Walks Through History to Visit Downtown Heber Springs

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, September 28, 2018

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Walks Through History” tour will visit the Heber Springs Commercial Historic District beginning at 11 a.m. on Saturday, October 13.

This tour will investigate the buildings constructed between 1895 and 1959 that make up the historic commercial core of this quaint town.Heber Springs is a popular area for tourists and the downtown area creates a unique environment for visitors, who can enjoy architectural styles ranging from the Classical Revival to twentieth-century commercial design. The tour will begin at Cleburne County Courthouse. It is co-sponsored by the Cleburne County Library, Downtown Network Heber Springs and the Arkansas Humanities Council.

In the “Walks Through History” program, which is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, AHPP historians provide free guided walking tours of historic structures and districts across Arkansas. Most tours begin at 11 a.m. on Saturdays.

The American Institute of Architects offers two HSW continuing education learning unit credits for members who attend a “Walks Through History” tour.

The final 2018 “Walks Through History” tour will be held November 10 at the Magnolia Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by the Magnolia-Columbia County Chamber of Commerce.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit The “Walks Through History” program is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, which seeks to promote the understanding, appreciation, and use of the humanities in Arkansas. The humanities include the study of history, literature, ethics, philosophy, language, and the various legal, cultural, religious, and folk traditions – past and present - that define the human condition.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


"Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Arkansas Business History American Legion Erbie Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas free teacher resources Roe Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Arkansas State University Heritage Sites historic resort communities Nevada County Arkansas Polk County Arkansas White County Courthouse Naturalistic Architecture Monsanto Chemical Corporation Montgomery County Courthouse Clarendon Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Newton County Arkansas National Register of Historic 13th Amendment Folk Victorian Architecture Morrilton Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Conway County Library Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Booneville Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Pike County Arkansas Art Deco Architecture County courthouse Restoration Grants historic telephone booth Arkansas religious history 19th Century Road Construction Pike County Courthouse Rosston Arkansas historic architecture Monroe County Courthouse Mid-Century Modern Architecture Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Marked Tree Arkansas Houston Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Arkansas Humanities Council Flood Control North Little Rock Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Rustic Architecture Helena Arkansas Arkansas History Main Street Arkansas Camden Public Library Let Freedom Ring Barney Elias House Walks Through History slipcover removal grants Phillips County Arkansas Civil Works Administration New Century Club of Camden Huntsville Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Henry Koen Office Building Pulaski County Courthouse Renaissance Revival Architecture Downtown Revitalization Grants Edgar Monsanto Queeny Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Cemetery Preservation Library Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Sunken Lands Little Rock Central High School International-Style Architecture Prairie County Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Central High School Neighborhood Historic District U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Pope County Courthouse Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas History Lesson Plans Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Burdette Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House News Release Forrest City Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Duck Hunting Fayetteville Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps Rosenwald Schools Main Street Texarkana Pope County Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Ouachita County Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Arkansas Railroad History Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Mississippi Main Street Association Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Buffalo National River Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South cemetery preservation Free Courthouse Poster Main Street Batesville Bogg Springs Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Camden Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Ozark Farming Booneville Historical Preservation Society Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Marked Tree Lock and Siphons National Historic Landmark Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Historic County Courthouses 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Arkansas Preservation Awards Benton Arkansas free history tours historic Arkansas properties Trail of Tears in Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Tolbert Gill Tudor Revival Architecture cemetery preservsation Louisiana Main Street program free historic preservation workshop Dr. Ruth Hawkins Cumberland Presbyterian Church Main Street Searcy Forrest City Cemetery Turner Restoration Camden to Washington Road Real Estate Transfer Tax Paris Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Freedom Park Kiblah School African American education Free Lesson Plan Monroe County Arkansas Main Street Dumas Mississippi County Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Wingmead Perry County Arkansas downtown economic development most endangered historic places Huntsville Commercial Historic District Abolition of Slavery Burdette Plantation downtown revitalization Skillern House Sandwiching in History Bogg Springs Hotel Arkansas Historic Preservation Delta Cultural Center Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Craftsman style architecture Main Street Ozark Miller County Arkansas Register of Historic Places Poinsett County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Three States Lumber Company Main Street Siloam Springs