Walks Through History to Tour Downtown Beebe

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, April 27, 2018

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Walks Through History” tour will visit downtown Beebe beginning at 11 a.m. on Saturday, May 12.

The tour will explore Beebe’s historic commercial corridor and discuss the history and architecture that helped shape this town, including the ca. 1880 Staggs-Huffacker Building and the 1910 Missouri Pacific Railroad Depot. Beebe grew up along the railroad and much of its early history is tied to these tracks that still run through town perpendicular to Main Street. The tour will begin at the corner of North Main and West Illinois streets. It is co-sponsored by the White County Historical Society and the Arkansas Humanities Council.

In the “Walks Through History” program, which is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, AHPP historians provide free guided walking tours of historic structures and districts across Arkansas. Most tours begin at 11 a.m. on Saturdays.

The American Institute of Architects offers two HSW continuing education learning unit credits for members who attend a “Walks Through History” tour.

Other 2018 “Walks Through History” tours will be held September 15, Downtown Osceola, co-sponsored by the Mississippi County Historical Society and Mississippi County Museum; October 13, Heber Springs Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by the Heber Springs Library and Downtown Heber Springs Network, and November 10, Magnolia Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by the Magnolia-Columbia County Chamber of Commerce.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit The “Walks Through History” program is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, which seeks to promote the understanding, appreciation, and use of the humanities in Arkansas. The humanities include the study of history, literature, ethics, philosophy, language, and the various legal, cultural, religious, and folk traditions – past and present - that define the human condition.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Let Freedom Ring St. Francis County Historical Society County courthouse Restoration Grants National Register of Historic Places Benton Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Wingmead Marked Tree Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History historic resort communities Turner Restoration Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Saline County Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Phillips County Arkansas Main Street Batesville Kiblah School steel window restoration workshop Skillern House White County Courthouse free history tours Craftsman style architecture Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Art Deco Architecture Camden Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons 19th Century Road Construction Destination Downtown Conference Montgomery County Courthouse Pulaski County Courthouse U.S. Forest Service Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Main Street Searcy Rustic Architecture Historic County Courthouses Arkansas History Lesson Plans Monroe County Courthouse Montgomery County Arkansas Barney Elias House Camden to Washington Road Folk Victorian Architecture Helena Arkansas Walks Through History Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Houston Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Pike County Courthouse Newton County Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Forrest City Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps Dr. Ruth Hawkins Freedom Park Mississippi Main Street Association Huntsville Commercial Historic District Rosenwald Schools Miller County Camden Public Library slipcover removal grants Forrest City Cemetery Duck Hunting Main Street Dumas National Register of Historic Ozark Farming historic architecture Main Street Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Downtown Revitalization Grants downtown revitalization Perry County Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House cemetery preservation Tudor Revival Architecture Civil Works Administration Abolition of Slavery Arkansas Preservation Awards historic telephone booth Arkansas History Russellville Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Free Lesson Plan Morrilton Arkansas Sunken Lands Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas Historic Preservation Program American Legion Burdette Plantation Sandwiching in History 13th Amendment "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Main Street Siloam Springs Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Ouachita County Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Cumberland Presbyterian Church Flood Control Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Nevada County Arkansas News Release historic Arkansas properties Delta Cultural Center African American education Bogg Springs Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Roe Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Monroe County Arkansas downtown economic development Arkansas religious history Trail of Tears in Arkansas Pope County Courthouse National Historic Landmark Bogg Springs Hotel Doddridge Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Booneville Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Arkansas Register of Historic Places Erbie Arkansas Buffalo National River Pike County Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Polk County Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Free Courthouse Poster International-Style Architecture Tolbert Gill Three States Lumber Company Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Arkansas Business History Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Main Street Ozark Freedmen's Bureau Conway County Library cemetery preservsation Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot New Century Club of Camden Henry Koen Office Building Madison County Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South most endangered historic places Arkansas Historic Preservation Clarendon Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Leake-Ingham Building Huntsville Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Real Estate Transfer Tax free teacher resources Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Evelyn Gill Walker House Arkansas Humanities Council free historic preservation workshop Mississippi County Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Paris Arkansas