Walks Through History to Visit Downtown Hope

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, April 28, 2017

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Walks Through History” tour will visit the Hope Commercial Historic District on May 13.

The tour will begin at 11 a.m. on Saturday, May 13, at Hope City Hall at 206 West Avenue A. The district takes in a two-block area of downtown Hope. The area consists for the most part of commercial brick buildings one or two stories in height, with relatively plain styling. Most of these were built between 1880 and 1945, the major period of Hope's development. The most architecturally significant buildings in the district are the Brundidge Building, an 1893 Romanesque Revival structure, and the Renaissance Revival former post office building (built in 1911 and now owned by the Hope School District). The tour is co-sponsored by the Hope-Hempstead County Chamber of Commerce.

In the “Walks Through History” program, which is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, AHPP historians each month provide free guided walking tours of historic structures and districts across Arkansas. Most tours begin at 11 a.m. on Saturdays. The American Institute of Architects offers two HSW continuing education learning unit credits for members who attend a “Walks Through History” tour.

Other 2017 “Walks Through History” tours will be June 10, Arkansas Tech University, co-sponsored by the Pope County Historical Society and Arkansas Tech University; July 15, Downtown Searcy, co-sponsored by the White County Historical Society; August 12, Siloam Springs Downtown Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street Siloam Springs; September 9, Mountain Home Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by the Baxter County Historical and Genealogical Society; October 14, Camp Chaffee Historic District, co-sponsored by the Chaffee Crossing Historic District; November 11, Dumas Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street Dumas, and December 9, El Dorado Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street El Dorado.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected] or visit The Walks Through History program is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, which seeks to promote the understanding, appreciation, and use of the humanities in Arkansas. The humanities include the study of history, literature, ethics, philosophy, language, and the various legal, cultural, religious, and folk traditions – past and present - that define the human condition.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


cemetery preservsation Pope County Courthouse Little Rock Central High School Main Street Batesville Arkansas History Rustic Architecture Historic County Courthouses Phillips County Arkansas Wingmead Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Forrest City Arkansas Civil Works Administration Three States Lumber Company Free Courthouse Poster Destination Downtown Conference Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Arkansas African American Civil War History Freedom Park Rosston Arkansas Burdette Plantation Prairie County Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Edgar Monsanto Queeny Arkansas Historic Preservation Program historic Arkansas properties Folk Victorian Architecture Main Street Searcy Roe Arkansas Conway County Library Perry County Arkansas downtown revitalization Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Pike County Arkansas 13th Amendment Huntsville Arkansas Helena Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Camden to Washington Road U.S. Forest Service Let Freedom Ring St. Francis County Historical Society Camden Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Walks Through History Kiblah School News Release Louisiana Main Street program Rosenwald Schools Civilian Conservation Corps Paris Arkansas Russellville Arkansas free teacher resources Arkansas History Lesson Plans Arkansas Register of Historic Places American Legion Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Nevada County Arkansas African American education Montgomery County Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Elias Camp Morris Tudor Revival Architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Monsanto Chemical Corporation Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Centennial Baptist Church Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Marked Tree Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Art Deco Architecture National Register of Historic Polk County Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum North Little Rock Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Mid-Century Modern Architecture Ouachita County Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Downtown Revitalization Grants Erbie Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Main Street Ozark Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Booneville Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Arkansas Preservation Awards slipcover removal grants Arkansas Railroad History Main Street Dumas Turner Restoration Ozark Farming Sandwiching in History Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District 19th Century Road Construction Houston Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Barney Elias House Cumberland Presbyterian Church Flood Control Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Arkansas religious history Newton County Arkansas free history tours Arkansas Humanities Council historic resort communities Freedmen's Bureau Tolbert Gill Sunken Lands Mississippi County Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas downtown economic development Doddridge Arkansas Buffalo National River Main Street Siloam Springs Monroe County Arkansas Duck Hunting Cemetery Preservation Library Forrest City Cemetery Dionicio Rodriguez Henry Koen Office Building Benton Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Naturalistic Architecture Burdette Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Gothic Revival architecture Clarendon Arkansas Abolition of Slavery "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South County courthouse Restoration Grants Free Lesson Plan steel window restoration workshop Fayetteville Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Mississippi Main Street Association historic telephone booth Dr. Ruth Hawkins National Register of Historic Places Evelyn Gill Walker House White County Courthouse Pope County Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Delta Cultural Center Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Miller County Poinsett County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Camden Public Library Main Street Texarkana historic architecture most endangered historic places Arkansas Business History Skillern House Pike County Courthouse Montgomery County Courthouse cemetery preservation International-Style Architecture U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Historic Preservation Alliance Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation National Historic Landmark Saline County Arkansas