Walks Through History to Tour Downtown Siloam Springs

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, July 28, 2017

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Walks Through History” tour will visit the Siloam Springs Downtown Historic District on August 12.

The district is roughly bounded by University Street, Broadway and Sager Creek, with a few buildings on adjacent streets outside this triangular area. The business district was developed mainly between about 1896, when the railroad arrived, and 1940, and contains a significant number of buildings dating to that period. It also includes Siloam Springs City Park, the location of the springs that gave the city its name. Notable buildings include the First National Bank building, a c. 1890 Romanesque Revival building, and the 1881 Lakeside Hotel, which is one of the city's oldest commercial buildings. The downtown area is filled with retail and antique shops, restaurants, apartment living, a museum and public art. The tour is co-sponsored by Main Street Siloam Springs.

In the “Walks Through History” program, which is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, AHPP historians each month provide free guided walking tours of historic structures and districts across Arkansas. Most tours begin at 11 a.m. on Saturdays. The American Institute of Architects offers two HSW continuing education learning unit credits for members who attend a “Walks Through History” tour.

Other 2017 “Walks Through History” tours will be September 9, Mountain Home Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by the Baxter County Historical and Genealogical Society; October 14, Camp Chaffee Historic District, co-sponsored by the Chaffee Crossing Historic District; November 11, Dumas Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street Dumas, and December 9, El Dorado Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street El Dorado.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected] or visit The Walks Through History program is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, which seeks to promote the understanding, appreciation, and use of the humanities in Arkansas. The humanities include the study of history, literature, ethics, philosophy, language, and the various legal, cultural, religious, and folk traditions – past and present - that define the human condition.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Arkansas State University Heritage Sites "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Civilian Conservation Corps Turner Restoration Kiblah School historic telephone booth Phillips County Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Main Street Batesville Evelyn Gill Walker House Burdette Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Polk County Arkansas Skillern House Naturalistic Architecture Elias Camp Morris free historic preservation workshop Arkansas Design Network Tolbert Gill Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Pope County Courthouse Leake-Ingham Building Civil Works Administration Newton County Arkansas Erbie Arkansas National Register of Historic Clarendon Arkansas American Legion Henry Koen Office Building Bogg Springs Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Morrilton Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery downtown economic development Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Camden to Washington Road Free Courthouse Poster Ozark Farming Montgomery County Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Nevada County Arkansas Burdette Plantation Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops cemetery preservsation Let Freedom Ring Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Helena Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Little Rock Central High School Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Poinsett County Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Trail of Tears in Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Benton Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Main Street Ozark Walks Through History Monsanto Chemical Corporation Monroe County Courthouse historic resort communities 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Historic Preservation Restoration Grants 13th Amendment Miller County Arkansas Railroad History steel window restoration workshop Freedom Park Craftsman style architecture Three States Lumber Company Rustic Architecture Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax News Release free history tours historic architecture Marked Tree Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library North Little Rock Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Historic County Courthouses Arkansas History Lesson Plans Arkansas Business History Monroe County Arkansas Abolition of Slavery Cumberland Presbyterian Church National Historic Landmark Barney Elias House Centennial Baptist Church Fayetteville Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Booneville Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Gothic Revival architecture Wingmead Mid-Century Modern Architecture Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot International-Style Architecture Arkansas Preservation Awards U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Louisiana Main Street program historic Arkansas properties Arkansas Humanities Council Mississippi County Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association most endangered historic places Arkansas religious history County courthouse Restoration Grants Conway County Library Sandwiching in History cemetery preservation Saline County Arkansas Flood Control Perry County Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History downtown revitalization Dionicio Rodriguez White County Courthouse Arkansas History Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Russellville Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Forrest City Arkansas Duck Hunting Main Street Dumas Camden Public Library Freedmen's Bureau Downtown Revitalization Grants Rosenwald Schools Delta Cultural Center Real Estate Transfer Tax Ouachita County Arkansas slipcover removal grants Historic Preservation Alliance Arkansas Historic Preservation Dr. Ruth Hawkins Paris Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places National Register of Historic Places Main Street Searcy St. Francis County Historical Society Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Main Street Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Program New Century Club of Camden free teacher resources African American education Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola U.S. Forest Service Buffalo National River Huntsville Commercial Historic District Free Lesson Plan Bogg Springs Hotel Montgomery County Courthouse Folk Victorian Architecture Houston Arkansas Roe Arkansas Sunken Lands Pulaski County Courthouse Main Street Texarkana Pike County Courthouse Pope County Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Camden Arkansas