'Walks Through History' to Tour Downtown Berryville

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, May 01, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Walks Through History” tour will visit downtown Berryville on May 16, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

Named for early resident and town co-founder Blackburn Henderson Berry, Berryville became a trading and educational center for the area’s subsistence farmers. In 1875 the Carroll County seat was moved to Berryville. The 1880 courthouse, enlarged in 1905 to ensure Berryville’s position as county seat, faces the public square. The tour will begin at 11 a.m. at the Carroll County Courthouse, Eastern District, located on the west side of the public square in Berryville. The tour is co-sponsored by the Carroll County Historical Society.

In the “Walks Through History” program, AHPP historians each month provide free guided walking tours of historic structures and districts across Arkansas. Most tours begin at 11 a.m. on Saturdays. The American Institute of Architects offers two HSW continuing education learning unit credits for members who attend a “Walks Through History” tour.

Other 2015 “Walks Through History” tours will be held June 13, Marianna Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by the Marianna/Lee County Chamber of Commerce and The Gladlands; July 18, Downtown Malvern, co-sponsored by the Malvern Downtown Development Corporation, Hot Spring County Museum and Hot Spring County Historical Society; August 15, Downtown Bradford, co-sponsored by the White County Historical Society; September 12, Titan II ICBM Launch Complex 374-7 Site at Southside (Van Buren County), co-sponsored by the Van Buren County Historical Society; October 10, Cane Hill (Washington County), co-sponsored by Historic Cane Hill; November 14, Batesville Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street Batesville and the Batesville Preservation Association; and December 12, Washington Street Historic District, Camden, co-sponsored by the Ouachita County Historical Society.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 323 Center St., Suite 1500, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Booneville Historical Preservation Society cemetery preservation Ozark Farming White County Courthouse "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Buffalo National River Bogg Springs Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Montgomery County Arkansas Arkansas religious history Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Bogg Springs Hotel Newton County Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Sandwiching in History Destination Downtown Conference Cemetery Preservation Library Main Street Siloam Springs Main Street Ozark Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Booneville Arkansas historic resort communities American Legion 19th Century Road Construction Art Deco Architecture Skillern House Perry County Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Nevada County Arkansas National Register of Historic Historic County Courthouses Main Street Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Arkansas History Burdette Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas most endangered historic places U.S. Forest Service Arkansas Business History Russellville Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Downtown Revitalization Grants Helena Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Pope County Arkansas cemetery preservsation Rosenwald Schools Madison County Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Delta Cultural Center County courthouse Restoration Grants historic Arkansas properties Poinsett County Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Historic Preservation Alliance Three States Lumber Company Kiblah School Tudor Revival Architecture free teacher resources historic telephone booth U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Mississippi County Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Abolition of Slavery Main Street Batesville Trail of Tears in Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Pope County Courthouse Montgomery County Courthouse Gothic Revival architecture Rosston Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Camden Public Library Sunken Lands Arkansas Design Network Marked Tree Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Walks Through History free history tours Burdette Plantation Elias Camp Morris Free Lesson Plan Folk Victorian Architecture Monroe County Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Civilian Conservation Corps Roe Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Arkansas Railroad History Erbie Arkansas downtown revitalization Pulaski County Courthouse Craftsman style architecture Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Mississippi Main Street Association Monroe County Courthouse historic architecture Marked Tree Lock and Siphons free historic preservation workshop Rustic Architecture Barney Elias House News Release Henry Koen Office Building Benton Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Morrilton Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas State University Heritage Sites North Little Rock Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Cumberland Presbyterian Church Forrest City Arkansas Conway County Library Main Street Texarkana Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Naturalistic Architecture Dionicio Rodriguez Main Street Searcy Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Camden Arkansas International-Style Architecture 13th Amendment Turner Restoration Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Camden to Washington Road Edgar Monsanto Queeny steel window restoration workshop Fayetteville Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Main Street Dumas Paris Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Centennial Baptist Church St. Francis County Historical Society Leake-Ingham Building Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Phillips County Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola National Historic Landmark Renaissance Revival Architecture Free Courthouse Poster Huntsville Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Let Freedom Ring Forrest City Cemetery Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Arkansas African American Civil War History African American education Arkansas History Lesson Plans Miller County Evelyn Gill Walker House Wingmead Duck Hunting slipcover removal grants Civil Works Administration Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops downtown economic development Freedom Park Prairie County Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Flood Control Houston Arkansas Tolbert Gill