Walks Through History to Visit Downtown Osceola

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, August 30, 2018

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Walks Through History” tour will visit downtown Osceola beginning at 11 a.m. on Saturday, September 15.

Osceola’s commercial downtown area, which includes the Hale Avenue Historic District and six buildings listed on the National Register of Historic Places, contains examples of several architectural styles that reflect the great prosperity this Delta town experienced in the early twentieth century. The tour will begin at Mississippi County Courthouse. It is co-sponsored by the Mississippi County Historical Society and Mississippi County Museum and the Arkansas Humanities Council.

In the “Walks Through History” program, which is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, AHPP historians provide free guided walking tours of historic structures and districts across Arkansas. Most tours begin at 11 a.m. on Saturdays.

The American Institute of Architects offers two HSW continuing education learning unit credits for members who attend a “Walks Through History” tour.

Other 2018 “Walks Through History” tours will be held October 13, Heber Springs Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by the Heber Springs Library and Downtown Heber Springs Network, and November 10, Magnolia Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by the Magnolia-Columbia County Chamber of Commerce.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit The “Walks Through History” program is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, which seeks to promote the understanding, appreciation, and use of the humanities in Arkansas. The humanities include the study of history, literature, ethics, philosophy, language, and the various legal, cultural, religious, and folk traditions – past and present - that define the human condition.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Paris Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Bogg Springs Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Civil Works Administration Rosenwald Schools Arkansas Business History U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Montgomery County Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Main Street Batesville Main Street Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Cumberland Presbyterian Church County courthouse Restoration Grants Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 historic architecture Cemetery Preservation Library free teacher resources Arkansas African American Civil War History Sunken Lands Abolition of Slavery Houston Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Booneville Historical Preservation Society Henry Koen Office Building Dionicio Rodriguez Arkansas religious history cemetery preservsation Flood Control Trail of Tears in Arkansas historic resort communities steel window restoration workshop St. Francis County Historical Society Art Deco Architecture free historic preservation workshop Arkansas Preservation Awards free history tours Arkansas Railroad History Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Madison County Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Monroe County Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Perry County Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Barney Elias House Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South National Register of Historic Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Morrilton Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse New Century Club of Camden Craftsman style architecture Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Edgar Monsanto Queeny Miller County Fayetteville Arkansas Main Street Dumas Skillern House Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Destination Downtown Conference Camden to Washington Road Pulaski County Courthouse Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Real Estate Transfer Tax 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Arkansas History Lesson Plans Forrest City Arkansas Freedom Park Three States Lumber Company 13th Amendment Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House North Little Rock Arkansas Elias Camp Morris cemetery preservation Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Ouachita County Arkansas historic telephone booth Naturalistic Architecture Forrest City Cemetery Historic County Courthouses Montgomery County Courthouse Mississippi County Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Camden Public Library Arkansas Design Network Polk County Arkansas White County Courthouse Conway County Library Nevada County Arkansas Rustic Architecture National Historic Landmark Tudor Revival Architecture Delta Cultural Center Main Street Siloam Springs Arkansas Register of Historic Places News Release Booneville Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Main Street Searcy Ozark Farming Duck Hunting Pope County Arkansas Benton Arkansas Arkansas History Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Roe Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Tolbert Gill Erbie Arkansas Burdette Plantation African American education Civilian Conservation Corps slipcover removal grants Sandwiching in History downtown revitalization Main Street Ozark Free Courthouse Poster Buffalo National River Huntsville Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Dr. Ruth Hawkins Pike County Courthouse Huntsville Commercial Historic District Downtown Revitalization Grants Saline County Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Prairie County Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Wingmead Arkansas Humanities Council most endangered historic places International-Style Architecture Let Freedom Ring Russellville Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Free Lesson Plan Renaissance Revival Architecture Burdette Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Monsanto Chemical Corporation American Legion Helena Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas Historic Preservation Historic Preservation Alliance Main Street Texarkana Evelyn Gill Walker House Gothic Revival architecture historic Arkansas properties Camden Arkansas Kiblah School Louisiana Main Street program Bogg Springs Hotel Clarendon Arkansas downtown economic development Walks Through History Pike County Arkansas Turner Restoration Little Rock Central High School