Walks Through History to Visit Keo Historic District

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, March 31, 2017

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Walks Through History” tour will visit the Keo Commercial Historic District on April 15.

The tour will begin at 11 a.m. on Saturday, April 15, at the Cobb Gin Complex at Main and Fleming streets in Keo. The area of Keo was known by three historic names – Cobbs, Lafayette Township, and Dunham Station – until it eventually morphed into one when the railroad began to exert its influence. The commerce of Keo was driven by cotton, and two cotton gin complexes anchored the boundaries of Main Street. The Morris Cotton Gin on the north was built circa 1940 and consists of the gin, two seed houses, and a scale house. The Cobb Cotton Gin complex to the south contains twenty-two structures dating from the turn of the century to the 1950s. This complex includes a tenant house, commissary, water tank, and fire hose house, among other industrial structures.

In the “Walks Through History” program, which is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, AHPP historians each month provide free guided walking tours of historic structures and districts across Arkansas. Most tours begin at 11 a.m. on Saturdays. The American Institute of Architects offers two HSW continuing education learning unit credits for members who attend a “Walks Through History” tour.

Other 2017 “Walks Through History” tours will be May 13, Downtown Hope Commercial District, co-sponsored by the Hope-Hempstead County Chamber of Commerce; June 9, Arkansas Tech University, co-sponsored by the Pope County Historical Society and Arkansas Tech University; July 15, Downtown Searcy, co-sponsored by the White County Historical Society; August 12, Siloam Springs Downtown Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street Siloam Springs; September 9, Mountain Home Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by the Baxter County Historical and Genealogical Society; October 14, Camp Chaffee Historic District, co-sponsored by the Chaffee Crossing Historic District; November 11, Dumas Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street Dumas, and December 9, El Dorado Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street El Dorado.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected] or visit The Walks Through History program is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, which seeks to promote the understanding, appreciation, and use of the humanities in Arkansas. The humanities include the study of history, literature, ethics, philosophy, language, and the various legal, cultural, religious, and folk traditions – past and present - that define the human condition.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Forrest City Arkansas Barney Elias House Historic County Courthouses Kiblah School Arkansas Design Network Prairie County Arkansas Sandwiching in History Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Nevada County Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot cemetery preservation free historic preservation workshop Poinsett County Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Pike County Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants White County Courthouse Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Mississippi County Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut steel window restoration workshop Gothic Revival architecture Craftsman style architecture Pulaski County Courthouse Tolbert Gill Arkansas Historic Preservation National Register of Historic Places Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Booneville Historical Preservation Society Cumberland Presbyterian Church Duck Hunting Tudor Revival Architecture Flood Control Benton Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Madison County Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 most endangered historic places Three States Lumber Company Ouachita County Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Delta Cultural Center Booneville Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Fayetteville Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel African American education Ozark Farming Monroe County Courthouse Free Lesson Plan National Register of Historic News Release Roe Arkansas International-Style Architecture Paris Arkansas National Historic Landmark Camden to Washington Road Pope County Courthouse Main Street Searcy historic telephone booth St. Francis County Historical Society Polk County Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Arkansas religious history Rustic Architecture Art Deco Architecture Rosenwald Schools Helena Arkansas Elias Camp Morris downtown revitalization Wingmead Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Renaissance Revival Architecture downtown economic development Morrilton Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Erbie Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Montgomery County Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Walks Through History Doddridge Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Main Street Dumas County courthouse Restoration Grants 19th Century Road Construction Historic Preservation Alliance Main Street Batesville slipcover removal grants Evelyn Gill Walker House free history tours Naturalistic Architecture Arkansas History Burdette Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Centennial Baptist Church historic architecture Destination Downtown Conference Civilian Conservation Corps 13th Amendment Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Trail of Tears in Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Abolition of Slavery Monsanto Chemical Corporation free teacher resources "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Little Rock Central High School Sunken Lands Forrest City Cemetery Montgomery County Courthouse Huntsville Commercial Historic District Leake-Ingham Building Skillern House Conway County Library Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Main Street Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Main Street Texarkana Freedmen's Bureau Turner Restoration Central High School Neighborhood Historic District historic resort communities U.S. Forest Service Houston Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Main Street Ozark Camden Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Bogg Springs Arkansas historic Arkansas properties New Century Club of Camden Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Real Estate Transfer Tax Let Freedom Ring Newton County Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Freedom Park Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Marked Tree Lock and Siphons American Legion Camden Public Library Pope County Arkansas Arkansas Business History cemetery preservsation Main Street Siloam Springs Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Miller County Marked Tree Arkansas Buffalo National River Arkansas Railroad History Phillips County Arkansas Burdette Plantation Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Dr. Ruth Hawkins Pike County Courthouse Saline County Arkansas Civil Works Administration