Walks Through History to Visit Downtown Searcy

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, June 30, 2017

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Walks Through History” tour will visit downtown Searcy on July 15.

The tour will begin at 11 a.m. on Saturday, July 15, at the White County Courthouse at 300 North Spruce Street. The White County Courthouse was built in 1871 is said to be the oldest functioning courthouse in Arkansas. A statue located on the southeast corner of the court square honors Confederate soldiers and a new granite monument was recently constructed on the courthouse lawn honoring White County soldiers who died in World War I, World War II, and the Korean War. A Vietnam War memorial also sits on the courthouse grounds. A fire in the courthouse some years ago necessitated extensive repair, and the courtroom was restored to its original 19th century look with hardwood flooring and oak benches. The tour is co-sponsored by Main Street Searcy and the White County Historical Association.

In the “Walks Through History” program, which is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, AHPP historians each month provide free guided walking tours of historic structures and districts across Arkansas. Most tours begin at 11 a.m. on Saturdays. The American Institute of Architects offers two HSW continuing education learning unit credits for members who attend a “Walks Through History” tour.

Other 2017 “Walks Through History” tours will be August 12, Siloam Springs Downtown Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street Siloam Springs; September 9, Mountain Home Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by the Baxter County Historical and Genealogical Society; October 14, Camp Chaffee Historic District, co-sponsored by the Chaffee Crossing Historic District; November 11, Dumas Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street Dumas, and December 9, El Dorado Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street El Dorado.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected] or visit The Walks Through History program is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, which seeks to promote the understanding, appreciation, and use of the humanities in Arkansas. The humanities include the study of history, literature, ethics, philosophy, language, and the various legal, cultural, religious, and folk traditions – past and present - that define the human condition.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


County courthouse Restoration Grants Huntsville Arkansas Free Lesson Plan International-Style Architecture cemetery preservsation Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South slipcover removal grants 13th Amendment Destination Downtown Conference Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Rosston Arkansas free teacher resources Fayetteville Arkansas Civil Works Administration Kiblah School Renaissance Revival Architecture Free Courthouse Poster Phillips County Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Leake-Ingham Building National Register of Historic Places Perry County Arkansas Arkansas Business History Henry Koen Office Building Arkansas Railroad History Duck Hunting Monroe County Courthouse Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Gothic Revival architecture Montgomery County Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture downtown revitalization Marked Tree Arkansas National Register of Historic Huntsville Commercial Historic District Forrest City Arkansas Walks Through History Louisiana Main Street program Dr. Ruth Hawkins Tolbert Gill Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission steel window restoration workshop "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Burdette Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Naturalistic Architecture North Little Rock Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Madison County Arkansas Flood Control Barney Elias House Centennial Baptist Church Arkansas religious history Arkansas Humanities Council Historic County Courthouses historic architecture Mid-Century Modern Architecture Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District National Historic Landmark Delta Cultural Center Cemetery Preservation Library Arkansas Design Network Three States Lumber Company historic telephone booth historic Arkansas properties Erbie Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Main Street Dumas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Little Rock Central High School Sandwiching in History Ozark Farming Rosenwald Schools free history tours Benton Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Dionicio Rodriguez downtown economic development Pope County Courthouse Art Deco Architecture Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Turner Restoration Saline County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Real Estate Transfer Tax Booneville Historical Preservation Society Forrest City Cemetery Bogg Springs Arkansas Miller County Polk County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Paris Arkansas Main Street Searcy U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Monsanto Chemical Corporation Doddridge Arkansas historic resort communities Newton County Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Cumberland Presbyterian Church Buffalo National River Clarendon Arkansas Roe Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Helena Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Booneville Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Pike County Courthouse Montgomery County Courthouse Mississippi Main Street Association Camden Public Library Freedom Park Ouachita County Arkansas Houston Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Craftsman style architecture free historic preservation workshop Camden Arkansas Skillern House Arkansas Preservation Awards Rustic Architecture Evelyn Gill Walker House Freedmen's Bureau Sunken Lands Wingmead Civilian Conservation Corps American Legion Elias Camp Morris News Release Bogg Springs Hotel Main Street Ozark African American education Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Mississippi County Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum cemetery preservation Arkansas History Morrilton Arkansas Conway County Library Arkansas Register of Historic Places Abolition of Slavery St. Francis County Historical Society Main Street Batesville Burdette Plantation Historic Preservation Alliance Poinsett County Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Downtown Revitalization Grants New Century Club of Camden Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Trail of Tears in Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Main Street Siloam Springs White County Courthouse most endangered historic places Folk Victorian Architecture Pike County Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas