'Walks Through History' to Tour Downtown West Memphis

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, March 27, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Walks Through History” tour will visit the West Memphis Commercial Historic District on April 11, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

West Memphis experienced significant growth after 1917, when the first automobile lanes opened on the Harahan Bridge across the Mississippi River, transforming Broadway Avenue into a U.S. highway. Most historic buildings along Broadway were constructed between 1930 and 1950, reflecting the town’s prominence in the auto era. The bus tour will depart from Magruder Hall at Mid-South Community College at 2000 W. Broadway Avenue at 1:30 p.m. (This is a later starting time than most “Walks Through History” tours because it is being held in conjunction with the Arkansas Historical Association’s annual conference.) The tour is co-sponsored by Main Street West Memphis.

In the “Walks Through History” program, AHPP historians each month provide free guided walking tours of historic structures and districts across Arkansas. Most tours begin at 11 a.m. on Saturdays. The American Institute of Architects offers two HSW continuing education learning unit credits for members who attend a “Walks Through History” tour.

Other 2015 “Walks Through History” tours will be held May 16, Downtown Berryville, co-sponsored by the Carroll County Historical Society; June 13, Marianna Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by the Marianna/Lee County Chamber of Commerce and The Gladlands; July 18, Downtown Malvern, co-sponsored by the Malvern Downtown Development Corporation, Hot Spring County Museum and Hot Spring County Historical Society; August 15, Downtown Bradford, co-sponsored by the White County Historical Society; September 12, Titan II ICBM Launch Complex 374-7 Site at Southside (Van Buren County), co-sponsored by the Van Buren County Historical Society; October 10, Cane Hill (Washington County), co-sponsored by Historic Cane Hill; November 14, Batesville Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street Batesville and the Batesville Preservation Association; and December 12, Washington Street Historic District, Camden, co-sponsored by the Ouachita County Historical Society.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 323 Center St., Suite 1500, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Main Street Batesville Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Madison County Arkansas News Release 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Burdette Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Pope County Courthouse Skillern House "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Arkansas Historic Preservation Montgomery County Arkansas Abolition of Slavery Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Nevada County Arkansas Kiblah School Rustic Architecture Helena Arkansas Civil Works Administration Burdette Plantation Arkansas Railroad History Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Dionicio Rodriguez Rosston Arkansas Paris Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Prairie County Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Forrest City Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Free Lesson Plan Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Elias Camp Morris Main Street Dumas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Folk Victorian Architecture Tolbert Gill Turner Restoration 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Perry County Arkansas International-Style Architecture Poinsett County Arkansas free history tours Pike County Arkansas African American education Main Street Texarkana Louisiana Main Street program Camden Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Buffalo National River Cemetery Preservation Library cemetery preservsation Centennial Baptist Church Historic County Courthouses Monsanto Chemical Corporation Real Estate Transfer Tax Polk County Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot downtown economic development Main Street Siloam Springs Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Little Rock Central High School Sandwiching in History Tudor Revival Architecture U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Craftsman style architecture Freedom Park Downtown Revitalization Grants National Register of Historic American Legion Dr. Ruth Hawkins Arkansas Design Network Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Delta Cultural Center County courthouse Restoration Grants Roe Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Camden Public Library most endangered historic places downtown revitalization Main Street Searcy Henry Koen Office Building Newton County Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Wingmead Trail of Tears in Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Fayetteville Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny steel window restoration workshop Barney Elias House Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Renaissance Revival Architecture Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Naturalistic Architecture Let Freedom Ring Miller County Arkansas Humanities Council Evelyn Gill Walker House Arkansas Preservation Awards Arkansas religious history Historic Preservation Alliance Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District North Little Rock Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Sunken Lands Huntsville Commercial Historic District Flood Control Huntsville Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference historic telephone booth White County Courthouse Bogg Springs Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Gothic Revival architecture cemetery preservation historic resort communities Free Courthouse Poster Arkansas History Monroe County Courthouse Arkansas Register of Historic Places Cumberland Presbyterian Church Mosaic Templars Cultural Center free historic preservation workshop Walks Through History Arkansas History Lesson Plans Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Art Deco Architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Forrest City Cemetery Pike County Courthouse National Historic Landmark slipcover removal grants Arkansas African American Civil War History Arkansas Business History Mississippi Main Street Association 13th Amendment Marked Tree Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Phillips County Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps Duck Hunting Booneville Arkansas Ozark Farming Erbie Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Pope County Arkansas historic architecture Montgomery County Courthouse Conway County Library historic Arkansas properties Main Street Ozark free teacher resources Historic Preservation Restoration Grants National Register of Historic Places Mississippi County Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Bogg Springs Hotel Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Houston Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Benton Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau