U.S. Forest Service Seeks Proposals for Camp Ouachita Girl Scout Camp

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, May 27, 2016

The U.S. Forest Service, Ouachita National Forest, is renewing efforts to engage local governments, individual citizens, State agencies, Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs), businesses and other potential partners in efforts to find a new mission for Camp Ouachita, a partially restored former Girl Scout Camp in Perry County, Arkansas. The Forest Service seeks ideas and potential partners to find a more sustainable way to manage this beautiful historic complex. You can learn more at  

Recent Posts


National Register of Historic Pope County Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Clarendon Arkansas Houston Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District slipcover removal grants Edgar Monsanto Queeny Main Street Batesville Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Flood Control Folk Victorian Architecture Montgomery County Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation cemetery preservation Gothic Revival architecture Arkansas Preservation Awards Duck Hunting Perry County Arkansas Craftsman style architecture downtown economic development Main Street Texarkana most endangered historic places Marked Tree Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot cemetery preservsation Doddridge Arkansas Main Street Dumas Downtown Revitalization Grants Historic Preservation Alliance Elias Camp Morris Camden Public Library Benton Arkansas 13th Amendment free history tours Naturalistic Architecture Art Deco Architecture free historic preservation workshop Civilian Conservation Corps Arkansas History Lesson Plans Camden Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut historic resort communities National Historic Landmark Monroe County Courthouse Prairie County Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Arkansas Design Network U.S. Forest Service American Legion Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Mosaic Templars Cultural Center "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Turner Restoration New Century Club of Camden Freedmen's Bureau Fayetteville Arkansas Helena Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Cemetery Preservation Library Main Street Ozark 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Newton County Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Madison County Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Arkansas religious history Little Rock Central High School Burdette Plantation Roe Arkansas Rustic Architecture Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Mid-Century Modern Architecture North Little Rock Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Pike County Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Monroe County Arkansas Wingmead Booneville Arkansas Buffalo National River Cumberland Presbyterian Church Skillern House Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Camden to Washington Road Pike County Courthouse Pope County Courthouse Arkansas Railroad History Arkansas Register of Historic Places Tudor Revival Architecture Real Estate Transfer Tax Henry Koen Office Building Main Street Searcy Phillips County Arkansas Paris Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Morrilton Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Polk County Arkansas historic architecture Historic County Courthouses African American education National Register of Historic Places Kiblah School Leake-Ingham Building Pulaski County Courthouse 19th Century Road Construction Nevada County Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Rosenwald Schools historic telephone booth International-Style Architecture Delta Cultural Center Evelyn Gill Walker House Miller County Arkansas Historic Preservation Russellville Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Sandwiching in History Louisiana Main Street program Sunken Lands Let Freedom Ring Walks Through History White County Courthouse free teacher resources Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Ouachita County Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Ozark Farming Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Arkansas State University Heritage Sites downtown revitalization Tolbert Gill St. Francis County Historical Society Mississippi Main Street Association County courthouse Restoration Grants Arkansas History Forrest City Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Three States Lumber Company Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Main Street Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Abolition of Slavery Conway County Library Freedom Park Dr. Ruth Hawkins Barney Elias House Free Lesson Plan Montgomery County Courthouse Mississippi County Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Saline County Arkansas News Release Bogg Springs Hotel Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Rosston Arkansas Civil Works Administration Burdette Arkansas Arkansas Business History Forrest City Cemetery Bogg Springs Arkansas