Walks Through History to Visit Helena's Columbia Street

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, March 30, 2018

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Walks Through History” tour will visit historic sites on Columbia Street in Helena-West Helena at 11 a.m. on Saturday, April 14.

The Columbia Street area includes some of Helena’s most interesting buildings, ranging from the Charles Eames-designed St. Mary’s Catholic Church to the antebellum Moore-Hornor House to Centennial Baptist Church, the National Historic Landmark associated with African American minister Dr. Elias Camp Morris. The tour will begin at the old Helena High School at the corner of Biscoe and Arkansas streets. It is co-sponsored by Main Street Helena and the Arkansas Humanities Council.

In the “Walks Through History” program, which is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, AHPP historians provide free guided walking tours of historic structures and districts across Arkansas. Most tours begin at 11 a.m. on Saturdays.

The American Institute of Architects offers two HSW continuing education learning unit credits for members who attend a “Walks Through History” tour.

Other 2018 “Walks Through History” tours will be held May 12, Downtown Beebe, co-sponsored by the White County Historical Society; September 15, Downtown Osceola, co-sponsored by the Mississippi County Historical Society and Mississippi County Museum; October 13, Heber Springs Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by the Heber Springs Library and Downtown Heber Springs Network, and November 10, Magnolia Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by the Magnolia-Columbia County Chamber of Commerce.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected] or visit The “Walks Through History” program is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, which seeks to promote the understanding, appreciation, and use of the humanities in Arkansas. The humanities include the study of history, literature, ethics, philosophy, language, and the various legal, cultural, religious, and folk traditions – past and present - that define the human condition.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Arkansas Design Network Prairie County Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Houston Arkansas Burdette Arkansas historic resort communities Newton County Arkansas free teacher resources Dionicio Rodriguez U.S. Forest Service Clarendon Arkansas Erbie Arkansas historic telephone booth Destination Downtown Conference free history tours Freedmen's Bureau Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola free historic preservation workshop Folk Victorian Architecture Pulaski County Courthouse Buffalo National River Arkansas Business History 19th Century Road Construction Monsanto Chemical Corporation St. Francis County Historical Society historic architecture Ozark Farming Three States Lumber Company 13th Amendment Arkansas Register of Historic Places Walks Through History Kiblah School Main Street Dumas Real Estate Transfer Tax Main Street Texarkana Delta Cultural Center Russellville Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Phillips County Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps Monroe County Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Pike County Courthouse National Register of Historic Places U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Conway County Library Benton Arkansas Skillern House Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Art Deco Architecture Arkansas African American Civil War History Free Lesson Plan Elias Camp Morris Pope County Arkansas White County Courthouse Barney Elias House Cumberland Presbyterian Church News Release Renaissance Revival Architecture downtown economic development Mississippi County Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Abolition of Slavery Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Gothic Revival architecture Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Nevada County Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Helena Arkansas Sunken Lands Craftsman style architecture Historic Preservation Alliance Main Street Siloam Springs Tudor Revival Architecture Mosaic Templars Cultural Center 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Leake-Ingham Building Duck Hunting Bogg Springs Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Freedom Park Rosston Arkansas Main Street Ozark Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Little Rock Central High School Centennial Baptist Church Arkansas Preservation Awards Arkansas religious history Sandwiching in History downtown revitalization Forrest City Cemetery Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas History Mississippi Main Street Association steel window restoration workshop Camden Arkansas National Register of Historic Ouachita County Arkansas Pike County Arkansas National Historic Landmark Downtown Revitalization Grants Turner Restoration Bogg Springs Hotel International-Style Architecture Camden to Washington Road historic Arkansas properties Arkansas History Lesson Plans Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Tolbert Gill North Little Rock Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Saline County Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Free Courthouse Poster cemetery preservsation Polk County Arkansas Main Street Batesville Paris Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Madison County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation cemetery preservation Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South County courthouse Restoration Grants Wingmead Cemetery Preservation Library African American education Main Street Searcy Forrest City Arkansas Roe Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Flood Control most endangered historic places Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Rosenwald Schools Edgar Monsanto Queeny Miller County Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Monroe County Courthouse Burdette Plantation Huntsville Commercial Historic District Historic County Courthouses Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Camden Public Library Evelyn Gill Walker House Naturalistic Architecture Morrilton Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Rustic Architecture Arkansas Railroad History Arkansas Humanities Council Poinsett County Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons American Legion Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Booneville Historical Preservation Society Fayetteville Arkansas slipcover removal grants Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Civil Works Administration