Walks Through History to Tour Downtown Mountain Home

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, August 25, 2017

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Walks Through History” tour will visit the Mountain Home Commercial Historic District beginning at 11 a.m. on Saturday, September 9.

The tour begins at the Baxter County Courthouse. Most of the buildings in the district are commercial structures, one or two stories in height, of masonry construction. They are generally vernacular in style, and most were built between about 1900 and 1920, after the arrival of the railroad, and in the 1950s, when the city experienced another major period of growth. The district is centered on the Baxter County Courthouse, and is bounded by East 5th Street, East 9th Street, South Street, and South Hickory Street. The tour is co-sponsored by the Baxter County Historical and Genealogical Society.

In the “Walks Through History” program, which is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, AHPP historians each month provide free guided walking tours of historic structures and districts across Arkansas. Most tours begin at 11 a.m. on Saturdays. The American Institute of Architects offers two HSW continuing education learning unit credits for members who attend a “Walks Through History” tour.

Other 2017 “Walks Through History” tours will be October 14, Camp Chaffee Historic District, co-sponsored by the Chaffee Crossing Historic District; November 11, Dumas Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street Dumas, and December 9, El Dorado Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street El Dorado.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected] or visit The Walks Through History program is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, which seeks to promote the understanding, appreciation, and use of the humanities in Arkansas. The humanities include the study of history, literature, ethics, philosophy, language, and the various legal, cultural, religious, and folk traditions – past and present – that define the human condition.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Dionicio Rodriguez Huntsville Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Sandwiching in History Buffalo National River Tudor Revival Architecture Gothic Revival architecture Let Freedom Ring Main Street Dumas Saline County Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Main Street Texarkana Wingmead Cemetery Preservation Library Naturalistic Architecture News Release Montgomery County Courthouse Perry County Arkansas Abolition of Slavery Mississippi County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Dr. Ruth Hawkins Forrest City Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Burdette Plantation Forrest City Cemetery Main Street Searcy Erbie Arkansas slipcover removal grants Little Rock Central High School Barney Elias House Monroe County Courthouse Phillips County Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Benton Arkansas Art Deco Architecture 13th Amendment Freedmen's Bureau Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Ouachita County Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Mid-Century Modern Architecture Polk County Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture International-Style Architecture Houston Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot New Century Club of Camden Montgomery County Arkansas most endangered historic places Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Conway County Library Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District U.S. Forest Service White County Courthouse Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut downtown revitalization Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Turner Restoration County courthouse Restoration Grants Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Clarendon Arkansas Walks Through History Nevada County Arkansas cemetery preservsation Arkansas Design Network Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Sunken Lands historic telephone booth Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Booneville Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Arkansas History Arkansas African American Civil War History Main Street Siloam Springs Free Courthouse Poster Camden Public Library St. Francis County Historical Society Historic Preservation Alliance historic resort communities Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola African American education Booneville Historical Preservation Society Kiblah School Paris Arkansas Duck Hunting Rosston Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps free teacher resources Arkansas Register of Historic Places Flood Control Roe Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Pike County Courthouse steel window restoration workshop historic Arkansas properties Main Street Arkansas Skillern House Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Arkansas religious history cemetery preservation Arkansas Business History Arkansas Humanities Council 19th Century Road Construction North Little Rock Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Miller County "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Henry Koen Office Building Arkansas Historic Preservation Marked Tree Arkansas Main Street Ozark Bogg Springs Hotel U.S. Army Corps of Engineers American Legion National Historic Landmark Rosenwald Schools Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Craftsman style architecture Tolbert Gill Louisiana Main Street program Morrilton Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Mississippi Main Street Association Delta Cultural Center Three States Lumber Company downtown economic development Camden to Washington Road Bogg Springs Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Freedom Park Rustic Architecture Ozark Farming Camden Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Civil Works Administration Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Historic County Courthouses free historic preservation workshop Helena Arkansas Elias Camp Morris 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Real Estate Transfer Tax historic architecture National Register of Historic Monsanto Chemical Corporation Prairie County Arkansas Main Street Batesville Burdette Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Arkansas Railroad History Madison County Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church free history tours Poinsett County Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Pulaski County Courthouse Arkansas History Lesson Plans National Register of Historic Places