Three Arkansas Buildings Listed on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, August 07, 2018


Three Arkansas properties have been listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant properties.

The newly listed properties are:

* Goodwin Field Administration Building at El Dorado in Union County, a ca. 1950 structure with a design that reflects the transition of the Art Deco style toward the International style of architecture. “The Goodwin Field Administration Building used cast concrete in its construction as architect John B. Abbott utilized this method in four local buildings and structures over a four-year period, bringing architectural modernity to Union County,” according to the National Register nomination. “The Goodwin Field Administration Building exhibits many characteristics of the Art Moderne and International styles, including smooth exterior walls with minimal ornamentation, flat roofs, rounded edges, wraparound large windows, glass blocks, and nautical elements.”

* Cleveland Arms Apartment Building at Hot Springs in Garland County, a ca. 1945 structure designed in the Art Moderne style of architecture, “The Cleveland Arms Apartment Building was one of two sister-apartment complexes built by Hot Springs insurance and real estate man Thomas H. Cleveland after the second World War with Federal Housing Authority loans,” according to the National Register nomination. “The two buildings were designed as complimentary Art Moderne style buff-brick structures with Art Deco detailing by local architect Irven Donald McDaniel.”

* The building at 234 Ouachita Avenue at Hot Springs in Garland County, a simple commercial building constructed in 1920 and located in the Ouachita Avenue Historic District. “In the original nomination for the Ouachita Avenue Historic District, the Building at 234 Ouachita Avenue was considered to be non-contributing to the District due to the installation of stucco over the original brick,” according to the National Register nomination. “However, the building should now be considered to be a contributing resource.A recent project renovated the property, which included removing the stucco and restoring the property’s original material on the front façade.As a result, the building is considered to be a contributing resource in the Ouachita Avenue Historic District.”

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.


Recent Posts


Newton County Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Roe Arkansas Main Street Dumas Turner Restoration Arkansas religious history Historic County Courthouses News Release Renaissance Revival Architecture Camden to Washington Road Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Conway County Library Pike County Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council cemetery preservation Folk Victorian Architecture American Legion Little Rock Central High School free history tours historic resort communities Doddridge Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Main Street Texarkana New Century Club of Camden Sunken Lands Mississippi County Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Duck Hunting Sandwiching in History Historic Preservation Alliance Benton Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps Wingmead Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South slipcover removal grants Bogg Springs Hotel Arkansas History Lesson Plans Arkansas Business History historic architecture Tolbert Gill Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Skillern House Forrest City Cemetery Arkansas History Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Art Deco Architecture Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Naturalistic Architecture free historic preservation workshop Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Main Street Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Forrest City Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Free Lesson Plan Paris Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Dionicio Rodriguez Arkansas Register of Historic Places North Little Rock Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association International-Style Architecture Houston Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Dr. Ruth Hawkins 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Mid-Century Modern Architecture Edgar Monsanto Queeny Prairie County Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Montgomery County Arkansas Walks Through History Russellville Arkansas historic telephone booth Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Clarendon Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Henry Koen Office Building Camden Public Library Freedom Park Abolition of Slavery Bogg Springs Arkansas Barney Elias House Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Arkansas Railroad History Helena Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Arkansas Design Network Gothic Revival architecture most endangered historic places Morrilton Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Leake-Ingham Building Cumberland Presbyterian Church Monroe County Courthouse 19th Century Road Construction 13th Amendment Main Street Searcy Madison County Arkansas free teacher resources Marked Tree Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Fayetteville Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Ozark Farming Centennial Baptist Church downtown revitalization Poinsett County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation historic Arkansas properties Tudor Revival Architecture Pike County Courthouse cemetery preservsation Huntsville Commercial Historic District Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Real Estate Transfer Tax Pope County Arkansas African American education Ouachita County Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Rustic Architecture Monroe County Arkansas Main Street Ozark Perry County Arkansas White County Courthouse Arkansas Historic Preservation Program National Historic Landmark U.S. Forest Service Main Street Batesville Trail of Tears in Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Civil Works Administration Buffalo National River Polk County Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Evelyn Gill Walker House Miller County Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Nevada County Arkansas downtown economic development Freedmen's Bureau Burdette Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Main Street Siloam Springs Arkansas Preservation Awards St. Francis County Historical Society Huntsville Arkansas Flood Control Burdette Plantation Elias Camp Morris Camden Arkansas National Register of Historic National Register of Historic Places Craftsman style architecture Destination Downtown Conference U.S. Army Corps of Engineers "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Three States Lumber Company Kiblah School steel window restoration workshop Booneville Historical Preservation Society Downtown Revitalization Grants