lives of persons of significance in the history of the state or locality; or
  • Represent a type, style or period of architecture; or
  • Association with important elements of Arkansas’s history or pre-history

Curious if a property is listed on the Arkansas Register? You can search our database location on our website. 

Recent Posts


Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Benton Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Civilian Conservation Corps Dionicio Rodriguez Leake-Ingham Building Monsanto Chemical Corporation steel window restoration workshop National Historic Landmark Arkansas Design Network Arkansas History Lesson Plans Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Main Street Searcy Real Estate Transfer Tax Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Delta Cultural Center Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Tolbert Gill Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Art Deco Architecture Free Courthouse Poster Arkansas religious history Polk County Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture free history tours Civil Works Administration Destination Downtown Conference Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Saline County Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Nevada County Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Phillips County Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture free teacher resources Clarendon Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District historic resort communities Tudor Revival Architecture Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Helena Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Walks Through History Historic Preservation Alliance Pope County Courthouse Arkansas Register of Historic Places Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Centennial Baptist Church Main Street Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau White County Courthouse Elias Camp Morris Barney Elias House Wingmead National Register of Historic Camden to Washington Road U.S. Forest Service Buffalo National River Main Street Dumas Booneville Arkansas Kiblah School Ouachita County Arkansas downtown revitalization Free Lesson Plan Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Erbie Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Edgar Monsanto Queeny Monroe County Arkansas cemetery preservsation Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Arkansas Railroad History Trail of Tears in Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Arkansas History Main Street Batesville New Century Club of Camden Burdette Plantation 19th Century Road Construction St. Francis County Historical Society Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Downtown Revitalization Grants U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Madison County Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Sandwiching in History Mississippi County Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Skillern House Prairie County Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Sunken Lands Rosenwald Schools Freedom Park Arkansas African American Civil War History Booneville Historical Preservation Society Mississippi Main Street Association cemetery preservation Henry Koen Office Building Main Street Texarkana Cemetery Preservation Library Pulaski County Courthouse Houston Arkansas International-Style Architecture Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola free historic preservation workshop Burdette Arkansas Paris Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas downtown economic development 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Arkansas Business History most endangered historic places County courthouse Restoration Grants Huntsville Commercial Historic District American Legion historic telephone booth National Register of Historic Places Perry County Arkansas historic architecture slipcover removal grants Camden Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Abolition of Slavery Montgomery County Courthouse Camden Public Library Rosston Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Ozark Farming Conway County Library Flood Control Cumberland Presbyterian Church Evelyn Gill Walker House Russellville Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Montgomery County Arkansas Roe Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Pope County Arkansas Duck Hunting Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum News Release Craftsman style architecture Newton County Arkansas Main Street Ozark Turner Restoration Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Dr. Ruth Hawkins Arkansas Humanities Council Monroe County Courthouse Poinsett County Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Marked Tree Arkansas Rustic Architecture Folk Victorian Architecture Miller County Arkansas Historic Preservation Louisiana Main Street program 13th Amendment Pike County Arkansas African American education Forrest City Arkansas