Trail of Tears Lesson Plan

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, August 14, 2015

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s Education Outreach program has developed a new lesson plan and classroom program focusing on the Trail of Tears in Arkansas. Several road segments walked by Native Americans on the Trail of Tears are listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The program is based on these road segments, and details the history of Native American removal in Arkansas from the Louisiana Purchase through 1829. The lesson plan uses these road segments as a basis for the study of Arkansas geography, and public policy toward Native Americans. Teachers may access the lesson plan or schedule a free classroom presentation by e-mailing [email protected], or by calling Shelle Stormoe at (501) 324-9786. See more at


Recent Posts


historic architecture Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Bogg Springs Hotel Erbie Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Pike County Courthouse Forrest City Cemetery "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants St. Francis County Historical Society Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Perry County Arkansas Delta Cultural Center International-Style Architecture Sandwiching in History Mississippi Main Street Association Free Courthouse Poster Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas historic resort communities slipcover removal grants steel window restoration workshop North Little Rock Arkansas Skillern House Arkansas African American Civil War History Downtown Revitalization Grants Destination Downtown Conference Pike County Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Houston Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Arkansas Business History Ouachita County Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Clarendon Arkansas Main Street Batesville 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Russellville Arkansas downtown revitalization Paris Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Main Street Ozark Madison County Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Duck Hunting Sunken Lands Polk County Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Arkansas Historic Preservation Louisiana Main Street program Montgomery County Courthouse Arkansas Design Network U.S. Forest Service Huntsville Arkansas National Register of Historic Places free teacher resources Pope County Arkansas American Legion Elias Camp Morris Arkansas Humanities Council Arkansas Register of Historic Places Walks Through History Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Abolition of Slavery Saline County Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Flood Control historic Arkansas properties Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House National Historic Landmark Pope County Courthouse Rosenwald Schools Freedom Park Wingmead Miller County Tolbert Gill Nevada County Arkansas Buffalo National River Mississippi County Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture White County Courthouse Cumberland Presbyterian Church News Release Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Free Lesson Plan Naturalistic Architecture cemetery preservation Ozark Farming Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Camden to Washington Road Bogg Springs Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse downtown economic development National Register of Historic Kiblah School Dr. Ruth Hawkins Arkansas Preservation Awards New Century Club of Camden Roe Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Main Street Siloam Springs Let Freedom Ring Morrilton Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Camden Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Phillips County Arkansas Turner Restoration Mid-Century Modern Architecture Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Poinsett County Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Newton County Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Main Street Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Renaissance Revival Architecture free history tours Gothic Revival architecture Burdette Plantation Freedmen's Bureau County courthouse Restoration Grants Little Rock Central High School Monsanto Chemical Corporation U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Arkansas Railroad History Civil Works Administration Historic Preservation Restoration Grants African American education Conway County Library Three States Lumber Company Henry Koen Office Building Benton Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Arkansas History Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Main Street Searcy Helena Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Booneville Historical Preservation Society Camden Public Library Real Estate Transfer Tax Main Street Dumas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Montgomery County Arkansas most endangered historic places Arkansas religious history Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Historic Preservation Alliance Rustic Architecture Barney Elias House Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Leake-Ingham Building Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut 13th Amendment Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Centennial Baptist Church Arkansas History Lesson Plans historic telephone booth Historic County Courthouses cemetery preservsation Trail of Tears in Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Evelyn Gill Walker House Rosston Arkansas