Three Arkansas Properties Listed on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, February 07, 2018

Three Arkansas properties have been listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant properties.

The newly listed properties are:

* Sherman Mound and Village in Mississippi County, a ca. 1200 archeological site with components from the Prehistoric Late Woodland and Middle Mississippian periods. “Geophysics produced evidence for the presence of all the basic architectural design elements of a Mississippian town with a mound-and-plaza complex, including: a primary mound; two secondary mounds (B and C); one or two plazas; a palisade wall with bastions; and discrete residential or habitation areas characterized by multiple geophysical features and surface artifact concentrations,” according to the National Register nomination. “The most conspicuous remaining element of this Mississippian town is the Sherman Mound, which is one of the largest and best-preserved Middle Mississippian period earthworks in the Central Mississippi Valley.”

* Arkansas Teachers Association Headquarters Building and Professional Services Building at Little Rock in Pulaski County, Mid-Century Modern-style buildings completed in 1965 and designed by the architectural firm of George Henry Tschiemer & Associates of Pine Bluff. “The two buildings designed for the ATA and the medical corporation Professional Services, Inc., were contemporary in style, featuring the mid-century modern aesthetic of simple lines and un-ornamented facades,” according to the National Register nomination. “While the modern aesthetic was partially a result of the use of new and cost-efficient materials and building techniques; the modern styling of the structures was also a reflection of the forward thinking organizations that commissioned the buildings. The overall cost of the project was over $150,000, a huge sum, especially for an African-American financed and constructed project in downtown Little Rock only five years after the Little Rock Desegregation Crisis.”

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880 [TDD 501-324-9811], send e-mail to [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Bogg Springs Hotel Tolbert Gill Main Street Texarkana Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Gothic Revival architecture Leake-Ingham Building Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Craftsman style architecture Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery National Historic Landmark Arkansas Railroad History Let Freedom Ring North Little Rock Arkansas Delta Cultural Center St. Francis County Historical Society Conway County Library Arkansas Business History Buffalo National River Sunken Lands Edgar Monsanto Queeny Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council historic architecture Marked Tree Arkansas Ozark Farming Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Three States Lumber Company Naturalistic Architecture Little Rock Central High School Dr. Ruth Hawkins 13th Amendment Main Street Dumas Rustic Architecture Arkansas African American Civil War History Free Courthouse Poster Abolition of Slavery "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Pike County Courthouse African American education Arkansas Preservation Awards Fayetteville Arkansas White County Courthouse Rosenwald Schools Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Pope County Courthouse News Release Kiblah School County courthouse Restoration Grants 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Pike County Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Historic Preservation Alliance Downtown Revitalization Grants Camden to Washington Road historic Arkansas properties Forrest City Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Mississippi Main Street Association Louisiana Main Street program cemetery preservation Huntsville Commercial Historic District Miller County Prairie County Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Main Street Siloam Springs Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Freedmen's Bureau Montgomery County Courthouse Pope County Arkansas Benton Arkansas downtown revitalization Centennial Baptist Church Booneville Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Poinsett County Arkansas Skillern House Burdette Plantation Newton County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Trail of Tears in Arkansas slipcover removal grants Arkansas religious history Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Nevada County Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Burdette Arkansas Roe Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Monsanto Chemical Corporation Main Street Searcy Main Street Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Helena Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House historic resort communities Arkansas History Lesson Plans free history tours Arkansas Register of Historic Places Erbie Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District National Register of Historic Places Henry Koen Office Building U.S. Forest Service Ouachita County Arkansas Camden Public Library Wingmead Free Lesson Plan National Register of Historic Clarendon Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South historic telephone booth Duck Hunting Polk County Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Monroe County Courthouse Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Doddridge Arkansas most endangered historic places Civil Works Administration Camden Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Destination Downtown Conference cemetery preservsation free teacher resources American Legion Turner Restoration Arkansas Humanities Council Saline County Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Arkansas Historic Preservation Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Sandwiching in History Mississippi County Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Main Street Ozark Paris Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Cumberland Presbyterian Church Walks Through History Pulaski County Courthouse Forrest City Cemetery Historic County Courthouses Cemetery Preservation Library Rosston Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum steel window restoration workshop Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Freedom Park Flood Control Monroe County Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons International-Style Architecture Renaissance Revival Architecture Civilian Conservation Corps Russellville Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Morrilton Arkansas Barney Elias House downtown economic development free historic preservation workshop New Century Club of Camden Houston Arkansas Arkansas History Madison County Arkansas Main Street Batesville Art Deco Architecture Perry County Arkansas